We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A lovely relaxing holiday!"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Be Smart Terrace Algarve
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Porches
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed here from the 9th-16th Oct 2013 in a self catering studio apartment. It was a very pleasant surprise when we arrived. Very clean and spacious and the sofa beds were already made up for us. Didn't expect that at all as we were led to believe you have to make them up yourselves.This was a very welcoming sight after arriving at nearly 11 o clock at night and they were also very comfortable as well.The following morning found there wasn't a kettle and the microwave didn't work, but fear not hubby went to the reception which was next door to us, to let them know and within 5 minutes they had brought us another microwave and a kettle. We have stayed all over the world in different hotels etc and have never ever had service like this before. Well done to the staff at the Terrace Club!! We had a studio apartment next the reception which is on the west side, very quiet even though next to the reception and a glorious view in the evening from the balcony of the wonderful sunsets. All the studio apartments are on the ground which is ideal if you have trouble climbing or have to struggle with a pram as there aren't any lifts to the apartments above.The area is very quiet but very beautiful, about a 10 minute walk to the most beautiful little beach I've ever seen. Very steep steps and paths to walk down so no good if bad at walking. Two lovely stray labradors that live in the grounds of the hotel befriended us and took us to these lovely beaches.
There is not much nightlife in the area so best to go Albufeira and other local places. They are about 35 minutes by car, bus or taxi, but I recommend The Old Town of Albufeira. Plenty of places to eat around the hotel but we didn't try them as we were self catering. The local supermarket is about a 15 minute walk away or 2 minutes by car or taxi. So if you are looking for a quiet relaxing holiday with beautiful scenery, then this is the place to be. We enjoyed it that much we've booked again at the end of April 2014 with friends. Bon Voyage everyone!!!

Room Tip: If you are not good with stairs or you have a pram to struggle with book a ground floor apartment as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Josephine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (930)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

525 - 531 of 930 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

I stayed here with my mum at the beginning of october and although the accommodation was great, the location is literally in the middle of nowhere. we stayed for five nights and it rained every day we were there which was obviously not the terraces club's fault, however because of this we were beyond bored. the closest "town" (Armacao De Pera) is a good half an hour walk away (down a main road - easy to find, but not fun to do every day!)and whilst there are ample places (reasonably priced, friendly and good food) to eat there, there is literally nothing else to do except from go to the beach and the few shops dotted along the front. as i said, it was raining the whole time and we found the lack of entertainment options very limiting and quickly got bored of the long walk to and from the town.

the area around the hotel is mainly other hotels/apartments with a few restaurants, two bars and the beach - all of which are welcoming, good prices, good food and the beach is stunning, but once again, not much use in the rain and lacking in entertainment for five days. we ended up taking a day trip to gibraltar one day (highly recommended) mostly just for something to do.

the apartment itself however i cannot fault - we were on the ground floor and had three terraces, with patio doors in the bedroom, living room and kitchen. the bedroom had twin beds, and there was a sofa bed which could easily sleep two on so would fit a few people in the apartment. the kitchen was spacious, clean and with all the working amenities you could need, as was the bathroom. the rooms were all impeccably cleaned, with clean sheets/towels regularly and is definitely one of the most spacious places i have ever stayed.

right outside our block there was children's play area (again, not much use in the rain) and the pool looked big, clean and with plenty of sun beds though we never actually got a chance to use it. there is also a little bakery attached the reception which sells fresh rolls/cakes/croissants etc and has a basic lunch menu which is all very nice, though the staff weren't the most friendly and didn't speak the best english. there is also a restaurant in the hotel (in the block by the pool) though we never visited.

although the issues with our holiday were in no way because of the terrace club, i wouldn't return simply because of the terrible location - it is far too quiet, with not enough to do, no internet access and too much of a walk away from the nearest "attractions."

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank katie-astles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Well to start of we was worried about the negative reviews and to be honest there is absolutely nothing to worry about, if you like a quit holiday or a bit of a lively holiday this is a good place to go, this hotel is in a little village type place with 6 or 7 places to eat at within 5 mins walking distance in different directions from the hotel, there is 3 or 4 different bars you can choose from and the lords bar by the beach is probably the best as it as karaoke nights and the locals use it and most of them speak English (very welcoming) and a couple of beautiful beaches. the hotel was clean very friendly staff and there are two stray dogs around the hotel what don't bother you one bit and they like the scraps from your breakfast :) and right secondly there is a town which is much more lively just a 10 minute walk from the hotel or a 3 minute taxi journey which costs under 5 euros which the hotel rings for you and there is a taxi rank in the town. the town is called Amercao De Pera. there is a big supermarket 3 or 4 mins walk from the hotel too. in the town there are lots to do, there are at least 20 to 30 places to eat good choices and 20 to 30 different places to drink. there are also shops and a beach that is about 3 mile long with different activities at different parts of the beach (water sports etc) all in all we had a very good time here and would definitely go back and we stayed for 10 days.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Avy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The accommodation was lovely-2 bed, 2 bath apartment for just myself and my husband!! iMassive balcony too!! Nice pool area and all the staff were lovely-very friendly - apart from the girl in the bar-really really grumpy and rude but this was not the general attitude of the staff. The only thing wrong was that it rained all week-apart from 2 half days of sun!! Unfortunately when it rains there is nothing to do-boring!!!! No complaints about the region or accommodation apart from that though-we would stay there again xxx

Room Tip: beds were really really hard-that was the only problem we had apart from the weather which obviously...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kescoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had a lovely time here. Beaches were very nice. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpfull. Restaurants were good,
I think this is a quiet time of year to be there as there wasn't much going on, I went for a relaxing break so wasn't really bothered by this and would return again but for relaxation only. for a holiday with plenty to do this is not it. The only problem I had with my time there was quite a big one, outside the hotel there were 2 dogs that followed us everywhere. At first it was quiet threatening as they were stray and had no owner. I'm not a dog lover and was bothered by this. Apparently it's normal over there to have stray dogs wondering about but walking around at night and finding a stray wondering towards you is not nice.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lmh0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We came across the Terrace Club on one of the popular holiday web sites and after reading reviews on Trip advisor, decided to give it a go and I am so glad we did. We had read that the appartments were big, and our 2 bedroomed appartment was utterly massive with three very large balconies, one for the kitchen and living room, one for the second bedroom and living room and a private one for the master bedroom, all of which offered fantastic views in all directions including glorious views out to sea. The place was spotlessly clean and cleaning was carried out twice in our 10 day stay. The bedrooms were really big and both had twin beds; they were firm and that suited us down to the ground as we found them to be really comfortable. The living area was sparse, with just a 24" LG TV, a dining table and a sofa bed, but for us it was more than adequate. The kitchen was a decent size, but lacked space to work, however, most folk would be going either all inclusive or eating out so I doubt it would be much of an issue. The hotel is located in the village of Senhora de Rocha which is really nice and quiet and there are numerous resteraunts dotted around for the holidaymaker to try, but the ones I tried were too pricey for my liking so we either cooked ourselves, or eat at Armaco de Pera which is a short walk away. The local beaches are utterly stunning and really easy to ge to, ignore the review that say otherwise. All in all, if you want a no-frills hotel that is in a quiet location you need look no further as the Terrace Club is brilliant value for money. There are however, no lifts and the Pool is un-heated but I cannot mark the place down for those minor issues.

Room Tip: Try and get an appartment on the end in block 8 if you can; the views are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank JeffersA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a fantastic week at terrace club . The apartment we had overlooked the sea was huge and kept very clean. The beaches are beautiful . As other reviews stated its in a quiet area, but if your prepared to walk it will be worth it. Buses are cheap and taxi to main town is about 5 euros. Would definitely go back .

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porches
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
0.1 mi away
Be Live Family Palmeiras Village
3.8 mi away
Hotel Baia Cristal
Hotel Baia Cristal
#8 of 18 in Carvoeiro
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Alfagar II Aparthotel
Alfagar II Aparthotel
#10 of 153 in Albufeira
1,019 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vila Senhora da Rocha
Vila Senhora da Rocha
#3 of 9 in Armacao de Pera
99 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Smart Terrace Algarve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Smart Terrace Algarve

Address: Quinta das Palmeiras Bloco E, Porches 8400-450, Portugal (Formerly Terrace Club)
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Porches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Porches
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Porches
Price Range: £30 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Be Smart Terrace Algarve 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrace Club is located along of one the most beautiful stretches of the Portuguese coastline, nearby the fantastic scenery of Senhora da Rocha beach, one of the most beautiful beachs in the Algarve, where nature offers unique scenarios with amazing cliffs and fabulous sea cave. The calm, warm and clear waters provides you with a good opportunity for the practice of water sky, windsurf, sailing, deep sea diving or a pleasant boat trip. We have at your disposal 196 apartments with kitchen, balcony, individual heating services, satellite television, telephone and security safe. Spacious, elegantly decorated and well equiped in order that your holiday activities are made easier. All information requested are given swiftly and pleasantly. Details make the difference... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Be Smart Terrace Algarve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrace Club Hotel Porches
Terrace Hotel Porches
Be Smart Terrace Algarve Portugal - Porches

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing