We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazingly friendly place but dated interiors and issues with cleaning” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Turiquintas Holiday Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Turiquintas Holiday Village
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Amazingly friendly place but dated interiors and issues with cleaning”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

I would have liked to give Turiquintas a five star rating. It is a lovely collection of whitewashed apartments/houses - almost picture perfect seaside resort typical of Portugal and Spain. The place is within easy walking distance of two beautiful and quiet beaches and also the larger (and more crowded) beach at Armecao de Pera. There are two good pools - one for adults and one for children. Most importantly the owners and staff are just brilliant and very friendly. It almost feels like staying with family - they are great with children and made us feel most welcome during our stay. The bar and cafeteria has a good selection of food and drinks. The apartments have a kitchen (see below) and a supermarket is a five minutes walk. Armecao de Pera (a fishing village) is a 20 minutes walk away and has various cafes and restaurants and also a nice promenade.

So why the three star rating? The apartments look beautiful on the outside but the interior is quite dated - even shabby but not in a chic kind of way. The bedroom and living room is ok but the bathroom and kitchen needed a serious overhaul. It wasn't just in our apartment - we got to see the interior of another where some people we got to know were staying and it looked rather similar. This in itself would not be a big problem either if the cleaning was more up to the standard. The cleaners cleaned in 2D and as a result a lot of the cobwebs in the ceilings hadn't been cleaned for a while. The shutters (as someone else has noted) were dusty. Even the 2D cleaning wasn't done very well and that made the stay less pleasant. The beds are also not very comfortable and the mattresses very stiff. If the cleaning standard was better I would have been happy to look past the dated interior as it could be argued that it gave the place character.

Overall, a friendly and easy going of place in a good location (it is nice and quiet if that is what you are looking for) and one can explore easily with a car. However, there are issues with the apartments and the level of cleanliness which lets the place down.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob_The_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    16
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
21
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

It was extremely quiet (just what I wanted) and very peaceful. The staff were very helpful and the apartment was much bigger than I had expected. We visited in February and the apartment was quite cold. Heaters and extra blankets were provided but it was still uncomfortably cold. There was no shop, bar or restaurant open on site, but the supermarket was quite close and there were restaurants fairly close, too. You could walk to the beach if you wanted to - we nearly got there once, and we're classed as 'reduced mobility'!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJM222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We spent ages looking for a quiet resort in the Algarve, we wanted to stay away from Albufeira/Vilamoura/Carvoeiro. If you have a car this is a place to be! This was exactly what we were looking for and we would definately recommend it to those seeking a quiet atmosphere and excellent value for money!! 1 bedroom apartments are huge, could fit 4 people in easly, kitchen was well equipped, extra pillows and blankes and a radiator if you need it.. we had a beautiful view over the ocean as our apartment was on the 1st floor. Everything was clean when we arrived, hosts were very hospitable, pools are an advantage although it was too cold to swim yet! Beaches are within walking distance (tiny, but lovely) and there is 5 or more to choose from. It is a 3* place so don't be demanding! Make sure you know where it is located or you will be surprised. We stayed in low season so we have no idea how food situation looks like, it was also VERY quiet but we liked it this way!

Room Tip: There is a supermarket 5 minutes by foot which is very handy, I would recommend renting a car (there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MisssKariela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

In a beautifull scenery is Turiquintas located. A appartment / villa hotel in a quit neighbourhood in Armacao de Pera in the Algarve.

Room Tip: All appartments and villa's are spacious with a fully equipped kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hadassah-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

we have just had our ninth holiday at Turiquintas, there will definitely be a tenth, we always holiday in September as it is quieter, although this is slowly changing as more and more people are giving Amercao de Pera a try, we first went to Turiqunitas on a late deal and have since been going back booking direct with the complex, we as a family cannot fault it, what ever you want its there, it caters for all ages, its a short walk down to the town where there is more restaurants and places to have a drink, the main street is now all paved and leads direct to the beach, there are water parks and excursions galore so plenty to do, and finally the staff at Turiquintas make everyone welcome, a big thumbs up from us

Room Tip: just ask, they have every sort of accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lizandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

If you are not from Portugal you might get the feeling that they prefer Portuguese visitors and do not understand or indeed do not want to even try to understand any other guests.
The 3 star rating is barely deserved.
Shutters were filthy.
Room had a musty smell.
No air conditioning which is badly needed especially at night for sleeping.
Pool not treated much if at all.
Toilets at the pool were very dirty, with slippery wet floor and no toilet paper in them on the two occasions I had to use them.
Being Irish and loving our tea, as there was no kettle in the room, we asked for one on Saturday and had to ask again before we got one on Sunday.
Receptionist laughing as she ordered a Taxi (which there was a 50cent charge for the call) for a short distance for us. I found this quite rude.
Mini market had no milk the only time we asked for it.
Eating in the restaurant was coming up towards frustrating.
Many times we were given wrong orders.
In fact we never got a complete order correctly delivered to us in any one sitting, there was always at least one mistake but to be honest we lost count as there was so many.
Tea came with no milk. We went to the bar and asked twice before we got it and then our tea was cold when we did finally get milk.
At breakfast one morning we asked for toast. No butter was given and we had to ask for it.
Soup...no bread with it....having specifically asked. The waiter was going to charge us for it until we pointed out that we never got it all.
The order for 1 of our party of 3 was missing completely at one sitting. When we went to pay I pointed this error out and the waiter said he was by himself. I said to him he should maybe ask for help. He retorted with some supposedly funny remark.
At one sitting, chips never arrived at all even though we asked for them clearly.
One evening there was a barbeque outside and as we were not eating I went in to the bar to order a drink, thinking it was the better thing to do as the waitresses were very busy with food tables.
I was very upset, hurt and downright insulted, when the waiter who was on "bar only "duty said I was jumping the queue.
He tried to make out that he was joking when he knew that he had gone too far.
Even with the errors listed above we never gave out or complained.
The waiter was constantly saying he is by himself and very busy if you pointed out that he missed something on your order. This has to stop at some point.
It is obvious that this place was understaffed for the number of guests there at the time we were.
We are some of the most easy going and mannerly guests that anyone will get and it is worrying that this place did not appreciate that fact and managed to upset us.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2005

excellant accomodation, and the staff are all very freindly and helpful,
you can make this holiday any type you require,
lively- tranquill, family-

I can not fault the algarve and this place was all and more than we expected

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porches
0.1 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
0.4 mi away
Terrace Club
Terrace Club
#5 of 6 in Porches
3.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Be Live Family Palmeiras Village
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de...
#1 of 10 in Armacao de Pera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vila Senhora da Rocha
Vila Senhora da Rocha
#5 of 10 in Armacao de Pera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turiquintas Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turiquintas Holiday Village

Property: Turiquintas Holiday Village
Address: Alporchinhos, Porches 8400-450, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Porches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Porches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Turiquintas Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Turiquintas Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turiquintas Holiday Village Algarve, Portugal - Porches

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing