We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friends for ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Turiquintas Holiday Village
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Our first time at Turiquintas and we can honestly say we will be regular visitors from now on. Set in a residencial area with beautiful gardens, quite and peacefull and great for a relaxing holiday. But only a few minutes from the lovely town of Armacao de Pera. Traditional Portugese low rise buildings consisting of T1, T2 & V2 & V3 apartments and villas all whitewashed and comfortable. We had a T1 with nice views over Vila Vita Parc and gardens. But the best bit of all is the Staff, Jose, Jaquie and Annabela. Who not only welcomed and treated us well, but became our friends and nothing was to much trouble for them, nothing at all. From general enquiries to, food and drink and everythimg else you could think of to ask. To feel comfotable and relaxed from day 1 and we were there for 18 days. Is worth its weight in gold. What a fabulouse find. Well done Turiquintas xx

Room Tip: They have it all just ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisHutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

I would have liked to give Turiquintas a five star rating. It is a lovely collection of whitewashed apartments/houses - almost picture perfect seaside resort typical of Portugal and Spain. The place is within easy walking distance of two beautiful and quiet beaches and also the larger (and more crowded) beach at Armecao de Pera. There are two good pools - one for adults and one for children. Most importantly the owners and staff are just brilliant and very friendly. It almost feels like staying with family - they are great with children and made us feel most welcome during our stay. The bar and cafeteria has a good selection of food and drinks. The apartments have a kitchen (see below) and a supermarket is a five minutes walk. Armecao de Pera (a fishing village) is a 20 minutes walk away and has various cafes and restaurants and also a nice promenade.

So why the three star rating? The apartments look beautiful on the outside but the interior is quite dated - even shabby but not in a chic kind of way. The bedroom and living room is ok but the bathroom and kitchen needed a serious overhaul. It wasn't just in our apartment - we got to see the interior of another where some people we got to know were staying and it looked rather similar. This in itself would not be a big problem either if the cleaning was more up to the standard. The cleaners cleaned in 2D and as a result a lot of the cobwebs in the ceilings hadn't been cleaned for a while. The shutters (as someone else has noted) were dusty. Even the 2D cleaning wasn't done very well and that made the stay less pleasant. The beds are also not very comfortable and the mattresses very stiff. If the cleaning standard was better I would have been happy to look past the dated interior as it could be argued that it gave the place character.

Overall, a friendly and easy going of place in a good location (it is nice and quiet if that is what you are looking for) and one can explore easily with a car. However, there are issues with the apartments and the level of cleanliness which lets the place down.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob_The_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

It was extremely quiet (just what I wanted) and very peaceful. The staff were very helpful and the apartment was much bigger than I had expected. We visited in February and the apartment was quite cold. Heaters and extra blankets were provided but it was still uncomfortably cold. There was no shop, bar or restaurant open on site, but the supermarket was quite close and there were restaurants fairly close, too. You could walk to the beach if you wanted to - we nearly got there once, and we're classed as 'reduced mobility'!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJM222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We spent ages looking for a quiet resort in the Algarve, we wanted to stay away from Albufeira/Vilamoura/Carvoeiro. If you have a car this is a place to be! This was exactly what we were looking for and we would definately recommend it to those seeking a quiet atmosphere and excellent value for money!! 1 bedroom apartments are huge, could fit 4 people in easly, kitchen was well equipped, extra pillows and blankes and a radiator if you need it.. we had a beautiful view over the ocean as our apartment was on the 1st floor. Everything was clean when we arrived, hosts were very hospitable, pools are an advantage although it was too cold to swim yet! Beaches are within walking distance (tiny, but lovely) and there is 5 or more to choose from. It is a 3* place so don't be demanding! Make sure you know where it is located or you will be surprised. We stayed in low season so we have no idea how food situation looks like, it was also VERY quiet but we liked it this way!

Room Tip: There is a supermarket 5 minutes by foot which is very handy, I would recommend renting a car (there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MisssKariela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

In a beautifull scenery is Turiquintas located. A appartment / villa hotel in a quit neighbourhood in Armacao de Pera in the Algarve.

Room Tip: All appartments and villa's are spacious with a fully equipped kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hadassah-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

we have just had our ninth holiday at Turiquintas, there will definitely be a tenth, we always holiday in September as it is quieter, although this is slowly changing as more and more people are giving Amercao de Pera a try, we first went to Turiqunitas on a late deal and have since been going back booking direct with the complex, we as a family cannot fault it, what ever you want its there, it caters for all ages, its a short walk down to the town where there is more restaurants and places to have a drink, the main street is now all paved and leads direct to the beach, there are water parks and excursions galore so plenty to do, and finally the staff at Turiquintas make everyone welcome, a big thumbs up from us

Room Tip: just ask, they have every sort of accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lizandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

If you are not from Portugal you might get the feeling that they prefer Portuguese visitors and do not understand or indeed do not want to even try to understand any other guests.
The 3 star rating is barely deserved.
Shutters were filthy.
Room had a musty smell.
No air conditioning which is badly needed especially at night for sleeping.
Pool not treated much if at all.
Toilets at the pool were very dirty, with slippery wet floor and no toilet paper in them on the two occasions I had to use them.
Being Irish and loving our tea, as there was no kettle in the room, we asked for one on Saturday and had to ask again before we got one on Sunday.
Receptionist laughing as she ordered a Taxi (which there was a 50cent charge for the call) for a short distance for us. I found this quite rude.
Mini market had no milk the only time we asked for it.
Eating in the restaurant was coming up towards frustrating.
Many times we were given wrong orders.
In fact we never got a complete order correctly delivered to us in any one sitting, there was always at least one mistake but to be honest we lost count as there was so many.
Tea came with no milk. We went to the bar and asked twice before we got it and then our tea was cold when we did finally get milk.
At breakfast one morning we asked for toast. No butter was given and we had to ask for it.
Soup...no bread with it....having specifically asked. The waiter was going to charge us for it until we pointed out that we never got it all.
The order for 1 of our party of 3 was missing completely at one sitting. When we went to pay I pointed this error out and the waiter said he was by himself. I said to him he should maybe ask for help. He retorted with some supposedly funny remark.
At one sitting, chips never arrived at all even though we asked for them clearly.
One evening there was a barbeque outside and as we were not eating I went in to the bar to order a drink, thinking it was the better thing to do as the waitresses were very busy with food tables.
I was very upset, hurt and downright insulted, when the waiter who was on "bar only "duty said I was jumping the queue.
He tried to make out that he was joking when he knew that he had gone too far.
Even with the errors listed above we never gave out or complained.
The waiter was constantly saying he is by himself and very busy if you pointed out that he missed something on your order. This has to stop at some point.
It is obvious that this place was understaffed for the number of guests there at the time we were.
We are some of the most easy going and mannerly guests that anyone will get and it is worrying that this place did not appreciate that fact and managed to upset us.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tina186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porches
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
0.9 mi away
Rosamar 1 Aparthotel
Rosamar 1 Aparthotel
#4 of 9 in Armacao de Pera
76 reviews
0.5 mi away
Be Smart Terrace Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Vila Senhora da Rocha
Vila Senhora da Rocha
#3 of 9 in Armacao de Pera
99 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pestana Viking
Pestana Viking
#4 of 6 in Porches
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turiquintas Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turiquintas Holiday Village

Address: Alporchinhos, Porches 8400-450, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Porches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Porches
Price Range: £26 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Turiquintas Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Atrapalo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Stayforlong S.L., Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Turiquintas Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turiquintas Holiday Village Algarve, Portugal - Porches

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing