We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unreal value and even better service”
Review of Villa Paraiso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Paraiso
Ranked #2 of 2 Porches B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 June 2014

stayed here for one night in late may. its a lovely spot right on the corner of the road just outside the sleepy village of porches. Roland greeted us on arrival and then brought us a couple of ice cold welcoming beers. Then Conceicao showed us around the villa and to some of the other rooms they have, such a nice mini tour!! The villa is stunning and has wonderful African furnishings and amazing pictures of African wildlife throughout (all of which were taken by Roland). Both hosts make this place what it is, a home away from home. They are so content with making conversation and have a lot of interesting stories to tell, very enjoyable company. We booked a basic room which was really nice and has one of the comfiest beds I have ever stayed in. Great nights sleep. It was so nice just relaxing by the pool quietly in the sun strumming the guitar borrowed from the house. Breakfast was great, plenty to choose from and lovely fresh coffee. Sorry we couldn't have stayed for longer. Thanks to Roland and Conceicao for their fabulous hospitality. Dave and Kate

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidc1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights while visiting the Algarve region. The location was perfect for making several day trips, we even drove to Sao St. Vincente! We stayed in the upstairs suite which had a beautiful porch with really nice views of the countryside! The room itself was large and clean. The grounds are really nice, as is the pool! Private parking inside the grounds of the house was provided which gives a nice sense of security! The Innkeepers are gracious and wonderful hosts and the breakfast is really, really good! The restaurant just a few steps away is really good also and you cannot beat the price, we spent 16 euros for 2 meals, wine and dessert! I am proud to write that we were told we were the first Americans to stay at the Villa Paraiso and I would encourage more Americans to try the place, you won't be disappointed, especially if you like to immerse yourself into the culture of the place you are visiting!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvtotravel1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roland S, Eigenaar at Villa Paraiso, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Muito Obrigado! it was a pleasure to have you with us! Best regards from Portugal, Roland and Conceicao

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Four of us stayed at Villa Paraiso for one night in late March, whilst riding our bicycles on the Eco Via from Faro to Lagos. We made a very good choice! The house is fantastic, and the host and hostess (Roland and Conceicao) were wonderful. It really is the best bed and breakfast that we have ever stayed in, and is incredible value. The rooms were supeb - we had a suite, but all rooms we saw were extremely well equipped and comfortable. We had use of a large lounge with log fire. The furniture, decorations, and wildlife photos, mostly from Africa (Roland is a professional wildlife photographer) were fascinating. We walked into the village of Porches (10 mins) for an excellent meal. Breakfast at the Paraiso, either in the dinng room or on the pool patio, was first class. We were very well looked after during our stay. All kinds of massage were also on offer by Roland, but the ladies did not have time to take advantage of these. This truly was a wonderful stop over, which we will certainly visit again. Thank you again Conceicao and Roland.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M2TJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed at the Villa Paraiso at the end of January. The hosts are just lovely, nothing was too much trouble for them. The beds are really comfortable, ( not typical of the ones I have previously slept in Portugal ). The rooms had tea and coffee making facilities and a dish of freshly picked oranges from the numerous trees in the garden. Everything was spotlessly clean.

Breakfast was superb, with as much tea, fresh coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice we could drink. Although the weather was bright and sunny during the day for most of our stay, the evenings were rather cool and so it was lovely to sit in front of a cosy log fire with the odd glass or two of Port.

You would need a car but that's a bonus in my view - away from the usual tourist resorts.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newdawn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Villa Paraiso is a lovely villa and a far cry from the ugly white tower blocks of nearby Armacao de Pera. The Algarve is not our regular sort of holiday destination but at Villa Parasio we feel as though we escaped to a sanctuary well away from the many resorts of the Algarve that are little more than a Brit infested Blackpool or Skegness in the sun. I was initially a little worried looking at the previous single tripadvisor reviews, I even took the time to contact a previous reviewer. Within a minute of arriving however in the classy African themed interior and wide and welcoming smiles of Roland and Conceicao I knew it was a great choice.

Our family took up three rooms and were all accomodated in the main house (including an upgrade to the suite for this to happen) with the focal point being nights spent in front of the warm fire, lounging on big leather sofas. Rooms are large, spotless and well decorated with big comfy beds. Breakfasts were substantial with a great choice of fresh fruits, breads, meats, cheeses and cooked eggs. With daytime temperatures being little above 15 degrees in January the room bathrooms were a little cool but Conceicao did offer an additional electric heater. The villa is surrounded by nice gardens, a pool and as many oranges as you could eat in a lifetime at this time of year. I think a car is fairly essential although the driving here is easy and cheap.

The single greatest asset to Villa Paraiso though are the people who own it, the reason why I would never stop in a hotel. There is no substitute for local knowledge and Roland and Conceicao could not have done any more for us and all this despite them being a little ill during our stay. I know they love meeting people and they themsleves have great life stories to tell. If you find yourself on these few reviews of this lovely home I recommend booking before its too late.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinRyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed only one night at Villa Paraiso because we wanted to visit the beaches nearby and we regret not staying longer. Roland and Conceicao are great hosts; they are very friendly and are always ready to help you, either by recommending the best places to go and making your stay very pleasant. In the evening we had an aperitivo in the terrace, Conceicao putted some music on, brought a candle, offered some typical Portuguese liquor and then left us to enjoy our aperitivo.They were very thoughful every moment. Breakfast was amazing, a varied buffet with delicious pastries. The rooms are very nice with huge comfortable beds, and the house and garden have lots of spaces to chill out. Close to the best beaches and cliffs in Algarve.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice and well equipped. Rooms are dark and quiet enough for a good sleep. With al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 881Luz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is a small scale operation that delivers the service and customer experience that many leading hotels would be proud to emulate. We booked room 1 which has outstanding accommodation with a large comfortable bedroom, a well appointed lounge and a large veranda. The owners Roland and Sao are lovely people and could do no more to make us feel welcome and relaxed. Everything is spotless and in good order and the breakfasts a wonderful way to start the day. The property is near (albeit you will need a car) to many beautiful beaches and a large number of first class restaurants. There is a little traffic noise from the nearby main route into Ameceo de Pera but this did not distract too much from the peace of the large garden. They currently do not take credit cards so make sure you have enough cash

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard209966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porches
1.5 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Vilalara Thalassa Resort
1.8 mi away
Vila Gale Nautico
Vila Gale Nautico
#1 of 9 in Armacao de Pera
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Pestana Palm Gardens
Pestana Palm Gardens
#4 of 18 in Carvoeiro
661 reviews
1.3 mi away
Be Smart Terrace Algarve
1.6 mi away
Pestana Viking
Pestana Viking
#4 of 6 in Porches
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Paraiso

Address: Areias de Porches 496 | Porches - Lagoa, Porches 8400-452, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Porches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Porches
Price Range: £38 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Paraiso 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Paraiso in the heart of the Algarve is a Romantic large luxury B&B Villa on 3000m2 of land with a large swimming pool and only 2,5 km located from the sea. We propose 3 en suite rooms and 2 Master suites to guests. With us you are not just a number and you will feel really welcome. Our B&B is located within short distance of romantic beaches. No children below 18 allowed. Free massages for woman they are in the room rate included! Choose for Hawaiian Lomi Lomi or Tantra from Roland the owner. We hope to welcome you soon Roland and Conceicao. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Villa Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Paraiso Algarve, Portugal - Porches

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing