We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only go if you have kids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pestana Viking Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Porches
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Only go if you have kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

Lovely hotel set on a cliff between two small coves with sandy beaches. Quiet location and no nightlife in hotel it was dead after 10.00. Surrounding area mainly appartments no shops. A supermarket is within walking distance with smaller minimarket closer still. A few bars and restaurants in walking distance but really you need a car/taxi to get out and about. Its a longish walk to Armacao and the clifftop walk is potentially dangerous. Armacao is OK not a lot of character but plenty of reasonable restaurants. Hotel provides 2 bus journeys each day, for free, to Armacao but last return is about 5.00. Hotel rooms are spacious and well-equipped -useful kitchenette area with kettle, large fridge, microwave, crockery etc. Safe is chargeable currently 2 euros a day. No hairdryer in the room but available from reception. Pool satisfactory but often overcrowded with children. Lots of sunbeds and free pool towels. Stayed half board - buffet meals. Menu on 7 day cycle so if you stay more than 7 days no surprises i.e one night was Italian theme night and same night following week provided identical menu. Food was overall bland, vegetables many nights were boiled sprouts/boiled carrots/broccoli. Some dishes were of excellent quality. Occasionally the food was unappealing due to kids fiddling with food - the ice cream usually resembled a war zone. As a couple the constant whinging crying running about did not make for enjoyable meal. Seagulls presented a problem eating al fresco with frequent raids on tables when people not looking - a health risk? Drinks and lunch time food at hotel quite pricey. We went across the road fo evening post meal coffee and drinks.
The staff were very helpful particularly in reception.
Our room was on 7th floor front which gave us excellent attactive view of one of the bays. Downside of this was the seagulls used our wall as rousting point messing the balcony on a number of times..
The World of Sand at Pera is definitely worth a visit I drove but possibly a taxi would be cheaper than the dedicated tours on offer.
We had a pleasant holiday and if you are seeking a good place to take children this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Ask for room on upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrocodileRoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    425
    125
    39
    25
See reviews for
337
422
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

This is also a very nice hotel from Pestana. Also Perfect for couples with kids.
Excellent Service (Restaurant very, very good. Breakfast is excellent). The staff is extremely friendly and helpful.
Rooms need to improve a little bit ...
Pool area is quite big, with a nice garden, very good for kids.
The beach is just around the corner ...
Nearby Armação de Pêra (if you won't to go to a big beach) and not to far from Vilamoura or to the other side Portimão (by car).

We had a great time from day one.

Definitely recommend!

Last but not least: ask for a room with sea view!

Next time I won't to give Excellent review, so please get everything 100%!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BSPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

Lovely hotel set between two small but super beaches. Quiet location so not for you if you want nightlife and shops. Scenic walk along the cliffs to Armacao, which is a pleasant little resort. Rooms are spacious and well-equipped - really good kitchenette area with kettle, fridge, microwave, crockery etc. Safe costs 2 euros a day. No hairdryer or iron in the room, but hairdryer available from reception. Really lovely pool - lots of sunbeds, free pool towels. Ate in the restaurant twice - a la carte was good, themed buffet every night too. Was a kids club and activities in the pool for an hour every afternoon. The staff were very, very helpful indeed. Spa area and treatments are great. Main gripe was that we booked a room with a sea-view and got a room at the side of the hotel, which was a view of trees with glimpses of water between. However, this issue was resolved satisfactorily by the reception staff. Used Yellowfish for our transfers from Faro to the hotel - can highly recommend them too. Local buses to Portimao and Albufeira are fast and cheap, but not particularly regular, so you need to plan carefully, but otherwise are an easy way to get around without a car. We visited both these places and Fieas, The World of Sand at Pera (there is a special bus you can book from the office in town) and this is definitely worth a visit. We would certainly book a Pestana hotel again.

Room Tip: The top floors would probably have the best view and their idea of a sea view and ours was not the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FigoSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

This was our third trip to the Pestana Viking/Porches Praia so I'll try not to be biased....who am I kidding? We love it! It's so quiet and relaxing. Apartment is cleaned every day. Food is delicious although expensive but there are other places in Armacao de Pera to go to eat or the snack bar just across the road - always lovely food there. Hotel staff are friendly and helpful. You can refer to my previous review for more info but would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sinead W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

Stayed at the Pestana Viking for a week. The hotel was great - spacious room that was spotlessly clean, with large bathroom and sheets changed daily. The people at reception were fantastic and were happy to help with anything you could possibly want. The pool outside was spot on as well with fantastic views, lots of sunbeds, free towels, and shades if required.

The only things to let it down were the service in the restaurant (it was always slow, but the worst was one day it took us over an hour to just get a lunch menu) and the prices (28 euors for a bbq buffet and 24 euros for an italian buffet is a little steep). Also, wifi at 18.50 a day is very expensive, but luckily the supermarket up the road had free wifi if needed.

The area is very quiet and definitely not for those looking for a lively holiday. The beach next to the resort is fantastic - never got too busy, with a great bar/ restaurant and lots of afternoon shade from the cliffs if you want to escape the sun. Bar over the road is very cheap (4.50 euros for 2 pints as opposed to 7.50 in the hotel), while 5 euros in a taxi will get you to Armacao De Pera which had some nice beach bars and restaurants. Still not exactly buzzing, but enough places to fill a weeks worth of drinks and eating out.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank london_ozone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyll
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

This was our first time in the Pestana Viking. Lovely hotel, friendly staff, quieter area but you could go to Amercao De Pera via the shuttle bus, free from the hotel. Plenty of sunbeds by the pool. Great indoor pool, spa etc. Tried the Belmondo Restaurant which was a bit expensive. if you walk up the hill to the road the Intermarche is on, turn left instead of walking towards it then your first right you will a great restaurant called "Orotund" (or something like that). Can thoroughly recommend that - sirlion steak for 10 euros! Or you can ask for the tourist menu.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Car44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

Firstly, hotel very good, nice big, clean rooms with fridge, sink and microwave.
Lots of ammenaties, spa, indoor pool, big bar area, lots of outside space, plenty of sunbeds which were very comfortable (as sunbeds normally go) outside pool was nice and big with beach/pool towels provided and fantastic views.
Staff were excellent, very friendly and would go out of their way to help especially Rui the barman.
Around the area was very quiet, had about 6 restraunts to choose from within walking distance, especially vilarinha on the beach.
Overall great holiday and we would go back tomorrow

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mets-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porches
0.2 mi away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
0.4 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de...
#2 of 10 in Armacao de Pera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Be Live Family Palmeiras Village
11.0 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#7 of 163 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,113 reviews
16.1 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 51 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Viking Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Viking Resort

Property: Pestana Viking Resort
Address: Praia Senhora da Rocha | Porches/Lagoa, Porches 8400-450, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Porches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Porches
#3 Spa Hotel in Porches
#3 Family Hotel in Porches
#3 Luxury Hotel in Porches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Viking Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Viking Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Viking Hotel Porches
Hotel Pestana Viking
Pestana Viking Resort Algarve, Portugal - Porches

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing