We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifull place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pestana Viking Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Porches
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautifull place”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Hotel was great! Staff very friendly, rooms always clean, niece brekfasts (I was on BB)beach 100m away small but beautiful. next beach 300 m away but down from the cliff. way up was a bit annoying but the beach is worth to see. Portimao few miles away with long, sandy beaches, shops and restaurants. near villages are also wort to visit. plenty shops with pottery, in April u can smell orange trees everywhere - i loved it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    452
    138
    46
    28
See reviews for
362
466
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Spent Christmas at the Viking, had a problem to start with as the room we were given looked out onto a large bushy tree with no view of the garden or sea. Reception did not seem to grasp the problem as they then gave us the rooms to either side of the first which still faced the same tree, after spending the night in the said room we were finally moved five rooms along. Room 515 was clean and decorated with a modern large bathroom, kitchen area with microwave, kettle and sink, glasses and plates. Tv in room had many channels including BBC and ITV but was not flat screen. Air conditioned for warm and cool setting and balcony with table and chairs facing garden and sea. Two lifts to all floors. Free WiFi in the public areas when you ask at reception for a code paper which you have to do every 24 hours.
All meals are buffet, breakfast covered every taste and was good, with plenty of choice but the hotel was let down by the evening meals which were more or less the same, soup was cold and some of the meat tough, potatoes uncooked and hard. As it was Christmas we expected them to do a bit extra but what we got was a glass of wine free and the same meals on the plate. In fact if it wasn't for the Christmas tree in the reception and one by the door of the restaurant you would not have known it was Christmas.
Best is the position to the beaches on both sides and a handy supermarket 10 min walk up the hill for lunch snacks. The hotel provides a mini bus to the local town free of charge and trips far afield can be booked at reception.

Room Tip: do not have room 509, 510, 511 as they face a large tree and no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smart5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Algarve
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

First impressions of this hotel are not good. The building is old, in need of decoration and the car parking is chaotic. Basically the hotel does NOT have a car park and you take your chances in the streets nearby. The reception area is dated and unappealing, but the room we had (527) was nicely decorated and furnished with two separate bedrooms, a lounge and dining area, a shower/wc and a full bathroom. The main problem with the room was that it was very hot as the thermostat control was broken and appeared to be stuck at the highest level which made sleep only possible with all the windows wide open and sleeping on top of the bed covers. Not good!! Reporting this to reception, the first night, resulted in no action at all and mentioning it again on check out just brought a nod. The beds are quite comfortable but the pillows were very poor.The standard of housekeeping was very good and the room was very clean. There was a small kitchenette with plenty of crockery, glasses etc and a dishwasher. The bathroom and shower room had possibly been recently refurbished as they were very modern with plenty of hot water, towels and toiletries.

Breakfast was a reasonable hot and cold buffet, although I would recommend avoiding the croissants (awful) and the orange juice which was watery. The New Years Eve entertainment and food were good, although the buffet, with so many people, became a bit of a free for all. The staff were friendly and mostly quite efficient.

The area in December was obviously a bit quiet but there were a few restaurants nearby, one of which we visited. This was The Belmondo which was Italian, quite pricey with a nice ambience but quite average food and distinctly overpriced wine.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vila Nogueira de Azeitao, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We (couple, son and girlfriend) were at the Pestana Viking from the 25th till the 30th of December and in general enjoyed it all; good indoor facilities, professional staff everywhere, nicely decorated, some additional animation/activities and a great breakfast. In the weekend though the indoor pool area/spa got sometimes very crowded and noisy; children were playing alone (!) in the jacuzzi and also entering the sauna. Luckily we stayed 5 days and had real relaxing times as well. I would advise to bring a robe (not sure if the hotel provides them) so that you don't have to use the small dressing rooms.
We liked less the hard pillows, which in combination with the quite hard beds made us sleep not always as good! Parking facilities near the hotel were limited and it wasn't even high season. All the rooms have a tiny, very practical kitchenette. Next to the hotel is already a good bar/restaurant (Palmeiras) and there is more choice in the area or in Armação the Pêra, at a short distance by car. Would definitely advise this hotel, but you better ask a softer pillow during reservation. Finally, the lobby internet access that is provided for free, also worked in our rooms!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlies L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We first went to the Pestana Viking in October 2013 for a week and wrote a review saying what a great location and how good the staff had been. We returned for a second golfbreak in December 2013 just before Christmas. The room was not so good as last time. Despite upgrading to sea view it turned out to be a side room, certainly with a sea view, but not full-on Atlantic as it had been the first time. We would advise travellers to pay for the upgrade but request a room on any floor in the 14 - 20 range. These seem to be those on the rear of the hotel with a view over the pool and out to sea. The staff were just as good as they had been the first time and our only disappointment, as last time, was the food that was certainly not 4 star quality.

Returning anywhere is risky in our view because you tend to notice all the little things that were happily ignored on the first visit. However, we were not disappointed with our trip. We chose a b & b option given our experience of the catering first time around. Certainly the breakfasts we ate were just like last time and had not improved, but these, together with the notoriously problematic internet connection in the lobby were our only two negatives.

This time we explored the coastline in some detail and there is no doubt that Senhora da Rocha really is a beautiful spot. Particularly we would recommend Covo Redondo which is East of the hotel and just a few minutes walk away, up the road and down 137 (not too steep) steps. Watching the sunset on this beach with no-one else there was worth the cost of the week alone. Walking west from the hotel, the coastpath is spectacular with a variety of small coves with rock formations and then Benagil (an attractive little village that would not be out of place in Cornwall) and eventually Carvoeiro with its white cliffs.

With regard the challenges of eating dinner, we found a couple of very attractive restaurants that remained open in December and were within walking distance. The best of these was the Belmondo which was within 2 mins walk and cooked excellent and simple italian food, offered great service, had settees around its huge log fireplace (which was lit to ward off the December weather) and offered Andrea Bocelli on the TV. For those of a more sporting bent we watched Sporting Lisbon when we returned for dinner on the Saturday before coming home. Definitely the Belmondo is not to be missed.

Given our December visit we used the indoor pool in the hotel every day. It was kept in top condition by the outstanding Miguel who looks after all the pools. We had gales for 2 days and then 2 days rain, but not only did he service the indoor pool daily, but quickly had the outdoor pools in spotless condition despite the ravages of the winter storm. Top man. Smashing pools.

We will definitely go back to Senhora da Rocha and to the Viking. If there is a more attractive spot on the Algarve, we have not found it and we have been end to end from Sagres in the West and into Spain in the East.

This hotel is easily found from J7 on the A22 motorway and provides an excellent base for exploring anywhere on the Algarve. Golf was good too, despite the weather.

Room Tip: Upgrade and ask for a room looking over the outdoor pools and out to sea. Go higher for peace and q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank david t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheathampstead, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed here for a week in half term. I came with my mum and two young children (5 and 2) we had a blast.

The breakfasts were the only disappointing bit. They weren't awful just not what I would call 4 star.

We had a family room and my mum and I shared the sofa bed which was uncomfortable but the kids beds looked fine.

The two beaches nearby were stunning. The nature beach is a bit of an adventure as to get to the main beach you need to climb under some rocks.

The weather was amazing for the end of October so we spent most of the time outside. Except the outdoor pool was too cold. But the indoor pool more than made up for it.

Would definitely go again.

Room Tip: The family room was really spacious and having a kitchen really helped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Just spent a week in Portugal at the Pestana Viking Hotel near Armacao de Pera and it was amazing! The hotel was fantastic.We had bed and breakfast with a goregous room overlooking the gardens. The breakfast was lovely, the indoor and outdoor pools were fantastic and the garden and sun loungers were great. The room had a massive bed and a little kitchenette with a fridge, microwave and sink. I would definately go back.

Room Tip: The only thing is that the view from our room on the 4th floor wasn't great but the reception le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Suzanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porches
0.2 mi away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
0.4 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Be Live Family Palmeiras Village
12.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,032 reviews
10.9 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Viking Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Viking Resort

Property: Pestana Viking Resort
Address: Praia Senhora da Rocha | Porches/Lagoa, Porches 8400-450, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Porches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Porches
#3 Family Hotel in Porches
#4 Luxury Hotel in Porches
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Porches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Viking Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Pestana Viking Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Viking Hotel Porches
Hotel Pestana Viking
Pestana Viking Resort Algarve, Portugal - Porches

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing