We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pestana Viking Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Porches
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good stay”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed here mid June excellent hotel very clean,perfect room it was on the 6th floor,room 624 it had a view over the pool and garden from a very large balcony and on to the sea.Well appointed kitchenette a separate bedroom with an on suite and a separate toilet off the main room.Previous reviews said the hotel seemed dated but i did not find that myself,outdoor pool was a salt water pool with a nice temperature there are two marvelous beaches one either side of the hotel one accessed by some 50 odd steps but worth it for an unspoilt beech. Indoor pool and spa was good and kept very clean free wi-fi was available all over the hotel. Can not comment on the food as we did not eat here there is a very good Italian restaurant next door and a good supermarket 15 minutes away uphill only ten coming back! a very relaxing holiday as with most of the Algarve along that coast there is not a lot going on, i would recommend this hotel and will return in the future.

Room Tip: try for a high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank telltlikeitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    452
    138
    46
    28
See reviews for
362
466
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

the viking has always been a wonderfull hotel, great location and full amenities. i would recommend this hotel to anyone. a mini kitchen with microwave, fridge etc ment we could keep drinks and stuff cold which saved keep buying from the bar as the local super market was only 2 minutes drive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I have stayed in this hotel 8 times. It is in a lovely location with excellent standard of rooms and service. As we have very hectic lives we like to completely relax when we go on holiday and this location allows us to do that. We enjoy the fact that it is a small village with only a few very good restaurants. Breakfast is excellent quality. The evening meal is buffet style and I am sure is very good but we like to go out and eat.
Views are stunning, Pools and leisure facilities are all very clean and well kept and I would recommend it to anyone - in fact, we have taken most of our families with us as we have enjoyed it so much.

Room Tip: High floors are best as you get sea views from every room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fionaandchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
834 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 716 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Hotel nicely situated on a rock, a yellow-brown cliff. On the next rock beautiful chapel Nostra Senhora do Rocha. Rooms nice, clean, well equipped bathroom, balcony - with table and chairs give the opportunity to debate the evening at sunset. The air-condi noisy and not effective.
The hotel is officially 4 star but I would give it 3 and a half. Reception friendly, but slow. The entire first floor (restaurant, lounge, swimming pools) dark, gloomy, without character. Exit to the nearby beach - between cliffs - did not work. The door showed signs of tearing them. Breakfast so-so, like a lot to choose from, but the presentation lacks elegance. Milk in the coffee machine is sweetened, it is not possible to have non-sweet drink coffee with milk. One day one of the 2 elevators was not working all day-the hotel is large and has 7 floors. I've been here this time - I do not have to come back here.

Room Tip: choose bigger room with kitchenette and living room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrzej R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

arrived for a weeks holiday on 14th of may room was very nice although requested a high floor request was not met was put on the ground floor ,arrived at night so went for a look around after breakfast which was also very good and plenty of choice lovely grounds well kept, indoor swimming pool also looked good , after asking and exploring ourselves discovered hotel was at the bottom of what I call a steep hill no shops a few restaurants scattered about which were quite expensive you had to walk away to top of hill to get decent supermarket one was halfway up but very small and I also reckon if you walked into armacao de pera it would take best part of an hour (maybe 45 mins if you were younger )so hotel was a bit way out for me which was disappointing so I would suggest if going there to hire a car or walk a lot if your fit to be fair they run a shuttle into armacao twice a day only a small shuttle tho, staff were pleasant and room kept clean, they also did have brochures for different trips u could go on if wanted for us was a very quiet holiday .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holidaygemScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here in early May and were lucky enough to have excellent weather - thus we made good use of the large, clean outdoor pool. There is also an indoor pool which is well used sling with gym facilities.
The hotel is set on a cliff edge but with plenty of places to sunbathe with sheltered areas in the garden. No shortage of sun beds and permanent shades.
I took part in an excellent Pilates class which was held in a secluded part of the gardens but with a lovely breeze to keep us cool. The tutor spoke many languages so no-one missed the instructions.
Would suggest that you go for a room on a higher floor (ours was 7th) and we had superb views. Our superior twin had a lounge with large balcony plus bedroom also with balcony and a large walk-in dressing room and separate bathroom.
We stayed on Bed & Breakfast basis - good selection of hot and cold food and discreet, attentive dining room staff. We ate in the hotel in one evening - hot and cold buffet with a good selection of food to suit all tastes.
The hotel had two evenings with entertainment in the bar - one of the entertainers (a saxophone player ) was excellent - he made great efforts to get everyone dancing & playing music to suit each country represented. Everyone really enjoyed this evening. Other night with keyboard was not so good.
All staff from reception to bar and waiting & maid service were very polite & helpful.
We hired a car and would recommend this if you want to see area. We needed ours for golf outings although there is a local bus.
Would return here again - peaceful but very pleasant break.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank paul-der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This was our second time we stayed. Lovely staff, very clean everything, beuatyfull view, easy access to anywhere, pluss bar man Rui make us laugh so much and, he does the best cocktails in the whole algarve. mention Fernando and Mario very friendly and helpful staff told us all the best places around. we love the Pestana Viking and we will return very soon! We rate 1000% Marilene & Daren

Room Tip: Almost all the rooms have beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mari722014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porches
0.2 mi away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
0.4 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Be Live Family Palmeiras Village
12.0 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,032 reviews
10.9 mi away
Pestana Alvor Praia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Viking Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Viking Resort

Property: Pestana Viking Resort
Address: Praia Senhora da Rocha | Porches/Lagoa, Porches 8400-450, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Porches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Porches
#3 Family Hotel in Porches
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Porches
#4 Luxury Hotel in Porches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Viking Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Pestana Viking Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Viking Hotel Porches
Hotel Pestana Viking
Pestana Viking Resort Algarve, Portugal - Porches

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing