We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed in swimming pool restaurant.”
Review of Pestana Viking

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pestana Viking
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Porches
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The only waiter who is friendly and who understands customer service is a very young chap with glasses.
The rest are sullen men who literally do the minimum required. Did not bother eating in the inside restaurant,
Rooms nice and a good size....
However i am dissapointed in this 4 star hotel...if you compare it to a 5 star place just up the road it is seriously lacking...its the staff...
On holiday we want friendly faces serving us not old men who are obviously tired of their job....dissapointing

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkimmings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

353 - 359 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

My boyfriend and I decided on this hotel because we liked that it was close to the beach and was in a quiet location. As it was my first time abroad I did plenty of research and read a lot of reviews, at first I was a little worried as the reviews were a mix of negative and positive. We had a late flight into Portugal and when we arrived the reception staff knew exactly who we were and provided a warm welcome explaining everything we needed to know quickly as he could.

We had room 307 with a garden view. Lovely and spacious, two single beds pushed together which didn't bother us. The bathroom was nice and had everything you needed, new towels and bed sheets changed daily. Kitchenette with amenities (cups, glasses, plates, microwave etc). Our room also could pick up the lobby wifi which meant we didn't need to pay for WIfi. You do have to pay 2 euros a day for the safe (we arrived at 1030pm on the Friday and left 11am the next Friday, however we were charged for 7 days use, which really we didn't which was a little cheeky in my opinion. Only 14 euros I know so didn't really leave a bad impression). Air con worked exceptionally we even had to turn it off at times!

Breakfast was a buffet style, which alternated every other day. There was a station which prepared pancakes, omelette and other extras which was nice, if you managed to get in line before the big rush. Apple juice was very very sweet (that would be the only thing I could moan about not what we are use to, but soon got use to it,) you could have it either in the restaurant area or out by the pool which was a lovely touch. The bar by the pool was a bit over priced in my opinion however we took the thought that we are on holiday and we wouldn't normally pay those prices, nice snack menu which filled us up enough till tea. The bar at night time provided a wide variety of drinks, cocktails, beers, wines, soft drinks. I had cocktails which were all lovely, the staff are really nice and welcoming. All the staff throughout the hotel were all very helpful and work very hard to please all guests in my opinion. The pools was nice and refreshing especially when it was warm!! The jacuzzi, in door pool, sauna and steam room were all a nice extra, the spa was extremely over priced so didn't use it. My only grumble is the towel hut and people hogging sun beds. If you got there any later than 10am you probably won't get a towel and all the decent sun beds are taken. We actually sat and saw sunbeds with towels on for 2+ hours without anyone coming to use them. Even though there is a sign saying no reserving sun beds.

We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant at tea time because we felt it was too expensive and we wanted to explore the area. The bar right next to the hotel was amazing! Loved the cocktails and sangria!! Average prices and the staff were lovely (we even saw a member of staff there with her friends and she made an conscious effort to speak to us and say hello). The Italian down from the hotel as if you are walking to the beach was the best Italian I have ever had!! Expensive but a nice treat, one of the waiters was a bit abrupt and rude but another member of staff also served us who was lovely so that made up for his rudeness). The Indian restaurant a 5-10 minute walk away was also the best curry we have ever had and we had high standards for Indian restaurants! The Italian up the hill from the hotel, yes it looked nice, alright food however the service was a disgrace! We were shoved into a corner and took 30 minutes to be served they were more bothered about cleaning tables to get as many people in rather than keeping the current customers happy! There was 2 snack restaurants up on top of the cliff which were nice and the staff were always friendly making polite conversation with us, we are there a lot for our lunch.

We went the week before the summer holidays in the UK, we had a bed and breakfast deal which was quite expensive to begin with however overall a lovely first time abroad holiday, definitely would come back!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank aliceobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Didn't know what to expect with this hotel given the mixed reviews i had read prior but i must admit i was pleasantly surprised it was fantastic!

Lovely setting with gorgeous views of the ocean, great pools to avail of, rooms where tidy and clean, bar food was simple, tasty and freshly prepared although we did not eat in the restaurant for dinner as we ate out in the restaurants nearby so i cant comment on that.

The only grievance i had was that the 'gym' advertised clearly isn't so much of a gym, its a running machine, a cycling machine and a handful of dumb bells going up to 5kg!! They really should invest in a multipoint machine or even a bench and a few heavier free weights to cater for more exercises/workouts.

All in all though a nice holiday was had and staff where helpful and friendly, the free fruit juice in foyer during afternoon was a nice touch!!!

ps, anyone heading here should head down to the nearest town, literally 10 mins walk when they get bored with the restaurants nearby, we only discovered it on our last night and it was pretty lively with plenty of options.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hosick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed in the Pestan Viking , in July fir one week. Most impressed with the staff friendky, efficient and professional. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and ours had a beautiful balcony overlooking the well kept palm garden and the sea. Towels and bedlinen was changed at yiur request, as frequent, as you wished. The breakfast was a buffet type, with a large variety of food, to suit every taste from fresh fruit, yoghurt, continental breakfast, to full cooked breakfast, attended by waiters, who constantly cleared the used dishes. The breakfast could be taken in the spacious restaurant or on tge beautiful terrace, overlooking tge swimming pools, which also were kept very clean, by being attended to, every morning. The ptivate beach, is only a stne throw away, with soft golden sands and stu ning views. The hitel has musical entertainment most nights, a good restaurant , mid priced, and wi fi. For a cgange, there are lots of restaurant choices near by, and 2 supermarkets. A car us necessary, for further exploration, All in all, a very pleasant and relaxed holiday. We wouldn't mind returning to this hotel, again.

Room Tip: Room 412 was an excellent choice, with morning sun and great vuews over the gardens and sea,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank krummon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Spent 4 nights in this hotel and was not impressed at all. The rooms look okay for a beach hotel, and they were clean. However the isolation of the rooms is horrible, you can hear people on the upper floor dragging the chair in the room, trough the door you can hear EVERY noise coming from the hallway: cleaning ladies pushing the cart, chit-chats, kids yelling, people walking by and all the noise their flip-flops or high heel shoes make, literally everything. So forget about taking a nap or rest in the room during the day. Even in the morning we didn´t need an alarm as we were always woken up by the first people getting out of their rooms.
Breakfast was good but the 3rd day was already boring, not much variety. One day there were cooking fried eggs, another day omelette, another day pancakes as addition to the buffet but the lines were always way too long and kids would go back in line 2-3 times so it would take you forever to get to your turn.
We did like having the breakfast by the bistro at the pool, which has snacks during the day but way too expensive (12€ for a "prego" on bread which costs about 3-4€ in a restaurant/snack bar).

Pool area nice, relaxing (at least until all the families with kids come down).

Wifi is only free in the public area, there is a cost of 1€ per day for wifi in the room, which is not much but at the time of the booking the information was "free wifi throughout the hotel" so that should include the rooms as well.

One positive thing is that we got a twin room and we requested if they could give us a room with a couple´s bed, which they didn´t but housekeeping came and fixed the bed, they joined the two mattresses with Velcro and felt better.
There was air conditioning in the room, also much appreciated.

Altogether, wasnt a bad experience but expected much better for the price paid and certainly wouldn´t come back to the same hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kisgyopar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

WOW what can I say I have just returned from here & had the most amazing holiday.. Hotel is of an excellent standard & staff offer an impeccable service. The views from the hotel are breath taking.
Hotel is at the end of a road & only has 5 restaurants within walking distance which when we arrived initially I was a bit worried however the quality, choice & price of food was fantastic at the 3 we tried. Beach is stunning, it's €15 to hire 2 sun beds all day but worth it (you won't be disappointed) it's very hot & you need somewhere with shade, the €15 also includes free magazines to read & toys for the children.
Hotel offers a kids club (my son didn't want to go as found pools too fun) & nightly entertainment (it's not as tacky as some places I've been although not overly kid orientated). Breakfast- choice is excellent & delicious, buffet but with something different freshly cooked each day! Didn't try the spa as a bit pricy but looked of a high standard & lots of treatment choices. Free wifi vouchers are great (especially in this day).I am so sad to be home as I've had the most relaxing, amazing holiday & will returning soon! If you are after sun, great beaches, high quality food & accommodation, relaxation & happiness the Pestana Viking will exceed all your needs!
1 negative- you get free beach towels daily but if you are not queuing @ 9.30am when the hut opens you may not get any. On 2 occasions by 10.30am there were none left until 4pm.. So either take your own towels or get to hut early.

Stayed: July 2014
8  Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We have just returned from the Pestana Viking Hotel in the Algarve, following a 10 night holiday.

The hotel is well laid out, very clean, and the staff are very helpful (happy to arrange tours, and pro-actively suggest alternative tours that they think might be of interest). The pool area is large and there are plenty of loungers and parasols (and reserving sun loungers is not allowed, so there is less hassle in trying to find one).

The resort is quiet, but there are many good restaurants nearby. Not many shops, but there is one large supermarket a 15 minute walk from the hotel. The views from the cliffs are lovely, and beaches are kept very clean. Kayaks, pedalos and jet skis can be hired locally.

Room Tip: We had a room over the entrance, so the view wasn't great. Try to get a room overlooking the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank mjm2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porches
0.4 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Algarve - Armacao de Pera
11 mi away
PortoBay Falesia
PortoBay Falesia
#6 of 154 in Albufeira
2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Tivoli Carvoeiro
Tivoli Carvoeiro
#3 of 18 in Carvoeiro
3,621 reviews
1.1 mi away
Suites Alba Resort & Spa
11.4 mi away
Pestana Dom Joao II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Viking

Address: Praia Senhora da Rocha, Porches 8400-450, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Porches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Porches
#3 Spa Hotel in Porches
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Porches
#4 Luxury Hotel in Porches
Price Range: £19 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Viking is a 4-star clifftop hotel in Porches-Armação de Pêra, in the Algarve, 2 minutes on foot from Senhora da Rocha beach. It is one of the most sought-after areas in the Algarve and local life is lively year round. The hotel is surrounded on three sides by grand gardens. Palm trees and green grass lead the way to the beach. The outdoor saltwater swimming pool is surrounded by exotic gardens that will help make your holiday unforgettable. The hotel also offers a wellness area with a heated indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, Turkish bath and gym, where you can relax and schedule your Magic Spa treatment. For dining and drinks, the Pestana Viking offers two restaurants and a bar. The rooms have views of the sea or the wonderful gardens, each equipped with Wi-Fi and a private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travel Republic (UK), PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pestana Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Viking Hotel Porches
Hotel Pestana Viking
Pestana Viking Algarve, Portugal - Porches

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing