We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“gorgeous meal in relaxed atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Safari Restaurant

Safari Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
70 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“gorgeous meal in relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Ate here to night. Had the most gorgeous home made tomato soup with croutons to die for. Followed by crab in a beautifully light tomatoey sauce. Staff lovely-efficient and friendly. Looks small from the front but lovely terrace with sea view at the back. Lovely eating experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fozzerella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    130
    51
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Fresh food, lovely setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Stumbled across The Safari on our 1st night in P.D Rocha and glad we did! Fresh beautiful food: my husband had the bream, I had the prawn and monkfish kebab. Both meals were exceptional, so much so that we ate here twice more on a 7 day holiday! The setting is great as it's off the 'main strip'. Would highly recommend. And they were VERY busy on all 3 occasions-says it all. Everyone was leaving with a smile on their face!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SallyGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pretentious ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

My parent ordered off the set menu whilst I ordered my starter and main separately. My starter came out but my partners didn't for a further 10 mins. So we didn't eat these together. The mains came together, which I ordered peri peri chicken but there was no spice to it at all, it was also dry and completely disappointing. My partner had the safari curry and he loved it. Due to the disappointment of my main I was looking forward to looking at the desert menu except a waiter just came along and plonked my partners apple pie which was part of the 'set menu' down on the table so it was decided by Safari that I wouldn't be having a dessert! I know I didn't want your set menu but that didn't mean I didn't want a desert! I think the restaurant is pretentious and over priced, yeah the waiter pour your wine and waits for you to taste it before pouring the rest but they can't even serve two people their meals at the same time or offer a desert menu. There are much nicer restaurants on the strip.

Helpful?
Thank K908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Still delicious after 25 years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Safari has been a firm favourite of mine for over two decades since I started going there with my family as a child and it's now our tradition to go there on our first night in the Algarve.

The tables on the patio offer superb views over the Praia do Rocha beach and the comings and goings of boats from the marina.

The staff are unfailingly polite and friendly and are happy to help you choose your meal.

On this visit, two of our group had melon with smoked ham and one had the homemade tomato soup to start. Both are simple dishes but are very fresh and tasty.

For the main course, 3 of us shared chicken curry 'safari style' and the other had the traditional Madeiran dish of sole and bananas. Safari's curry is one of my favourite dishes that I look forward to having every time I come to the Algarve. However many portions are ordered are served to the table in one pot with chicken on the bone that is extremely tender and succulent. The curry sauce is not especially spicy but is absolutely delicious.

We enjoyed cover for 4, 3 starters, 3 mains, 2 desserts, water for the table, 1 soft drink and a large beer for 76 euros before the tip.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heritage restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have been to this restaurant several times over nearly 20 years. There is a long time tradition of lovely stews etc in terracotta pots, among many various other dishes, and the level of service is high as always. Nice atmosphere, would recommend for a good (great) Portuguese meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Safari Restaurant also viewed

Praia da Rocha, Portimao
 
Praia da Rocha, Portimao
Praia da Rocha, Portimao
 

Been to Safari Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing