We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartamentos Castelos da Rocha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apartamentos Castelos da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“very enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Just returned from last minute 7 day break. We were more than happy with the accommodation & position close to beach. Very clean & Laura at reception very helpful. We could have rented a heater @ 5 euros per night but did not need it, but having paid so little for the apartment did not feel the charge was excessive. The area was very quiet but beautiful beaches & other areas within walking distance we were very happy. looking forward to returning next year for a longer stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    55
    30
    9
    4
See reviews for
80
68
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

this is on the face of it a nice clean little place. however it is severely cold and to rent a heater is 5euors a day! stupidly noisy if one person leaves an apartment down the hall you can here the door slamming and the resources for the apartment are non existent reception is at an ad-hoc basis so no continently, also there is a distinct lack of locations to buy perishable goods near by.
far out the way from the mainstream of the town. loads of lights outside that buzz all night and disturb sleep constantly!
save your time go to a proper hotel......

we're asked to rate "fitness centre".... there is not one fact!!

Room Tip: Bachuus bar a 10 min walk away is a must do!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank icetruckkiller1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

I went with my friends on holiday to Praia da Rocha after we finished our A Levels, just before we headed off to university (in July 2010). The cost of a 4 bed apartment was extremely cheap and so we decided to stay here. The apartment was spacious and clean. The bedrooms were bright and both had a balcony that was adjoining. The living room/kitchen was big enough and had a pull out bed so even more than four people could stay if necessary!

The pool area was nice and the bar served very nice food for fairly cheap!

The owner Laura seemed friendly, however when our towels were not changed when they were supposed to, she shouted at us. However she quickly apologised and gave us our towels straight away.

The walk to the (beautiful) beach was short and up a slight hill.

I would stay here again if I were to go back to Praia da Rocha.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Can't fault this place , nothing is too much trouble for Laura , the lady who looks after the apartments .
Very near restaurants and pubs , plus the beach is just across the road and up a (not too steep ) road, take you 2minutes at most.
If you want to eat at apartment the huge Continente Hypermarket is a 30 minute walk away or taxi it for about 4/5 euros , you'll certainly need one to bring back shopping .
Our favourite restaurant was in do vua a 15 minute walk away if you take the road , The Jacaranda . Claires along the top road does a good value 3 course menu .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank saphi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We were made to feel very welcome and great care was taken over our stay. An optional extra heater made a world of difference - November/December nights can be pretty cool in the Algarve, so travellers should take note.

We went in search of winter sunshine and possible places to re-visit at length in February-March, and were successful on both counts. A few weeks in the apartments may well turn out to be a very good solution!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

On arrival were upgraded to two bedroom apartment in room 225! An excellent start to our holiday. Sunshine on balcony until early afternoon. Rooms cold in the evening and night. Laura rented us a heater at 5 euros a day. Location of apartments is ideal, close to beach and restaurants, but in quiet area. Big Continente supermarket about 20 minute walk away and 5 euros for a taxi back. Spar local small supermarket about 5 minutes away. Can recommend Mistral restaurant for seafood and local Portuguese dishes, frequented by many of the locals.
Also The Taca bar next to Claire's is worth a visit, large lager 1 Euro! We enjoyed our week there so much we have already booked a return next spring.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingtims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Brilliant in every way! Laura is the best host , upgraded us to an apartment with an upstairs, nice! Kitchen very well equipped , washer , microwave , coffee maker , kettle toaster also iron ironing board! We stayed in 103 , had the sun in from dawn till dusk!
Transfer pick up on the way home was at 4am and in the sleepiness forgot my English money, left in a drawer, emailed Laura to inform her , and she collected it for me and gave it to my parents to bring home for me , a real diamond! We will be back !!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mangravylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.3 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clube Praia da Rocha by ITC Hotels & Resorts
Clube Praia da Rocha by ITC Hote...
#18 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
3.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Mirachoro II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Castelos da Rocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Castelos da Rocha

Property: Apartamentos Castelos da Rocha
Address: Sitio dos Castelos, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-801 , Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Castelos da Rocha 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Apartamentos Castelos da Rocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Castelos Da Rocha Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Apartamentos Castelos Da Rocha Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing