We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“had a good holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apartamentos Castelos da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“had a good holiday”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

apartment was spacious stayed in block one clean and tidy there is a small pool and coffee bar which does serve food and alcolhol..its a 5to 10 minute walk from the strip which has a slight hill going and coming back .there are plenty of bars on the strip and restaurants we ate in taffys bar for breakie then tried a few others for evening meals which you could get a 3 course between 8.30 to 9.30 euros.weather was perfect you need to walk down steps to the beach so no good for people with any walking problems overall had a good time

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
2 Thank bev_999uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    59
    30
    9
    4
See reviews for
84
69
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We got diverted to Porto airport en route due to a passenger being ill, so arrived at the apartments over an hour late (about 01.00) I had rung Laura to tell her we were going to be late as we left the airport.
apartment 2 beds 2 bath 2 balconies. A bit light on crockery which was mismatched, especially as the apartment technically slept 6 people. The balcony over the front was directly above the main doors to the block, so when the party animals arrived home at stupid o clock there was a lot of slamming.Towels changed 3 times during our 10 day stay and beds changed after 1 week.Maids emptied the bins 6 days out of seven. Short walk up to the front a bit of a hill but I've known worse and you have to build up a bit of a thirst somehow. The little cobbles used for paving are very slippery, I dont know how anybody walks in heels on them.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alisonHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just got back from 8 day holiday. This was our second visit in 2 years. Will be back next year. Laura and Fernando are fantastic people can't do enough for you. Apartments are brilliant, pool are is well maintained. Ten minute walk to the front for your nightlife, restaurants etc and the fabulous beach. Hope to see more of Rambo and Pintash Lauras cats next year. Fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leona t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just back from a week in these apartments and I want to go back! Laura, the owner is very friendly and helpful. We arrived in the dark after a long day travelling and where greeted by Laura and the 2 parrots. She showed us to the apartment and showed us around it. The apartment was great- split level and spacious. The were excellent kitchen facilities including a washing machine. The pool area and snack bar were just what you needed. The whole complex is well maintained and clean. The location is a short walk to the beach and also convenient to Portimao for shopping. There is a lidl, aldi and Continente near the apartments for your food shopping. We had rented a car and there was plenty of parking at the apartment. There is some landscaping work in the filed beside the apartments but it did not bother us during the stay. There is also a donkey and horse grazing in the field so it gives a slightly rural feel even though you are in the centre of Praia da Rocha. When we were going home, I asked if we could stay on in the apartment as our flight was in the evening. This was no problem and it meant we could spend more time at the complex. I thoroughly recommend a stay here and hope to return

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnyholidays09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Castelos Da Rocha is a lovely family run place! Speak English very well, Laura the receptionist can't do enough for you! Very funny too. We had an incident when we arrived and she sorted it straight away! Lovely apartments, you get an upstairs and downstairs with a washing machine, oven with hobs, fridge freezer, tv and nice views. Pool area really nice as well with a snack bar! The only let down is that there only wifi in pool area and not in the rooms. Maids come every 3 day which I think needs to be 2 days but they do a great job nonetheless! The main strip is only a 5 minute up hill walk, so if you don't like hills or stairs then don't stay here haha. Praia Da Rocha has a lot of hills and steps, about 70 up and down to the beach. I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Elena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

stayed here in october 2013 with my two daughters aged 20 and 12 apartments were nice walk to beach and nightlife about 15 mins walk not to bad laura was very friendly on arrivial but when checking out she wasnt that nice it was like have your money so go not much to do around pool area

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaggygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We booked a studio apartment but ended up in apartment 110 which was huge one bedroom, had a proper double bed, a lovely little balcony and a full oven and four ring hob. The kitchen even had a washing machine which I've never known in a cheap self catering apartment!

It was very quite when we went in early May, we were often the only people at the pool.

The location was great, five minutes walk to the resort centre and beaches.

The only downside was we could have done with a later checkout than 11am as our flight wasn't until the evening.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Praia da Rocha hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clube Praia da Rocha
Clube Praia da Rocha
#18 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
3.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Castelos da Rocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Castelos da Rocha

Property: Apartamentos Castelos da Rocha
Address: Sitio dos Castelos, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-801 , Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Castelos da Rocha 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartamentos Castelos da Rocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Castelos Da Rocha Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Apartamentos Castelos Da Rocha Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing