We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First impression was daunting!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartamentos Castelos da Rocha

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Apartamentos Castelos da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“First impression was daunting!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed July 2014 for 12 days.
Arriving at Castelos da rocha at 10pm at night and shown to our apartment. The apartment was 2 storey which we found strange at first, and the balcony was in the bedroom but we soon got used to it and it an enjoyable stay. The apartment was spacious with washing machine, microwave and kettle and toaster. The pool was private although needing a key to get in was a pain! The cleaning service wasnt regular and we couldnt work out which days it would be cleaned. Towels were changed every 2 - 3days.
We soon realised the location of the apartments was ideal. Just a 5 minute walk into the busy town and beach.
Bars were great. Enjoyed "Durty Nellies" . Restaurants were lovely and prices werent too bad at all.
Zoomarine it totally recommended to families. A great days outing. Great shows and a fabulous dolphin show. Also a slide park, although expect long queues.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    55
    30
    9
    4
See reviews for
80
68
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We have stayed here with my parents for the last 3 years, and love everything about this apartment block. We always stay in room 502, which is on the top floor, and has a huge balcony with built in BBQ, seating, tables, sunloungers and shower.
The apartment is very good, full size oven, microwave, washing machine and all cooking utensials.
2 large bedrooms, and also a very large lounge (small TV which has a few English channels), a proper sized family bathroom (bath,shower,bidet etc) and someone in the apartment has wifi, so the kids could play their tablets and stream movies!
Fantastically placed, we also used the rear pool, and we tended to be the only ones there.
Close to the beach (there are a lot of steps to get down to the beach, probably 80), and a good selection of Portugese owned restaurants (there are not many English runs restaurants, which for us is a good thing)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Margaret's Hope, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We said here in july and loved every minute!!just a small family run hotel which suited us perfectly, everyone was super friendly n went out of their way to help!we had problems with a second hotel wed booked as there was a few travelling but they fitted us all in at very little cost, even tracked us down to say goodbye before we left!!will definately be going back again :) one of the nicest friendliest places ive stayed!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emmib86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willenhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

These apartments are perfect for a cheap weeks get away. I booked for myself and friends as a last minute deal and wasn't expecting too much but was pleasantly surprised when we arrived. Its in a good location (About 5 mins walk to beach, bars and restaurants). The rooms are clean and extremely spacious. We were in a 2 story apartment which had a living area, kitchen downstairs toilet, bathroom and 2 bedrooms. Balconies on the small side, but this wasn't a problem for us. The pool is very quiet in the day so you can easily get a sunbed. Overall, we were happy with this hotel/apartment. It could do with a little TLC, but for a weeks holiday it didn't bother us as we just needed somewhere to relax, sleep and shower!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amymgreen94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Apartments are lovely well equipped washing machine which I found brilliant. Laura works really hard and long hours. So friendly. I was in two minds about putting a review as these apartments seem to be mostly family run. The things that need improving would not cost a lot. Railings are very rusty in apartments over reception. clothes dryers are full of rust. light bulbs replaced. the pool was full of flies and there the tiles inside the pool at water level there was a black scum not nice. snack bar was nice burger and chips etc. These things are very easily improved and I hope Laura all the best she is a star but I hope she takes these points as constructive criticism. Very near the strip and beach but really quite there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 577Deirdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We arrived, in the rain, but Laura came out to greet us and welcome us to the apartments ( and let us meet the parrots). Once checked in, 2 mins, she personally took us across to our department. We hit lucky and found we were in 404, the apartment with the huge (18 foot square) private balcony. We were in heaven. The pool bar was also very good with prices comparable with the "happy hour" prices on the strip. The apartments are only 400 yards from the main strip but are nice and quiet, are only 4/5 floors high, and the many pools get sunshine from dawn to dusk (we noticed an adjacent tower apartment didn't get sun on the patio until after 2pm). The cleaners came every second day and were friendly. I would highly recommend these apartment to anyone (though perhaps not stag or hen parties to avoid spoiling it for others)

Room Tip: Room 404 is pure gold but all rooms seemed fine and with multiple pools you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

What a good holiday we all had,very friendly staff at the castles da rocha,especially Laura what a
nice lady always helpful,and would go out of her way to help you,nice clean apartment everything in there for self catering holiday.The only two things that let it down was no a/c in apartment,as the night times were sweltering,and the mattresses were so uncomfortable,but everything else about the holiday was great good food at taffys bar i don't think for english food you would get any better on the Algarve.But i would definitely be coming back here with my family.It does what it says on the tin,once again thanks Laura and staff.

Room Tip: but only around the pool and bar area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.3 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#5 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clube Praia da Rocha by ITC Hotels & Resorts
Clube Praia da Rocha by ITC Hote...
#18 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
3.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Mirachoro II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Castelos da Rocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Castelos da Rocha

Property: Apartamentos Castelos da Rocha
Address: Sitio dos Castelos, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-801 , Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Castelos da Rocha 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Apartamentos Castelos da Rocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Castelos Da Rocha Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Apartamentos Castelos Da Rocha Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing