We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice but noisey outside!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartamentos Castelos da Rocha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apartamentos Castelos da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice but noisey outside!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

all the reviews are true,nice spacious aps, well equiped and clean, but the bed was hard and please watch out for the marble staircace its right next to the bathroom, you could easily take a fall going to the loo in the night, the balcony was v small and the wall was less than waist height, you could fall over it if you tripped. One thing i cant believe anyone has mentioned is there is a recycling depot right outside the hotel and a lorry comes every morning at about 4 to hoist the containers up, the sound of his engine and glass bottles woke us every day despite all windows firmly shut. There was a dog roaming the hotel and it messed a few times on the grass, this was never cleaned up!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shep666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    55
    30
    9
    4
See reviews for
80
68
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
worcs
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

apartment was clean & spacious [sleeps 6-8], beds were alittle uncomfortable but then it could also be down to the heat , glorious weather all week [ in the 30's] but was to hot for us. Apartment also had m,wave, kettle, toaster, f,freezer ,w, machine, cooker, plus iron. Nearest s,market is at the Solmonte. Resort could be a problem with those who have walking difficulties as pavements are cobbled & hilly, steps down to beach very step . Ladies not advisable to wear high heels everyone wears flats.Overall portugal was not for us as husband not in good health.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cazanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

We returned last week from Castelos Da Rocha Apartments. We were very pleased on arrival as 2 bedroom apartment was really big and spacious. 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, lounge / dining / kitchen and aircon. Security was great with 4 bar door locking system and shutters on all external windows. Beds were a little hard but we managed for the week!
Pool area was clean and pleasant. Laura (Manager) was great and ever so friendly.
We didnt realise how close we were to the front until we walked it and it took us 5 min.
Pool bar is a little expensive and towels were only changed once through the week but with a washer in the apartment it wasnt an issue as I just put them through with our smalls!
I definately would return here as perfect location as very quiet at night and 5 min walk from all the bars / restaurants.
Loved every minute of our stay and the beaches are lovely and clean.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisaCManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

We returned to Castelos da Rocha for the second time. Everything was just as good as last year, in fact the apartment was more spacious, we had two showers and air conditioning. Laura is so helpful and welcoming. The resort has lots going on and we especially enjoyed eating at KOKOA restaurant on the beach.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank happyholidaylancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

Quite a large apartment on 2 levels with toilet facilities upstairs and down. Plenty of room for 4 adults.
I agree with the positive comments made about Laura, nothing seemed too much trouble.
Although there was no air-con’ there was always a light cooling breeze in the evenings and as we were out for most of each day the lack of air-con’ didn’t prove to be a problem. The furnishings were a little dated but the apartment was very well equipped.

A day in the next resort Alvor (cost of 6 Euro for a taxi) was worth a visit, and a small bar called ‘The Chill Out Bar’ is highly recommended for its LARGE snacks which were perfectly cooked and presented, they also had the cheapest alcoholic drinks that we found locally.

This was a great ‘chill’ holiday. Ideal if you feel need to spend some time relaxing on a beach.
We found food and drink prices to be slightly below that of the UK, and there are lots of local restaurants to choose from (though the menus in most were very similar).

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NotListed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

12.07.10 Just returned from this hotel. The lady who run's it is called Laura and she and her staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful. The room was spotless when we arrived and it was cleaned and towels changed almost every other day.
It was self catering but there is a big cheap supermarket fifteen mins walk from the flat. The beach is ten mins walk. As is the main shopping and eating area. The standard of resturant was high. We never ate a poor meal our whole trip. Try a place called All Beef and the two American themed resturants on the main street. They were really good.
Portimao is twenty five mins walk but is well worth a visit. Loads a great shops and it seems a little cheaper than Prada Rocha.
If I had to criticize anything it would be the number of sunbed's available. A few more wouldn't go a miss.
Would we go there again? Definely, it was quiet and nothing was too much trouble when you asked for help.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank danmister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

I have recently returned from a week staying at the Castelos Da Rocha.

On arriving at the hotel Laura and her family could not do enough for us, it was a lovely start to the holiday.

The apartment that we had faced a back road so the view was poor, but in return for that it stayed lovely and cool all day (I understand that those with a pool view had the afternoon sun on them so got very warm without the benefit of air conditioning).

The decoration and furniture was tired and could definitely do with some sprucing up, but all in all these apartments offer excellent value for money. They were clean, comfortable with plenty of space and located a perfect distance from the town.

If you are looking for a week in the lap of luxury these apartments are not for you, but I would return and would recommend them to a friend.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karmen18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.3 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clube Praia da Rocha by ITC Hotels & Resorts
Clube Praia da Rocha by ITC Hote...
#18 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
3.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Mirachoro II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Castelos da Rocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Castelos da Rocha

Property: Apartamentos Castelos da Rocha
Address: Sitio dos Castelos, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-801 , Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Castelos da Rocha 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and LoveHolidays so you can book your Apartamentos Castelos da Rocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Castelos Da Rocha Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Apartamentos Castelos Da Rocha Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing