We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, great service, large and comfy room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, great service, large and comfy room”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We love Relais and Chateaux hotels and this is no exception. The hotel is beautiful, situated on a cliff right at the beautiful (though touristy) beach. The service was excellent, from the phone conversations, to our greeting at the car and luggage assistance, to the check-in in the inviting reception area complete with welcome fruit tea, to room service, who delivered a variety from the included breakfast buffet to our room for a mere 5 euros. Our room was in the new section on the lower level, which we loved as we had a shaded patio that opened out to the lawn and gorgeous blooming landscape. The only downside is the disco a few doors down - my husband hates that deep bass beat of dance music - which played until about 1am, but we were on such a late schedule in Spain and Portugal that it really didn't matter; the music stopped about the time we went to sleep. We had a really inventive, flavorful gourmet meal that my best foodie friends would even have loved, with great variety for a small hotel in shoulder season. We didn't get a chance to try out the spa, but would have loved to! Highly recommend.

Room Tip: For a quieter stay, i assume the original house would be better, but we loved the patio and lawn out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaunaJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gonçalo N, Gerente at Bela Vista Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Guest,

It is with great pleasure the we receive your great review.

We look forward to hearing from you very soon.

In case you need something from us, please do not hesitate to contact.

With kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    86
    32
    12
    6
See reviews for
66
409
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This is a truly excellent hotel with 5 star service from all staff. Unfortunately I wasn't impressed with the beach and town where this hotel is located. Quite tacky and dead with no real soul, but this hotel made up for it and more. My room was in the new section, where they are all looking onto the beach with either a private balcony or terrace onto the grass. The rooms are not huge but very comfortable with all amenities. The food at the restaurant is excellent with some really creative dishes and a lot of variety for a small hotel. The service from everyone from the waiters and reception to the cleaners was all around excellent. They really go out of their way to be helpful and friendly, and this made for such a nice stay. Even though I didn't like the town where this hotel is, it is worth going to just for a few days at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew_sunline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fatima, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We have just returned from a self indulgent four days at the Bela Vista. From beginning to end we enjoyed impecable service whether at reception, in the restaurant or around the pool. The personalities of every member of staff shone through to make us always feel relaxed and cosseted. The quality of the restaurant Vista was excellent and we particularly enjoyed the seven course 'tasting' menu. A feeling of luxury and well being prevails throughout. The Bela Vista definitely provides everything that might be expected for a memorable and romantic getway!

Room Tip: Character Room in the Palacete are superb, magnificent sea views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CCDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I booked this at the last minute as we had had enough of Albufeira and were on our way to Lagos.From the moment we drove through the gate we were given 5 star treatment -met at the car, taken to the lounge to book in and given a welcome drink. We stayed in the original house and the furnishings and décor are fabulous.Our bedroom was gorgeous with a very comfy bed.Just a tip though the shower is in the bath so if like me you have a back problem it can be difficult. I think the new extensions probably have walk in showers. The swimming pool ,loungers and cabanas are lovely as are the other outdoor seating areas .The views over looking the beach are wonderful.It is heaven on earth however, leaving the hotel to walk around the town was a big come down.We last stayed in Rocha 3 years ago and I feel it has gone down in appearance and looks uncared for.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gonçalo N, Gerente at Bela Vista Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the all team, thank you so much for such a great feedback.
It is our goal to exceed our guest expectations and we did it!

We all hope to welcome you again very soon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

If you are in the Algarve, stay at this hotel. Beautiful, rooms are so clean, the staff was so friendly and helpful, you won't go wrong. And a view of the beach. Restaurants and shops all within walking distance, it is a great location. Wish we could have stayed longer. Our group had a dinner in the restaurant one night, it was incredible, taste, presentation and the staff was incredible serving us.
Eat at the Safari Restaurant as well, about 5 min. walk from the hotel.... as well as many restaurants along the boardwalk on the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gonçalo N, Gerente at Bela Vista Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind review. It was a great pleasure to welcome you here.
I will pass your comments on to the all team.

Many thanks in advance,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Myself and my boyfriend visited Bela Vista in October 2012 and felt that it was truly worth every penny.

We found this hotel on Trip Advisor, as we were impressed with the wonderful reviews and the hotel looked incredible. When looking on the website, we saw that they offered a long stay (5 days) package, as we wanted to stay for longer we emailed the hotel to ask if we could have the package twice and they were happy to assist.

On arrival, we noticed how impeccably clean the grounds and property was - I liked that we were gated from the main strip, the hotel had a feel of exclusivity because of this and we felt like we were getting a high class service from the beginning.

We arrived at reception to be informed that we had been upgraded free of charge to a deluxe room, which we were very grateful for. When asked for our passports, I realised that I had lost mine - the hotel were extremely helpful, calling the airport, the police and the coach company to see if they could find it; and when they couldn't, they advised where the British Embassy and the police station was located.

We were taken to the lounge to have a complimentary drink - our room wasn't ready until later. When we got in the room, which was in the garden house, we were very happy with the quality of the rooms, the decor and the service. We were brought our bottle of champagne as part of our package, to drink on the balcony.

The breakfast was fantastic, with pastries and eggs however you like them, plus fresh juice and even champagne (which I only discovered on the last day). They also had a buffet of cereal, cheese and hams etc. We were able to enjoy our breakfast on the terrace in the sunshine every morning. The staff were very attentive, the ambiance was very relaxing and it was always a great start to the day.

The pool area was very quiet and also relaxing - it was late in the year, so we were always able to get a sunbed. And in the afternoon, we were brought complimentary smoothies.

Every day our room was cleaned in the afternoon and every evening, the staff would come in, make our beds and pull the covers back ready for our return. They would also leave us treats each night.

When going to the beach, we were given a wicker basket with towels and water.

The area is great, it was busy enough for me and my boyfriend to be able to go our for a few drinks each night - some of the smaller bars are happy to make friends and love you to come back, including Boogie Bar and Bacchus (with Arthur and his Macaw). We went to the casino one night, which is quite small.

We had two evening meals included with our package - both were absolutely amazing. We tried the taster menu one night, which I would recommend.

I would also suggest going to the water park and to visit Portimao one day to enjoy the sardines.

All in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to have a relaxing holiday ... it's unbelievable how the hotel manages to make you feel as if you are completely detached from the rest of Praia da Rocha - not set on the main strip. Very helpful staff, wonderful setting, fantastic views and a memorable service.

I actually do not think I could fault the hotel at all ... Oh wait, we never met Andre

Go and enjoy.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view in the garden house
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gonçalo N, Gerente at Bela Vista Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Dear Guest,

It gave me great pleasure to read your review, I thank you so much and I am delighted to hear your beautiful comments and that you have enjoyed the hotel.

I hope to welcome you again in the near future. Please let me know if we can help you with future reservations or any other thing you may need.

Many thanks in advance,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Priors Hardwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I hate hotels where the staff believe they are doing you a favour. This is a very pleasant place to stay and my only reservation was with the staff. Front desk was helpful and accommodating, but I found the breakfast service staffed by people lacking in politeness, frankly even sullen. The lunch we had was excellent and well served, just a pity one has to wake up to somewhat moody staff. Irritating to be spoilt by the staff, or rather not spoilt!!

Room Tip: 209 was the furthest away from the hotel and it felt like it, one could almost be in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gonçalo N, Gerente at Bela Vista Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Guest,

At Bela Vista Hotel & SPA, we are continuously looking to improve our services, having therefore, appreciated the time you took to share your feedback with us. Your comments are of great value to us and will contribute to improve our service.

We regret to learn that overall we did not meet your expectations, for which we would like to present our sincere apologies. In the meantime, your comments were addressed to the respective management and will have our best attention in order to serve you better.

We truly hope you grant us another opportunity to welcome you back and to restore your confidence in our Property.

Yours Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.1 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
959 reviews
20.6 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,005 reviews
8.8 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
0.1 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
930 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oriental
Hotel Oriental
#4 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bela Vista Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bela Vista Hotel & Spa

Property: Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#1 Luxury Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#1 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bela Vista Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Bela Vista has been completely renovated and it's now a 5 star Boutique Hotel with 38 rooms. The restaurant has a unique view and fantastic food! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), World Independent Hotel Promotion, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bela Vista Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bela Vista - Hotel, Restaurant & Spa Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Bela Vista - Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing