We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning boutique hotel with exemplary service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stunning boutique hotel with exemplary service”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just arrived back from a fabulous 5 night stay at the Bela Vista. I went with a friend to have a relaxed, chilled out time somewhere gorgeous and this place ticked all the boxes.

From the moment we arrived we were overwhelmed by just how gorgeous this little haven is. You turn off the busy touristy promenade and from the second you enter the main gates you enter a haven of peace! As an aside, for those who criticised the location, I think it is rather unfair to blame the hotel. Yes, it is a little tacky, but there are some very nice restaurants if you don't want to jump in a cab (F and Dockside both lovely), but if you are happy to hop in a cab, Alvors is only a 10 minute ride away with some fabulous restaurants (Canico in the cliffs and Alota to name just two…both recommended by the hotel).

On arrival we were treated like princesses! Handed a drink whilst we checked in and then shown to our stunning room in the new part of the hotel with views to die for. We were in room 204 which was fabulous. Flat screen TV, large bathroom, L'Occitaine products, loads of cupboard and drawer space, possibly the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in, modern blue/ white and red decor, great bathroom and powerful shower over bath..really could not ask for more.

We ran along the beach promenade every day, swum laps in the pool, relaxed on sun loungers with the thickest cushions on. Breakfast was the best I've ever had in a hotel. No generic buffet here but a basket of freshly baked cakes and pastries brought to your table, a jug of fresh orange juice, a little shot glass taster of the smoothie of the day, and fabulous eggs brought to you (amazing scrambled eggs and smoked salmon). Inside you can help yourself to champagne, fresh fruits and seeds (including goji berries!), cold meats etc Staff bend over backwards to welcome you and offer a completely personalised service. We even made friends with Matilda, the resident seagull!

Poolside staff bring over a smoothie every morning and fruit kebab in the afternoon. Cocktails are fabulous and the beach stunning. We did not sit on the beach but had several lunches in the many many restaurants dotted along the promenade and long walks along the seafront.

Honestly, I could not fault this place…and I will be coming back :-)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalie1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gonçalo N, Gerente geral at Bela Vista Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review.

We are delighted to know you had an amazing stay with us.
You are right, since the moment our guests cross the main gate, they check-in in the paradise!

Thank you for highlight our service and staff. I will pass the word to all of them.

The Bela Vista team is looking to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Gonçalo Narciso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    88
    35
    12
    6
See reviews for
67
416
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed for a week in late July/august. We had a very nice, deluxe room (205) with balcony and sea view. The welcome to the hotel was very good, the hotel arranged a transfer from faro which was also very good. The area that the hotel sits in is very very busy, this took us a bit by surprise. On Saturday night the area was very busy although the hotel itself and poolside bar is very relaxing. We had breakfast and evening meal both were excellent. My only gripe is about the hotel, is the cost of everything relative to the area that it sits. My view is that it's overpriced by about 1/3.

Room Tip: We had room 205 which was very good. Deluxe with balcony. This is the room used for the website pict...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hodg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gonçalo N, Gerente geral at Bela Vista Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing with the Tripadvisor community your recent stay at the Bela Vista.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed so much your stay with us. One of our main goals is to exceed our guests expectations and once again we did.

Regarding the prices, they are in line with our standards and services provided.

The Bela Vista team would like to welcome you again very soon.

Kind regards,

Gonçalo Narciso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Just stayed here the last 6 days having my honeymoon and it was superb!
The Hotel location is simply amazing right in front and above a cliff with a beautiful sea view.
One of the highlights of this boutique hotel is the quality of the staff - they are amazing. We tryed to have dinner once to celebrate the occasion and as it was a last minute booking, the restaurante were fully booked but the staff did everything possible to accommodate us and we had the best dinner ever. We also tryed the spa - high quality products. The same we had in the room. The rooms are very good and confortable with a beautiful sea view and terrace.
I strongly recommed this hotel.

Room Tip: Room in the new area with terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed for two nights and wished we had stayed longer! The hotel is located on the beach, however, we lay by the hotel pool on both days - with a full bar and restaurant service to enjoy. We ate dinner at Vista (the hotel restaurant) on both nights...we loved it that much! We stayed in a Character room in the main palace which was fantastic, with a sea view. The hotel is beautifully decorated, trendy, romantic and i would highly recommend it. Make sure you stay in a room with a sea view though!

Room Tip: Room 102 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shayna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gonçalo N, Gerente geral at Bela Vista Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your great review.

We are very happy that your enjoyed your stay with us and the overall services provided.

We all look forward to welcome you back very soon to propose you an even better experience.

Kind regards from the Bela Vista Team,

Gonçalo Narciso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The Bela Vista Hotel is beautiful - from the charming 19th century villa at its core to it's picture perfect postcard pool and manicured grounds. The lobby with it's amazing tiles is one-of-a kind, and the setting on a bluff overlooking the ocean is unbeatable.

We started out each day with an amazing breakfast overlooking the ocean and spent most of our time by the pool when we weren't exploring the surrounding areas. The staff was very helpful with restaurant and touring recommendations, and they couldn't have been nicer.

Everything within the gates of Bela Vista was excellence personified (with the notable exception of the gym which was a tiny room with a broken treadmill, one bike and a handful of free weights - not in keeping with the five star atmosphere throughout the hotel), but the issue with the location is the sea of high rise apartments and cheap souvenir atmosphere beyond the confines of the property. After the sophistication of Lisbon earlier in our trip, we were a bit disappointed by the VA Beach vibe of the area. Fortunately, the staff helped us discover some of the surrounding towns like Ferragudo and Alvor with more character and charm (and better dining options!). Bottom line - the hotel delivers, but it's surroundings leave much to be desired.

Room Tip: The hotel says they have a private beach area, which is a carve-out of one of the umbrella rental pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoboDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gonçalo N, Gerente geral at Bela Vista Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for share with the tripadvisor community your experience at the Bela Vista.

We are delighted to read you had a great time with us and liked the overall experience highlighting the grounds, the breakfast and specially the staff.

Regarding the Fitness Lounge, we would like to apologie as the running machine was broken during your stay due the chip missing coming from the supplier.

We thank you once again and the Bela Vista team is looking to welcome you very soon to provide you an even better experience.

Kind regards,

Gonçalo Narciso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 1 week July 11 2014. Very nice hotel service impecable. Hotel furnished delightfull. On arrival we were too early, howver they accomodated us with a refreshing drink and hastened with our rooms. Breakfas a lovely setting with wonderful helpful staff. Pool very nice, with a smoothie in the morning and fruit later in the aftrenoon. Town itself right outside gates, with beach on the other side, all in a few yards. We didnt dine at the restauarant on the last night due to my son-in-laws disaster at the Golf club in Alcantarilha Amendoeira Golf resort his watch was stolen from his golf bag! Anyone thinking of going to golf there, please makes sure you don`t take valuables. Would go again to the hotel.

Room Tip: There are two parts to this hotel, so look and see what is best for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veramaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gonçalo N, Gerente geral at Bela Vista Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for share your review about your stay with the Tripadvisor community.

We are delighted to know you had a great stay with us and enjoyed all the facilities we have available to our guests. Next time I am sure you will have the opportunity to try our gourmet restaurant.

We all look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Gonçalo Narciso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

If you're demanding (as we are) I guess it's hard for anything to be perfect, but, in fairness Bela Vista comes pretty close. A few small irritants but in the main a great hotel - its undoubted strength is the quality of the staff all of who work really hard to ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible and make a fantastic job of it. I guess the acid test is 'would you return' and in our case it's a 'yes' so I guess that says it all.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MTB99Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gonçalo N, Gerente geral at Bela Vista Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your great review.

I am happy to read you had a unforgettable experience with us and for the highlight of the Bela Vista staff. I am going to pass the word to all of them. We are very proud to know we are doing a great work providing a great service to our guests.

The Bela Vista team is looking forward to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regrards and thank you again,

Gonçalo Narciso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.1 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
983 reviews
20.6 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,039 reviews
8.8 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
980 reviews
8.8 mi away
Blue & Green Vilalara Thalassa Resort
0.5 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 75 in Portimao
2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bela Vista Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bela Vista Hotel & Spa

Property: Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#1 Luxury Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#1 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bela Vista Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Bela Vista has been completely renovated and it's now a 5 star Boutique Hotel with 38 rooms. The restaurant has a unique view and fantastic food! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Prestigia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bela Vista Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bela Vista - Hotel, Restaurant And Spa
Bela Vista - Hotel, Restaurant & Spa Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing