We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best accommodation in town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergaria Vila Lido
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Located in the first line of the shore, at the end of the beach, where all the cheapy tourist area ends, right before the fortress of Santa Catarina. The house is beautiful, great decor, absolutely clean and very relaxed atmosphere. Breakfast is great, fresh made fruit salad, pastry, ham, cheese, fresh made orange juice, coffee, tea... All served in the terrasse watching towards the sea. We frequently went for a swim before breakfast. The girls working in the house were more than welcoming.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 48 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2011

This beautiful old house is a great place to stay. One of the highlights is the staff and the personalized service. Of course, the location being right across from the beach is amazing too.

They served the best breakfast of our whole trip. Rooms have alot of character. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JeffandJane155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Vila Lido in Sept10. The hosts (Frank and Julia, and Carla) were very gracious and helpful, and the lodgings impeccable. Great location to boot. We arrived early and were kindly received and led into the dining room to wait for our room to be ready! The breakfasts on the terrace gave us a great start to each day.
We will definitely return to Vila Lido.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank newlyretired154913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

I recommend this place without hesitation. Great owners in Frank and Julia. They quickly become your friends by offering dining advice, day trips, etc. Every morning, regardless of time, Frank whips up an excellent, fulfilling breakfast to start your day. I was traveling with two other buddies, and the rates were extremely competitive. I hope to return to the Algarve someday and will be staying at the Hotel Vila Lido.

Also the location is perfect. If you want to relax, stay in the area by the hotel. It is somewhat secluded, but if you want to blow it open, a solid strip of beach and Irish bars are nearby.

Finally, the hotel is blessed by Karen Brown, the definitive source for hotels and B/Bs throughout Europe.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JM2117NW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

My husband and I had a huge double room (twin beds that made up to a king, sitting area, large wardrobe, plenty of space for luggage storage, TV, large bathroom) with a lovely terrace overlooking the beach, and our friend had an equally lovely single room (no terrace) with large windows overlooking the beach. The area is quite built up, with high-rise buildings, casinos, shops, etc., and we were worried that it would be noisy and congested. What a pleasant surprise! This small (10 rooms) inn is at the end of a one-way street, next to the historic fort, with an unobstructed view toward the ocean, beach, and boardwalk. Wonderful rates, spotlessly clean, gracious welcome, free Internet and parking, and a generous breakfast served on a terrace or in the sunny dining room. They even offer free beach towels! Frank and Julia are wonderfully helpful (our friend's suitcase broke and Frank found a strong strap to hold it together) about restaurants, attractions, and directions, and the warm welcome, coupled with the view, the spacious rooms, and the lovely breakfast, made this a real gem.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank StPaulMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2009

For a week of sunshine in October we chose Portugal, and this hotel on recommendation by Karen Brown travel books. It is situated right at the end of the Av Tomas Cabreira, next to the fort, which was an actual fort in the 1600's to protect the towns of Portimao and Silves, but of course today is a restaurant and viewing point for Praia da Rocha and the newly built marina.

A photograph in reception shows the building was there in 1944, so has obviously been well maintained over all these years and continues to be so by Frank and Julia who are readily available to answer any questions and offer any advice. We never saw Julia without her wonderful welcoming smile. Due to preservation orders the building cannot be changed, and it is fortunate that nothing can be built in front of them which means there are unspoilt views of the perfect sandy beach and sea. If you are looking for ultra, ultra modern and a swimming pool, this is not the place for you, but Vila Lido has a small, relatively secluded, excellently maintained garden with sunbeds and parasols for your relaxation.

Our room was on the first floor. It was quite large and also included a small table and chairs, a desk, a safe in the wardrobe, mini-bar / fridge, TV and quite a large bathroom. We also had a small terrace complete with table and chairs offering a perfect sea view. Breakfast, weather permitting, was served on a small terrace, again with a sea view. This comprised of a large compote of fresh fruit, all peeled and skinned, an assortment of breads and jams, ham and cheese, eggs cooked however you wished, and tea or coffee. It was served to you by Frank and Julia and their utterly charming staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

Car parking at the back of the hotel was a little restricted, but there appeared to be ample street parking. However in high season this might present a problem. However we would not hesitate in recommending this small hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jenik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Si puedes elegir vistas al mar, perfecto.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Praia da Rocha hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,073 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
661 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Oriental
Hotel Oriental
#4 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
579 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Catarina
Santa Catarina
#9 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
225 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergaria Vila Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergaria Vila Lido

Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Praia da Rocha
Price Range: £81 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergaria Vila Lido 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Albergaria Vila Lido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Vila Lido Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing