We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine, a truly spiritual experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergaria Vila Lido
Certificate of Excellence
Faro, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Divine, a truly spiritual experience.”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I worked at the highest level in the travel industry all my life. I had one of the biggest business travel agencies in the UK and was one of the top 10 travel agents for Leading Hotels of the World-an association of all the top six star truly deluxe hotels. I was fortunate to be invited to stay as a guest, often in the top presidential suite with champagne, chocolates, flowers and meals in Michelin starred restaurants, of many of them. I have to say that none of them made me feel as welcome, at home and cared for as Villa Lido . Julia and Francisco simply couldn't do enough to help us, for example Francisco recommended restaurants to us each evening and then drove us to them and collected us. We have adopted them into our circle of very special friends and look forward very much to them coming over to see us as we are only 30 minutes away and to future stays there. You are taking a lot of room in our hearts, God bless you both.

Room Tip: I am badly disabled with multiple sclerosis and so we had a basic double room on the ground floor bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    11
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
57
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Beautiful guest house overlooking the sea. Excellent rooms, breakfast, and Francisco our host was what put this place over the top. We arrived by bus and called the guest house, and within minutes Francisco was there to pick us up and bring us to the guesthouse. We were fortunate to be able to choose the room we wished. Any questions and advice on restaurants and activities were met with great enthusiasm. We really enjoyed our 5 nights and hope to return again.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room in this guest house. The room with the balcony is perfect to enjoy the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiseleS58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Julia and Francisco, who run the albergaria, are lovely people who really want to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The venue albergaria helps. The atmosphere is from long time gone with a romantic interior and authentic rooms and beds which keep you sleeping. We visited the Albergaria more times now and we noticed that other couples ( with or without children ) are doing the same. We were there last time in december 2013 ( with Xmas ) and the people staying there were old guests who returned. The Albergaria is literally 1 minute walk from the beach. The albergaria building was the first hotel building on Praia the Rocha before big hotels were built long time afterwards. If you like a small hotel where you are not a number but a guest, where the operational staff treats you like a friend, where you get a feeling (if you imagine the other hotels around are not there) that you live like Taylor & Burton in the 70s, where you pay very normal tariff for extra value... than you are at the right place. We love it. We will come back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arthur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Just a first rate place in all ways-no need to say anything more as the other reviewers have hit all the points. Only recommendation wouldbe our suggestion that you get a terrace room if available. We found the terrace to be well worth the extra cost.

Room Tip: get a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

it's easy to love the place and the location of Vila lido. In our case it wasn't so easy because of a mistake done in our booking. We got to Vila lido after a day in roads and our reservation doesn't exist in the hotel computer. Julia who runs the place gave us the most incredible feeling and let us feel at home. She offered drinks and sent us to the most wonderful balcony of the Vila with the sea view at sunset and took care of the situation bravely.
After 20 minutes we had a nice room with a beach front balcony- great.
Julia is a walking angel who lets you feel unique an spoils you all day long- just to keep you smiling.
P.s.
The breakfast is great and again, served with a big smile.
If you want to have your quit in the heart of Praia da Rocha, Vila lido is defenatly the best place

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nir Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

As with the other comments, this is a gem of a place to stay. We booked last minute traveling from Lagos in July but it was no problem & luckily managed a 5 night stay.

Julia and Francisco are most welcoming and the feeling was more personal than a larger hotel could ever be. The location was excellent, out of the main streets and only 5mins walk to restaurant & beach. The hotel was very clean, gardens immaculate & room fantastic.

I will definitely recommend to family & friends!

obrigado
tak
thank you

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnysideup179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My family and I recently stayed here in The Vila Lido for 10 days. What can we say about it? It is superb in just about every detail. The staff Julia and Francisco just couldn't be more helpful and welcoming. We had a garden suite with our own private veranda right outside the door. Access to the beach and the harbour was just through the gate 10 steps away.

The accommodation was simple but spotlessly clean and understated.Beach towels and bed linen were changed every day. Restaurants and bar's were just a stones trow away. Julia could not do enough for us. Even supplying us with Irish breakfast. Our food was served each morning all fresco overlooking the sea and the harbour. Julia is no ordinary person. She is a dynamo who just cant do enough to make you feel welcome. I hope the owners of this great gem appreciate her as she seems to work all hours and nothing is any trouble. Francisco is also very helpful with suggestions on what to see and do. The atmosphere here is so warm relaxed and inviting you felt completely at home and in relaxed mode from the start. We could not recommend Vila Lido more highly. Only down side for us was not a having a door between the parents room and the kids room!

Room Tip: Don't be put off by not having a view of the sea as you are just across the road from it. What t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robinodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.1 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
982 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
608 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Algarve Casino
Hotel Algarve Casino
#16 of 76 in Portimao
863 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oriental
Hotel Oriental
#4 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
542 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergaria Vila Lido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergaria Vila Lido

Property: Albergaria Vila Lido
Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergaria Vila Lido 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Albergaria Vila Lido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergaria Vila Lido Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing