We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Flor da Rocha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Flor da Rocha
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Cinderford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“ok”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This hotel was nicely located ....... only about a 10 min walk from the beach. I have nothing really bad to say about this hotel, it was as expected, the room was nice and spacious, except for the day we left there was no-one in reception (although it was meant to be a 24hr reception) to take our safe or room key off us and our transfer taxi arrived and we could not get our deposit back for the safe. We had waited and called "hello" for around 15 min before our taxi arrived and still no-one came.
I have never been to Portugal before and the resort of Praia Da Rocha was lovely, beach was lovely and I would definately go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 40RachelN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luis F, Manager at Flor da Rocha, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy knowing that you loved your stay here in Flor da Rocha. We work every day to go to our guests expectations.

Your remarks about the the abcense of the Receptionist were worth of our best attention and we would like to thank you for taking the time to bring this to our consideration.

We look forward to welcome you to our Hotel in the near future.

Best Regards

Luis Ferreira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    107
    63
    24
    18
See reviews for
108
70
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlow, Carlow, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Clean hotel, clean pool. Apartments were cleaned everyday and towels were changed everyday.
Bed wasn't very comfortable but its only a three star hotel so you get what you pay for. Ladies at the reception were very nice and helpful. Its about 8 to 10 min walk to the beach and all the shops. The only thing that was annoying was the noise at night. You can hear everbody running up and down and moving stuff in their apartments. No wifi. Sea gulls wont let you sleep from around 7 in the morning very loud. No air conditions. The rooms are hot at night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PattyCorcoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed for 8 nights at the end of July clean apartments, nice pool but I would not stay there again the noise level was unbearable this was a family holiday with 2 kids age 9&5 we had to change rooms as we had got no sleep the 1st nite and it was a bad start to our holiday we were moved from the 2nd floor to the 5th when I went down to reception the following morning to complain the young lady on was so rude and not helpful and didn't even apologise a lot of teenagers on a booze holiday noise in the corridors every hour of the night and early hrs of the morning I would not recommend this place to families no wifi or no air con

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Praia da Rocha hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The walls are not sound proof so you can hear people passing in the corrideas. The apartment is ok a bit on the small side. The rooms get hot at night as there is no air conditioning No wfi but the hotel says the have it on their wall but its broken. The staff are nice and friendly . There are lots of sea gulls that are very annoying as they were nesting on the empty apartments across the way. It's really clean

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Popcorn12345678900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Stayed for a week in June, nice clean apt, sercvced each day new towels etc, housekeeping and reception staff more than obliging, reception confirmed our transfers for us. Nice pool area-not huge but does the job. Bar and snack area handy-no bar atmosphere in evening however-more a family setting with games room etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cosg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

third time we stayed in praia da rocha first time at these apts.
apts of a very good standard clean and well maintained.
very well equipped friendly staff nice pool area. as i said really dont know
why people moan for the price they pay if you want 5 star then by all means
pay the 5 star prices! beautiful beach and resort and quite reasonable to eat out.
if at anytime you just fancy fish'n'chips then a visit to FAGINS is a must.also just around
corner from fagins is a lovely little resturant(cant rember name)but owner is married to an
english lady 4 of us had a very nice roast lamb dinner and a drink for around 45 euros.
all the irish bars is where the best entertainment is at especialy DALY'S bar owners nice people.
but back to apts on a few occasions we asked staff to ring for taxis and they did so without charge also confirmed our return transfers without charge. would recomend thes apts to anyone.

also thanks to travel republic for another hassle free holiday have used them now a few times
and will continue to do so in future. derryboy.

.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank derryboy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walsa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

having stayed in Praia da Rocha earlier in the year at Castelos da Rocha but couldn't get a reply from the Manager, we booked to stay at Flor da Rocha. It was ok, but very noisy. As it was late September, it was quieter our second week, but dread to think what it would be like in July and August. As we are a mature couple with health problems, we requested a room not higher than 2nd or 3rd floor, and on our arrival were allocated a room on the 7th floor! The hotel is very clean although basis but what do you expect for 3 star? The reception staff were helpful, but Diago, the pool bar staff (if I've spelled his name right) was downright ignorant and rude. He made it very clear he didn't want to serve anybody and was nothing short of hostile and several people were complaining about his attitude. Because of this we would not use the pool bar and went elsewhere, something the Management could learn from if they want to maximise trade. One evening sitting on a plastic balcony chair, the chair collapsed underneath my husband and the splintered plastic cut his arm. The cleaning maid promptly changed the sheets the next day as they were spattered with blood and also replaced the chair, but said it was not necessary to report the incident to reception. Apparantly, it was explained that the sun makes the plastic chairs brittle. Fine, so why aren't they replaced regularly? My husband could have ended up with a broken back. All in all, you get what you pay for and we won't be going back, although we love Praia Da Rocha, we will stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: don't choose a room over the pool bar,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bettyboopWalsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Praia da Rocha hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
902 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
320 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clube Praia da Rocha
Clube Praia da Rocha
#18 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
474 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flor da Rocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flor da Rocha

Property: Flor da Rocha
Address: Rua das Conchas, Sitio dos Castelos, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Flor da Rocha 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 600 metres from the Praia da Rocha beach, the Flor da Rocha offers spacious apartments with kitchens and balconies.The Flor Da Rocha Apartments are situated 3 km from Portimão’s city centre. There are many restaurants, minimarkets and shops within a 5-minute walk from the property.Located 600 metres from the Praia da Rocha beach, the Flor da Rocha offers spacious apartments with kitchens and balconies.The Flor Da Rocha Apartments are situated 3 km from Portimão’s city centre. There are many restaurants, minimarkets and shops within a 5-minute walk from the property.The apartments have private bathrooms, satellite TVs and safes. There is a 24-hour reception.Guests can enjoy the outdoor swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the tennis courts. Children will enjoy the children’s pool and the ice creams aLocated 600 metres from the Praia da Rocha beach, the Flor da Rocha offers spacious apartments with kitchens and balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flor da Rocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Flor Da Rocha
Flor Da Rocha Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing