We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and Sun on our holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Turisticos
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We had a wonderful holiday in Portugal in Praia da Rocha (our first time and definitely not our last....) in July just gone. The self-catering apartments were just what we wanted... clean, spacious and just a short distance from the beach. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. Our kids, ages 10 and nearly 8 loved the swimming pools and they were not overcrowded which was even better.
The resort of Praia da Rocha is all about the beach during the day and then all the bars and restaurants come alive with the hustle and bustle in the evening. We happened upon some go-karting just up from the beach and the kids loved that. Other than that we visited the two waterparks Zoomarine and Slide and Splash which we a huge hit also.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eve031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

207 - 213 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2010

Upon arrival after midnight we were greeted by a friendly member of staff. The corridors were dimly lit but this is due to energy saving and light switches are along the corridor. The room was bigger than we expected. We had a kitchenette with plenty utensils, a large dining table, sofa bed, large fridge and best of all a balcony. The room was spotless. My only concern was that the safe wasn't working-we asked at reception for this to be rectified and it wasn't (my only complaint.) However, we kept our passports safely. The bathroom was meticilous also! The apartment was cleaned every day! The pool was of good size and there were plenty sunloungers available! I was more than satisfied with these apartments! If you intend on spending the main duration of your sunholiday indoors choose a more luxurious apartment! For me, the price was right, the location was excellent and the place was spotless! I would recommend this to any age group.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marann26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2007

We have just returned from this hotel and I must say initially I thought it was going to be a holiday from hell, having read the latest reviews before departure.
On arrival our room was facing the dreaded building work opposite and as stated the work does start early as 7am but only noise was tapping and the occasional grinder. I complained to reception and was subsequently moved to a much better room on the other side of the building facing the pool and was very pleased with this.
I know kettles are not provided but a simple tip is to use the saucepan that is provided which resembles a teapot anyway and boiling water in this was more than adeqaute.
The games room could do with an upgrade and a lick of paint but we only used it for playing some pool etcetara so did not spoil my holiday at all as there much to do in the surrounding area. The staff were all great and very pleasant and had no problems whatsoever as has been stated in previous reviews (so has there been some staff changes??). The pool was clean and tidy and maintained well as was the kiddies pool and inflatable beds,rings and toys were provided. The entertainment was not that good (even though the Karaoke was fun!!) but again the surrounding area had much to offer. I cannot comment on the kids room and entertainer as my daughter is 14 and did not use it , but it was open and seemed okay.
I also found that the corridors were well lit so whether this has also been improved since last reviews I am not sure.
Overall I would recommend this hotel for a cheap break but if you are put in a room facing the site , have a complaint entered into the book and get a room change.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank briffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2007

Large building site about 40M away. Very noisy, not for sleeping on. Pool very small and overcrowded and book your beds early as there is not enough of them. Apartments OK but esential items taken out (kettle, toaster etc.) and avaliable for hire @ €10 per item per week. Rip Off. Bar closes early no entertainment worth talking about. Games room need some games. Pool tables but no cues. Drab interior. Cheap but not cheerful. Keep away until building work is finished.
PS. Last photo on web is not this hotel.

Stayed: August 2007
Thank MOONB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2007

just returned from this apartment complex.most of the staff were fairly unfriendly except for the two ladies at the pool bar. I was half afraid to ask for something most of the time.Balcony looked on to a building site with jack hammers going at eight in the morning till seven or eight in the evening

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jon111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2007

We visited this hotel in August 2007. We thought the hotel was good for a base. We had our breakfast and lunch in appartment and had dinner out every night. It is in a great location. I felt the kids club could have been better. The appartment was clean and spacious. I thought they could have put on more entertainment at night. Overall i would recommend these apartments. The location is excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank donal5132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2006

Went with group of friends late September 2006. After reading reviews, I was very anxious that it was going to be awful but we were all very pleased with it. On arrival, we were allocated with 3 two bedroom apartments, rather than the two we ordered/paid for, but we were not about to complain about that-especially the bargain price we paid for the rooms. The apartments were very spacious and clean, kitchenette basic, but we weren't concerned as we ate out most of the time. Sheets and towels changed regularly.
I agree with other reviews that the staff weren't particularly friendly, it depended who was on reception at the time.
The pool area was clean and pleasant (with highly uncomfortable sun loungers-no padding!) I imagine it would be packed at height of season-but as the beach is so beautiful and only about a five minute walk, it wouldn't matter.
I would recommend it to people who wanted clean and spacious accommodation who don't mind that the staff are hardly gushing towards the residents.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.5 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,050 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,068 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Mirachoro II
0.9 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#6 of 75 in Portimao
2,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Turisticos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Turisticos

Address: Rua das Conchas, Sitio dos Castelos, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range: £40 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Turisticos 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently entirely renovated and located 600 metres from the Praia da Rocha beach, the Flor da Rocha offers spacious apartments with kitchens and balconies. Flor da Rocha Apartments are situated 3 km from Portimão’s city centre. There are many restaurants, minimarkets and shops within a 5-minute walk from the property. Flor da Rocha offers spacious apartments with kitchens and balconies, Led TV and Wi-Fi network both in rooms and common areas. The apartments have private bathrooms and safes. There is a 24-hour reception. Guests can enjoy the outdoor swimming pool or play a game of tennis on the tennis courts. Children will enjoy the children’s pool and the ice creams and snacks at the pool bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Turisticos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Flor Da Rocha
Flor Da Rocha - Apartamentos Turisticos Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing