We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Terracos do Vau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Terracos do Vau
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2008

Me and my family stayed at the Terracos do Vau for 1 week from 28 August to 4 September 2008. We had an absolutely brilliant holiday and I would definately recommend these apartments to families with young children.

We had booked a 2 bedroom apartment and were allocated room number 005 on the ground floor, in the main building. The apartment was very clean and spacious and well fitted out. We also had a washing machine - which we didn't use. The room did not have a microwave but I do not go on holiday to cook - I do that all year round!

Although I did not have any complaints about our apartment, it does become evident went talking to other guests that the apartments do vary in standard.

You may not be aware from the brochure picture that there are actually 2 blocks of apartments at Terracos do Vau. The apartments in the main building (where we were) seem to be of a higher standard. There is another block of apartments adjacent to the main building which are also part of the complex and the facilities in that block do not appear to be as high as those in the main block.

The bar staff were very helpful and friendly, and Pedro in reception was excellent.

My 2 kids loved the Kidzone Kids Club and thought Edmund and Captain Noodles were brilliant.

Tony the Thomsons rep was great and joined in games with the kids too.

We went into Praia da Rocha and Alvor on an evening as well as staying local. It was 5 euro and 10 cents to both destinations from the apartments. The taxis came almost straight away and cost 50 cents for reception to ring. We dined at the Albar restaurant in Alvor and found it to be excellent.

We also went to Don Corleone at Portas da Rocha, which was really nice too.

We tried Jackaranda and Il Timone and loved the meals we had in these restaurants. In fact all the meals we had on holiday were delicious and good value for money.

I would advise that it is very quiet in Praia do Vau - there are no bars and there are a handful of restaurants. This was fine for me as my kids are 10 and 8 and all we want on an evening is a meal and a few quiet drinks.

I wouldn't recommend Praia do Vau for teenagers as there isn't much to do, however you are near enought to Alvor and Praia da Rocha if you want to venture a bit further.

With regards to cash machines and exchange facilities. You can exchange travellers cheques at the Terracos do Vau reception. However, if you bring Euro cheques you will be charged more commission. There is 1 ATM in Praia do Vau at the Jardim do Vau apartments.

You can also hire a safety deposit box at the reception which is 35 euro per week (of which 20 euro is refundable)

If you are travelling with young children, I would bring stuff like calpol etc with you as there is no chemist in Praia do Vau - the nearest pharmacy is in Alvor or Praia da Rocha.

I would like to say that we all loved our stay at these apartments and would definately return again. Also, Zoomarine is a must for the kids - a great day out.

  • Liked — everything was great
  • Disliked — one minor complaint - people getting up to put towels down on the sunbeds at the crack of dawn and then not appearing until the afternoon to use them!!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank footiefan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    13
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
devon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2008

we stayed athe terraocs do vau the beginning of July, we wanted a small and friendly establishment and that was exactly what we got. The rooms were spacious and clean. My two children certainly enjoyed the kids club, the two girls who run it certainly worked hard and the kids loved captain noodles and ashleigh. If you have kids make sure you go to zoo marine and slide and splash. It is probably better to book with the tour operators than making your own way there as some people done this when we were there they saved 2 eiros but had all the inconvenience of having to get there. I hope you have a great time and enjoy yourselves as much as we did. Happy holidays

  • Liked — small and friendly
  • Disliked — we got exactly what we wanted so therefore eveything was fine
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank penbertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2008

We stayed during late June 2008 and were actually quite impressed given how much we spent on the trip.

I've written a longer review here: http://tinyurl.com/62traw

The apartments were clean and airy and the kitchen even had a dishwasher. The bar was reasonably quiet and served food and drink pretty much whenever we needed it.

Most guests appeared to be young families but as a young(ish) couple without children we weren't bothered by this at all.

We'd visit again but we're more likely to want to see other parts of the world in the future.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank jgreen78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2008

Stayed at Terracos last week in June with my wife and two kids (13,10) for a week. The actual resort appartments are in two blocks at the top of the drive, our appartment was actually to the left at the top of the drive before reception etc. We were told Terracos owns half of the appartments in this block, the others being holiday lets etc. Appartment was clean and spacious and we had no problem with towels being changed etc.
There are two swimming pools, one is really quite small and for young children. Had no problem getting loungers whatever time of day we went to the pool. The bar is quite small, with most of the eating and drinking areas being outside, entertainment at Terracos consisted of a couple of Karaokes and a quiz/bingo night all which were fun and good natured. The bar/waiting staff during the day and at night could not be more good natured or helpful, nothing was too much trouble.The reception staff were equally as good - letting us borrow an iron as our travel iron was playing up!
While we were at Terracos there was a good mix of Scottish,English and Welsh families, there were also some Portugese families there as well - there was even a family from Canada! Most families had kids or grandkids from ten downwards, with only a few teenagers - there's not much for teenagers apart from the pool and the pc in the bar (one euro for ten minutes). All families nice and respectable - no swearing or getting drunk and letting the kids run riot!
The location of Terrcos is ideal, go down the long drive and turn right and there are a couple of small shops and a mini- supermarket. Turn left and go under the flyover and your at the beach! Beautiful clean beach ideal for children. There are three cafes right on the beach and across the road there are four restaurants open all day and at night. Everyone totally laid back, plently locals on the beach so no Brits abroad feel to the place.
Jacarandas,Il Timones and Paraiso do Vau were all good for eating at at night or during the day.
Further along the coast from Vau is Rocha which has a huge beach and a busy strip at night with loads of tourist shops and bars and restaurants. A taxi here is only three euros, or a fifteen minute walk, we ate at Hollywood and would recommend it. We also went to Portimao for a day, nice squares and harbour,loads of expensive shops! Nice cafes by the harbour for some food. A taxi here was five euros.
If your staying for a fortnight or want to get a few bits and pieces get reception to phone a taxi for the Continente, which is a five euro taxi away, it is a lot cheaper for all your food etc than the local shops. There is also a Lidl and macdonalds just across the road from Continente.
Another tip, there is only one cash machine in Vau at the hotel Jardim do Vau which is on the same side of the road as the four restaurants across from the beach (to the left as you stand in front of them). Open the yellow gate and turn right ,go through the courtyard and in the main downstairs entrance there is a cash machine.

All in all we had a fantastic time in Terracos and the Algarve and will return to both, and would recommend both everyone!

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RICHIEMACD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2008

I can't believe the most recent reviews are so negative! We visited in May half term for a week with our two kids age 6 and 11. The weather wasn't the best, but we were always out... Praia do Vau is between Alvor (we walked there several times..it takes about 1 1/2 hours with kids!) and Praia da Rocha. We loved walking along the beach to Praia da Rocha (bit brash for us, but super sandy beach). The beaches were great. Big sandy cliffs, and lots of caves. The sea was warmer than the pool. The kids loved the waves!
We loved our apartment, and couldn't believe how big it was.. we didn't have a dishwasher but who cares? Do people really expect them in a one bed apartment? We found the staff so helpful and very friendly. The room was always clean, and towels and beds changed regularly. The bar is small and cosy, and there was fun entertainment for the family. The pool is fine, big enough for the number of apartments. There is a small pool too. Our daughter loved the kids club. We chose the apartments because they could go to the club if they wanted... our son never went, but we couldn't drag her away! We would definitely come back again (hopefully to better weather!) We had planned to eat in more, but didn't bother. We didn't find it as expensive as eating out at home, but we did spend alot more than we do camping in France! The best restaurants are in Alvor... fresh fish cooked on barbeques outside the restaurants. Even the kids loved it!
What else can I say? We enjoyed it, and think the apartments are great for a family holiday. Maybe we don't have as high expectations as other people, but we certainly feel we had great value for money (especially compared to other apartments we have stayed in which were half the size!) If it wasn't for the weather I'd have given it an excellent rating!

  • Liked — Size of apartment, and location
  • Disliked — hot water ran out quickly in shower
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnyme64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2008

just got back from a 10 night stay at these apartments. think the biggest down fall from our stay was the weather which meant us staying in and around the apartments for most of our stay which wasnt good. the apartments were clean inside, from the outside the building could do with a lick of paint. they look like they are in the middle of knowere but this isnt really the case there is a small supermarket at the end of the drive go here for all your bits as the bar is very expensive for everything. the beach is a five minute walk, praia da rocha is a 15 min walk along the beach which is a nice walk, and alvor is a lovely fishing village with lovely restaurants is about a 5 min taxi ride costing around 5 euro. the apartments were very basic bit clean the maid came daily but only changed the bedding once a week. you can hear every noise made from the other apartments thru the very thin walls, ceilings and floors which is very annoying especially very early in the morning. the birds in the morning are also a nusance they are the loudest birds i have ever heard and they go on all day! the pool area was small but nice. there was nothing to do for our 2 year old the play area ia an absolute dirty waste of space. they could do with putting in a play area for the smaller kids, the only thing she could use was the baby pool and the weather wasnt that good she only went in there a couple of times. i would only reccomend these apartments for couples wanting a relaxing break.

  • Liked — closeness but not to close to resorts
  • Disliked — apartments
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiverpoolThejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2008

Having read the reviews for Terracos do Vau we expected it to have been better than it was.
First impressions of the hotel albeit in a 'very' quiet location looked nicely kept, clean and very quiet.
The one bedroom hotel room was spacious and clean but not very well equiped.
We where woken daily anything from 4.30am from the not so tuneful cockerals in the field opposite our room.
The walls/ceilings are so thin you can hear everything, from the other families around you. Chairs being pushed and pulled, footsteps, talking, children shouting, screaming and crying. I don't think that it was other people being intentionally noisy it was simply that the walls are so thin it was very loud.
The maid service was appalling, they did make the beds 5 out of 7 mornings and emptied the bin but they only cleaned the floor and replaced the towels(the bedding was not changed at all) on the second to last day. We ran out of hot water every day, we had to time a quick 2 minute shower each or the last person in would have to have a cold shower. The pool was very small as was the area around it. Fernando and Pedro where lovely, they where very friendly and the service in the bar was very good. The food was lovely and reasonable. The bar itself was very small it could not accommodate more than 25 people and that would be squashed.
The childrens club was awful, our children only visited it once they were 'bored'. On one particular evening the club reps attempted a mini disco and had to remove 2 of the 7 tables from the bar to make room for the children to dance, it was a disaster.
Quite a lot or portugese people live at the hotel.
I would not rate this hotel as a 3*, it is most definately a very basic 2*.
Although the hotel looks like it is in remote surroundings their is a small minimarket at the bottom of the hill (approx 100m). Vau beach is a 5 minute walk under the flyover bridge. The beach is beautifully clean and stunning. Near the beach their are 4 restaurant/bars. We visited Jacarandas as we had read such raving reviews about it. We thought it was very poor, the service was not good at all, the staff where not very friendly, one of the childrens meals was wrong and part of another meal did not arrive. The staff bickered amongst themselves in earshot of the diners which was very unprofessional and quite alarming, we witnessed people walking out in disgust.
The romanian restaurant next to Jacarandas was nice but Il Timone pizzeria next door was absolutely gorgous. The service was great, the staff where very friendly and the food was absolutely superb, it was by far the nicest meal we ate during the holiday.
We walked along the beach to Praia de Rocha which was lovely, the coves and caves where a great hit with the children. Praia de Rocha itself was very disappointing and a lot smaller than we expected.
Alvor was a lovely little town with cobbled streets full of small shops, bars and restaurants. The marina was beautiful.
We where disappointed with the holiday, we don't feel that Praia do vau, Praia de Rocha and Alvor cater for children at all really.
I would only recommend the hotel to people with very small children who did not require or want any entertainment. Or for couples who are quite happy to eat out and then sit at the bar.

  • Liked — -
  • Disliked — NOISE,cleanliness and lack of activities
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jojo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Praia da Rocha hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jardim do Vau
Jardim do Vau
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.7 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#5 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terracos do Vau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terracos do Vau

Property: Terracos do Vau
Address: Praia do Vau, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-777, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Terracos do Vau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terracos Do Vau Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Terracos Do Vau Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing