We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved the area as just like a village.”
Review of Terracos do Vau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Terracos do Vau
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
hertfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“loved the area as just like a village.”
Reviewed 19 October 2008

My friend and I have just returned from our stay at these apts
and they were the most spacious we have ever stayed in.
Very clean and comfortabe with 2 armchairs and a large sofa
that could be converted to a double bed + 2 singles in bedroom.
Kitchen well equiped with cooker,large fridge freezer,washing machine and all pots,pans and cutlery you could possibly need.
We had a very restfull time here and would go back again.
As for eating out we went to Jacaranda every night and most
lunch times,the food was exceptional !
When you walk under the bridge on way to beach please get ready to hold your nose as smell at times not very pleasant,
other than that this is a lovely area.
Take the walk up hill to Praia da Rocha where the beach is much larger and you'll find lots more shops,pubs &
restuarants or there's Alvor with its white houses and small
alleyways with shops etc and a lovely white and yellow church
plus the quay side with it's cafe/restaurants and lots of boat trips
some of which will take you to see Dolphins.
All this plus the fab weather we had made this holiday one to remember.

  • Liked — in a quiet area and 6/10 mins walk to beach
  • Disliked — People living above walking with heels on between 7.15/8a.m ,woke us every morning.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank blondie060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    13
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2008

Just returned from a fabulous holiday. The weather was scorching (in 90s on 2 days). The hotel staff were all very friendly. The bar drinks and food were reasonably priced although there were many bars locally who did a pint of beer for 1 EURO. It is very easy to find a decent three course meal with wine for 15 EURO a head.

Would definitely recommend an evening trip into Alvor for an authentic Portugese meal. They BBQ fresh fish in front of you whilst a musician plays on the harbour.

Praia da rocha is much much busier than Praia do vau - we tended to walk there most nights (20mins max) as there was lots to see and do.

In short, the holiday was as quiet or as lively as you want. The beach was great, the locals friendly.

The apartment's bed was v uncomfortable and certain parts a little dated. However, these criticisms were minor and did not detract from an otherwise great week!

  • Liked — Great value
  • Disliked — The bed!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MissXUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2008

hi just a quick message to anyone going on holiday to this place its bad the bar was called the postage stamp as it was that small the place was dirty the pool is small and i had the worst holiday that i have ever had and i have 2 holidays a year and have travelled a bit if you have children these nothing there for them to do if you are thinking of going there please save your money and book some where eles oh and by the way dont book with thomson as they are no help to you at all i will never book with thomson every again . my room had the smallest balcony which you can only get a patio chair on side was the plugs were hanging of the wall and the light bulbs were hanging by wires not safe at all in the picture you can see a hole in the wall to let you in to the complex well its bricked up so you have to walk around to get in to the place anyway thats all i have to say about that trip i wont call ot a holiday as it wasnt be carefull if you go there .someone from wales ohand by the way thankyou for nothing thomson for no help what so ever

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — all of it
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalesHoskings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2008

Me and my family stayed at the Terracos do Vau for 1 week from 28 August to 4 September 2008. We had an absolutely brilliant holiday and I would definately recommend these apartments to families with young children.

We had booked a 2 bedroom apartment and were allocated room number 005 on the ground floor, in the main building. The apartment was very clean and spacious and well fitted out. We also had a washing machine - which we didn't use. The room did not have a microwave but I do not go on holiday to cook - I do that all year round!

Although I did not have any complaints about our apartment, it does become evident went talking to other guests that the apartments do vary in standard.

You may not be aware from the brochure picture that there are actually 2 blocks of apartments at Terracos do Vau. The apartments in the main building (where we were) seem to be of a higher standard. There is another block of apartments adjacent to the main building which are also part of the complex and the facilities in that block do not appear to be as high as those in the main block.

The bar staff were very helpful and friendly, and Pedro in reception was excellent.

My 2 kids loved the Kidzone Kids Club and thought Edmund and Captain Noodles were brilliant.

Tony the Thomsons rep was great and joined in games with the kids too.

We went into Praia da Rocha and Alvor on an evening as well as staying local. It was 5 euro and 10 cents to both destinations from the apartments. The taxis came almost straight away and cost 50 cents for reception to ring. We dined at the Albar restaurant in Alvor and found it to be excellent.

We also went to Don Corleone at Portas da Rocha, which was really nice too.

We tried Jackaranda and Il Timone and loved the meals we had in these restaurants. In fact all the meals we had on holiday were delicious and good value for money.

I would advise that it is very quiet in Praia do Vau - there are no bars and there are a handful of restaurants. This was fine for me as my kids are 10 and 8 and all we want on an evening is a meal and a few quiet drinks.

I wouldn't recommend Praia do Vau for teenagers as there isn't much to do, however you are near enought to Alvor and Praia da Rocha if you want to venture a bit further.

With regards to cash machines and exchange facilities. You can exchange travellers cheques at the Terracos do Vau reception. However, if you bring Euro cheques you will be charged more commission. There is 1 ATM in Praia do Vau at the Jardim do Vau apartments.

You can also hire a safety deposit box at the reception which is 35 euro per week (of which 20 euro is refundable)

If you are travelling with young children, I would bring stuff like calpol etc with you as there is no chemist in Praia do Vau - the nearest pharmacy is in Alvor or Praia da Rocha.

I would like to say that we all loved our stay at these apartments and would definately return again. Also, Zoomarine is a must for the kids - a great day out.

  • Liked — everything was great
  • Disliked — one minor complaint - people getting up to put towels down on the sunbeds at the crack of dawn and then not appearing until the afternoon to use them!!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank footiefan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2008

we stayed athe terraocs do vau the beginning of July, we wanted a small and friendly establishment and that was exactly what we got. The rooms were spacious and clean. My two children certainly enjoyed the kids club, the two girls who run it certainly worked hard and the kids loved captain noodles and ashleigh. If you have kids make sure you go to zoo marine and slide and splash. It is probably better to book with the tour operators than making your own way there as some people done this when we were there they saved 2 eiros but had all the inconvenience of having to get there. I hope you have a great time and enjoy yourselves as much as we did. Happy holidays

  • Liked — small and friendly
  • Disliked — we got exactly what we wanted so therefore eveything was fine
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank penbertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2008

We stayed during late June 2008 and were actually quite impressed given how much we spent on the trip.

I've written a longer review here: http://tinyurl.com/62traw

The apartments were clean and airy and the kitchen even had a dishwasher. The bar was reasonably quiet and served food and drink pretty much whenever we needed it.

Most guests appeared to be young families but as a young(ish) couple without children we weren't bothered by this at all.

We'd visit again but we're more likely to want to see other parts of the world in the future.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank jgreen78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCOTLAND
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2008

Stayed at Terracos last week in June with my wife and two kids (13,10) for a week. The actual resort appartments are in two blocks at the top of the drive, our appartment was actually to the left at the top of the drive before reception etc. We were told Terracos owns half of the appartments in this block, the others being holiday lets etc. Appartment was clean and spacious and we had no problem with towels being changed etc.
There are two swimming pools, one is really quite small and for young children. Had no problem getting loungers whatever time of day we went to the pool. The bar is quite small, with most of the eating and drinking areas being outside, entertainment at Terracos consisted of a couple of Karaokes and a quiz/bingo night all which were fun and good natured. The bar/waiting staff during the day and at night could not be more good natured or helpful, nothing was too much trouble.The reception staff were equally as good - letting us borrow an iron as our travel iron was playing up!
While we were at Terracos there was a good mix of Scottish,English and Welsh families, there were also some Portugese families there as well - there was even a family from Canada! Most families had kids or grandkids from ten downwards, with only a few teenagers - there's not much for teenagers apart from the pool and the pc in the bar (one euro for ten minutes). All families nice and respectable - no swearing or getting drunk and letting the kids run riot!
The location of Terrcos is ideal, go down the long drive and turn right and there are a couple of small shops and a mini- supermarket. Turn left and go under the flyover and your at the beach! Beautiful clean beach ideal for children. There are three cafes right on the beach and across the road there are four restaurants open all day and at night. Everyone totally laid back, plently locals on the beach so no Brits abroad feel to the place.
Jacarandas,Il Timones and Paraiso do Vau were all good for eating at at night or during the day.
Further along the coast from Vau is Rocha which has a huge beach and a busy strip at night with loads of tourist shops and bars and restaurants. A taxi here is only three euros, or a fifteen minute walk, we ate at Hollywood and would recommend it. We also went to Portimao for a day, nice squares and harbour,loads of expensive shops! Nice cafes by the harbour for some food. A taxi here was five euros.
If your staying for a fortnight or want to get a few bits and pieces get reception to phone a taxi for the Continente, which is a five euro taxi away, it is a lot cheaper for all your food etc than the local shops. There is also a Lidl and macdonalds just across the road from Continente.
Another tip, there is only one cash machine in Vau at the hotel Jardim do Vau which is on the same side of the road as the four restaurants across from the beach (to the left as you stand in front of them). Open the yellow gate and turn right ,go through the courtyard and in the main downstairs entrance there is a cash machine.

All in all we had a fantastic time in Terracos and the Algarve and will return to both, and would recommend both everyone!

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RICHIEMACD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Praia da Rocha hotels
0.7 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
449 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
983 reviews
0.7 mi away
Flor da Rocha
Flor da Rocha
#11 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
354 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
611 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terracos do Vau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terracos do Vau

Property: Terracos do Vau
Address: Praia do Vau, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-777, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Terracos do Vau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terracos Do Vau Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Terracos Do Vau Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing