We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“can't believe previous review!”
Review of Terracos do Vau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Terracos do Vau
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Reviewed 9 August 2009

we have just returned from Terracos do vau and had the most marvellous time ever! Thomson rep/children's reps were superb and so approachable and caring. The apartments were immaculate and well looked after although with only basic furnishings, admittedly. The atmosphere created by the helpful staff and the relaxed surroundings made this a really special holiday for my family. The nearby beach was perfect and rocha was only a short walk away if we wanted anywhere a bit busier in the evenings. Would highly recommend a stay

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chilloutLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2009

We stayed here for 1 week. Thought, after reading other reviews, that we`d booked a great holiday. How wrong could i have been. The 1st apartment was awful. It took 45mins to boil a cup of coffee. The TV wouldnt work & altogether shabby. Drawer fronts were hanging off & the sofa bed was uncomfortable even for my son to sleep on. Altogether outdated & should be dropped. High rise dump would describe it better.

There wasnt enough sunbeds & people reserved beds hours in advance. The maid service was appauling. We had to ask for them to change the bedding when 1 of the children spilt hot chocolate. They made the bed with the same sheet!. The floors werent mopped all week & the plastic, shower curtain collapsed busting my mothers nose.

The highlight of the holiday was coming home.! Thank god we had good weather.

The plus side is praia de vua beach is gorgeous & is safe for children. There is a lifeguard there as well. Alvor is also well worth a visit

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oatesy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

Although the bar is small it is perfect, the staff were wonderful especially wiht my two children aged 7 & 4. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff or for Katy the Thomson rep. The beach is about 5 minutes walk downhill and is well worth a visit and although the resort is small there are two supermarkets and a lovely restaurant called casa du vau which is well worth a visit. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone looking for a quiet relaxing holiday

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maccySunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2008

My friend and I have just returned from our stay at these apts
and they were the most spacious we have ever stayed in.
Very clean and comfortabe with 2 armchairs and a large sofa
that could be converted to a double bed + 2 singles in bedroom.
Kitchen well equiped with cooker,large fridge freezer,washing machine and all pots,pans and cutlery you could possibly need.
We had a very restfull time here and would go back again.
As for eating out we went to Jacaranda every night and most
lunch times,the food was exceptional !
When you walk under the bridge on way to beach please get ready to hold your nose as smell at times not very pleasant,
other than that this is a lovely area.
Take the walk up hill to Praia da Rocha where the beach is much larger and you'll find lots more shops,pubs &
restuarants or there's Alvor with its white houses and small
alleyways with shops etc and a lovely white and yellow church
plus the quay side with it's cafe/restaurants and lots of boat trips
some of which will take you to see Dolphins.
All this plus the fab weather we had made this holiday one to remember.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank blondie060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2008

Just returned from a fabulous holiday. The weather was scorching (in 90s on 2 days). The hotel staff were all very friendly. The bar drinks and food were reasonably priced although there were many bars locally who did a pint of beer for 1 EURO. It is very easy to find a decent three course meal with wine for 15 EURO a head.

Would definitely recommend an evening trip into Alvor for an authentic Portugese meal. They BBQ fresh fish in front of you whilst a musician plays on the harbour.

Praia da rocha is much much busier than Praia do vau - we tended to walk there most nights (20mins max) as there was lots to see and do.

In short, the holiday was as quiet or as lively as you want. The beach was great, the locals friendly.

The apartment's bed was v uncomfortable and certain parts a little dated. However, these criticisms were minor and did not detract from an otherwise great week!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MissXUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2008

hi just a quick message to anyone going on holiday to this place its bad the bar was called the postage stamp as it was that small the place was dirty the pool is small and i had the worst holiday that i have ever had and i have 2 holidays a year and have travelled a bit if you have children these nothing there for them to do if you are thinking of going there please save your money and book some where eles oh and by the way dont book with thomson as they are no help to you at all i will never book with thomson every again . my room had the smallest balcony which you can only get a patio chair on side was the plugs were hanging of the wall and the light bulbs were hanging by wires not safe at all in the picture you can see a hole in the wall to let you in to the complex well its bricked up so you have to walk around to get in to the place anyway thats all i have to say about that trip i wont call ot a holiday as it wasnt be carefull if you go there .someone from wales ohand by the way thankyou for nothing thomson for no help what so ever

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalesHoskings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2008

Me and my family stayed at the Terracos do Vau for 1 week from 28 August to 4 September 2008. We had an absolutely brilliant holiday and I would definately recommend these apartments to families with young children.

We had booked a 2 bedroom apartment and were allocated room number 005 on the ground floor, in the main building. The apartment was very clean and spacious and well fitted out. We also had a washing machine - which we didn't use. The room did not have a microwave but I do not go on holiday to cook - I do that all year round!

Although I did not have any complaints about our apartment, it does become evident went talking to other guests that the apartments do vary in standard.

You may not be aware from the brochure picture that there are actually 2 blocks of apartments at Terracos do Vau. The apartments in the main building (where we were) seem to be of a higher standard. There is another block of apartments adjacent to the main building which are also part of the complex and the facilities in that block do not appear to be as high as those in the main block.

The bar staff were very helpful and friendly, and Pedro in reception was excellent.

My 2 kids loved the Kidzone Kids Club and thought Edmund and Captain Noodles were brilliant.

Tony the Thomsons rep was great and joined in games with the kids too.

We went into Praia da Rocha and Alvor on an evening as well as staying local. It was 5 euro and 10 cents to both destinations from the apartments. The taxis came almost straight away and cost 50 cents for reception to ring. We dined at the Albar restaurant in Alvor and found it to be excellent.

We also went to Don Corleone at Portas da Rocha, which was really nice too.

We tried Jackaranda and Il Timone and loved the meals we had in these restaurants. In fact all the meals we had on holiday were delicious and good value for money.

I would advise that it is very quiet in Praia do Vau - there are no bars and there are a handful of restaurants. This was fine for me as my kids are 10 and 8 and all we want on an evening is a meal and a few quiet drinks.

I wouldn't recommend Praia do Vau for teenagers as there isn't much to do, however you are near enought to Alvor and Praia da Rocha if you want to venture a bit further.

With regards to cash machines and exchange facilities. You can exchange travellers cheques at the Terracos do Vau reception. However, if you bring Euro cheques you will be charged more commission. There is 1 ATM in Praia do Vau at the Jardim do Vau apartments.

You can also hire a safety deposit box at the reception which is 35 euro per week (of which 20 euro is refundable)

If you are travelling with young children, I would bring stuff like calpol etc with you as there is no chemist in Praia do Vau - the nearest pharmacy is in Alvor or Praia da Rocha.

I would like to say that we all loved our stay at these apartments and would definately return again. Also, Zoomarine is a must for the kids - a great day out.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank footiefan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Praia da Rocha hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,073 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jardim do Vau
Jardim do Vau
#5 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
319 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Oriental
Hotel Oriental
#4 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
579 reviews
1.1 mi away
Flamingo Residence
Flamingo Residence
#15 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
53 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#12 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terracos do Vau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terracos do Vau

Address: Praia do Vau, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-777, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Terracos do Vau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terracos Do Vau Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Terracos Do Vau Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing