We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible hotel !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Praia
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
2 reviews
“Terrible hotel !”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Absolutely terrible hotel !!! I would not recommend it to anyone ! The room we stayed in was kind of really old style with mold all over the ceiling ! It was about 8pm when we checked in and we went streight out . When we got back at the hotel about 1am the shower was not working and was very noisy from the night club which is just opposite the hotel ! "The continental breakfast" was a joke - just ham ,cheese ,marmalade and bread ! The staff was not very friendly as well ! So ... Noisy ,Poor breakfast , Unfriendly staff ! It's slightly cheaper but better book somewhere else ! Very disappointed !

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    35
    57
    23
    32
See reviews for
25
77
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Hotel situated on the front of busy and loud night club wich shut at four in the morning. First impressions of the room it was horrible smell and broken shower...not tidy at all- after cleaning smells like bleach soo much that u cant stay in .

they said that rooms has got hairdryer and minibar ...forget about it

.if u r planning to stay longer than two days Dont go for option with the breakfast everyday they ll serve u ham and cheese sandwich sometimes with some hairs on it...sticky tables .

Reception not helpful at all. If u ask them to recommend u places to eat he ll recommend the hotel restaurant wich is ridiculous. Im not person wich is fussy about hotels but that was the worst hotel experience in my life...even cheep hostels and campings are one thousand times better than avenida.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosalinedunnford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Praia da Rocha hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Read some of the negative reviews and can not believe the comments, this hotel (for the money) is amazing value, great location in the middle of the strip, when it gets noisy close the door and put the air con on!!!, comfortable room, great modern bathroom, security box 2 euro a day 10 euro refundable deposit, fantastic views (room 307) mini fridge and cleaned every day!
May not be ok for anyone who wants to be tucked up in bed by 9pm but closing the door does block most of the noise even at the front of the hotel. lack of pool maybe a negative for some but you have one hell of a pool a few minutes walk away, the amazingly blue sea with incredible beaches. for us location was great and the aforementioned staff could not be more helpful, Ricardo thank you for the wonderful welcome and offer you made it set the tone for the rest of our stay tanks to all the staff especially Diego and Daniel

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Phill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Stayed here and was really happy, did room only, had the brekki by the beach every morning, very clean,maid service every day,great mini fridge in apartment,reception staff very nice and ever so helpful. very central, lovely views over the cliffs,

Room Tip: 7th floor at the back is the best as a disco is across from hotel 10pm to 4am
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacky Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novosibirsk, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

it was our honeymoon. yes, there's disco nearby. but it didn't worry me))) u should just close the window ))) spectacular seaview! good servise and normal price! stays in the heart of fun, on the first line from the sea also

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lizka-pipiska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

I think out of all the reviews I have written on here, this is probably the most difficult one. The staff were friendly. The hotel was clean. The price was incredibly low for the room. We had a lovely sea view for seemlingly no extra cost. However, we were very relieved that we had only booked one night in this place. The noise from the club below was unbearable and there seemed to be very little to do in this hotel in way of facilities or entertainment. I don't think I could have coped more than one night in this hotel. I think if this hotel could be transported somewhere else, it would probably be quite pleasant but being right on top of the main strip is not the best place to be. I can't say it's particularly the hotel's fault and they do what they can but this place is definitely not for me.

Room Tip: Although it is great having a sea room, it is right above a noisy club so it might be better to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sandwellman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoo Saint Werburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Nice hotel staff very friendly nice and clean rooms good location, but for the disco opposite we spent 8 nights here over the Xmas period so the disco was only open a few nights thank goodness , as it is very very loud and keeps you awake till 4am in the morning .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lainee48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Praia da Rocha hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,004 reviews
0.6 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Turisticos
Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Tur...
#11 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
291 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#10 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Praia

Property: Hotel Avenida Praia
Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Avenida Praia 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Avenida Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Praia Hotel
Hotel Avenida Praia Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing