We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“should be 1 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Praia
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“should be 1 star”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

no way 3 star's 1 maybe.? we stayed here in setpember it was ok for the price you get what you pay for. the rooms were clean and you had room service everyday. did not bother with the breakfest when i seen it. it's in a good location but you need to be deaf with the disco across from the hotel boom boom all night long. would never go back again come out of the hotel and you are offered everything from sun glasses to drugs.

Room Tip: look for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ob3j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    34
    51
    22
    29
See reviews for
23
68
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dingle, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I was so worried about staying in this hotel from all the bad reviews the minute we landed all the staff were so helpful,The rooms were small but for the money i paid i wasnt expecting anything amazing!The room was cleaned everyday with fresh towels put in the room if anything we had to tell the cleaners not to clean the room a few times as we were too hungover to get out of bed!This hotel is right on the strip with bars and restaurants next door so you dont have to walk far.I stayed here for a week and had no issue with the noise,the only thing this hotel is missing is a pool!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank roisin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, Lancashire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Basic but clean rooms, well maintained with friendly and helpful staff plus free wifi. It has a great location nestled between the bars clubs and restaurants on the strip. I wasn't sure what to expect after reading some of the negative reviews; in a nutshell it's ideal for people who like to be out until late as despite the double glazed windows, the bass from the 3 neighbouring clubs can be heard until 4/5am. If you have kids or plan on early nights, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davemaruia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

My husband and i arrived at the hotel and I have to say my expectations were low after reading some of the reviews! We arrived in the evening, in the hustle and bustle of a busy strip! And to our delight we were right in the middle of it! Clubs, bars, restaurants and shops! What more would you want on holiday? The rooms are very basic, beds, hair drier, shower/bath, fridge, storage and a balcony over looking the busy strip!
The bed was extremely uncomfortable but I expect no less paying what I paid for my holiday!
Continental breakfast was exactly that and it was nice! Plenty of it also!
The hotel itself is very clean, and a maid visited our room EVERYDAY of our stay! There are a few comments about the smell in the rooms....it's only the detergent they use! Flush the toilet and open the patio door... Problem fixed!
Our bathroom was lovely very clean, a lot of noise comes through the vents also but hey we r on holiday! We are away to enjoy ourselves! If you can't beat them..... Join them!
The hotel is VERY close to the beach also
Which is absolutely beautiful!
I wouldn't think twice coming back here!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Victoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Absolutely terrible hotel !!! I would not recommend it to anyone ! The room we stayed in was kind of really old style with mold all over the ceiling ! It was about 8pm when we checked in and we went streight out . When we got back at the hotel about 1am the shower was not working and was very noisy from the night club which is just opposite the hotel ! "The continental breakfast" was a joke - just ham ,cheese ,marmalade and bread ! The staff was not very friendly as well ! So ... Noisy ,Poor breakfast , Unfriendly staff ! It's slightly cheaper but better book somewhere else ! Very disappointed !

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Praia da Rocha hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Hotel situated on the front of busy and loud night club wich shut at four in the morning. First impressions of the room it was horrible smell and broken shower...not tidy at all- after cleaning smells like bleach soo much that u cant stay in .

they said that rooms has got hairdryer and minibar ...forget about it

.if u r planning to stay longer than two days Dont go for option with the breakfast everyday they ll serve u ham and cheese sandwich sometimes with some hairs on it...sticky tables .

Reception not helpful at all. If u ask them to recommend u places to eat he ll recommend the hotel restaurant wich is ridiculous. Im not person wich is fussy about hotels but that was the worst hotel experience in my life...even cheep hostels and campings are one thousand times better than avenida.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosalinedunnford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Read some of the negative reviews and can not believe the comments, this hotel (for the money) is amazing value, great location in the middle of the strip, when it gets noisy close the door and put the air con on!!!, comfortable room, great modern bathroom, security box 2 euro a day 10 euro refundable deposit, fantastic views (room 307) mini fridge and cleaned every day!
May not be ok for anyone who wants to be tucked up in bed by 9pm but closing the door does block most of the noise even at the front of the hotel. lack of pool maybe a negative for some but you have one hell of a pool a few minutes walk away, the amazingly blue sea with incredible beaches. for us location was great and the aforementioned staff could not be more helpful, Ricardo thank you for the wonderful welcome and offer you made it set the tone for the rest of our stay tanks to all the staff especially Diego and Daniel

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Phill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Praia da Rocha hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Catarina
Santa Catarina
#9 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clube Praia da Rocha
Clube Praia da Rocha
#18 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
2.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Praia

Property: Hotel Avenida Praia
Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500 , Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Avenida Praia 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Avenida Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Praia Hotel
Hotel Avenida Praia Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing