We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Avenida Praia
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
barnsley
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for!”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Hotel is located on the strip across from a nightclub that never seems to have anyone in it but keeps going until 5am this didn't bother us as patio doors were double glazed.. We didn't have food in this hotel so can't comment.. The beaches are beautiful and have some good value restaurants on the beach and on the strip.. Please note this hotel DOES NOT have a pool but only 2mins walk to beach
The only downside is when you walk up and down the strip is being pestered to buy drugs we were asked 6 times in an hour!!
We cought a bus to portimao 1:50 euro and spent the day there as there is little to do in the day in Praia de Roche
Lots of hen parties and stag parties turn up for a long weekend if you like to party then this is the place for you
As we only paid 9 pound a nite we don't have really anything to complain about,maid came daily,reception man was polite and helpfull there was a musty smell in the room think it was the blankets in the wardrobe but just open the patio doors
Bathroom was small but modern and clean
Two single beds not the best in the world but for 5 nights what does it matter
If you have booked this hotel try not to be put off its really not that bad we won't return to Praia de Roche but that's not because of the hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m-marie-e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    34
    51
    22
    29
See reviews for
23
68
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Even though I have give this an average overall rating the hotel is really quite nice .. i went in October and was in a back room with my daughter [ in her 20.s] and the room did smell of damp [ i,m sure due to the fact that the sun had less heat at this time of year] , we didnt complain to the staff and so didnt give them the opportunity to move us ... the room and hotel was clean , the staff are as pleasant to you as you are to them ... continental breakfast is lovely ... look I paid €60 for a weeks b/b for 2 people we got what we paid for .. its perfect for young groups as the hotel is situated directly on the main strip and directly across from the main Nite Club.. though if you dont like loud music from a Nite club you should ask for a rear room as the front ones over look it.... very happy with my stay and would stay again as it is very convenient for the night life..

Room Tip: if you dont like loud music and intend to have early night then you should ask for a room at the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TFROMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I stayed at Hotel Avenida for 3 weeks with a friend from Holland. I read the reviews and came to my own conclusion. If you want luxury this is not the hotel, but if you want to be close to everything this is great. Fabulous beach right at your front door.
Excellent restaurants right outside the hotel. The hotel could use some sprucing up, but it general
it was very clean and the staff were very friendly.
I would stay there again because you can beat the price and we were only there to sleep and shower.

Room Tip: Our room was on the east side on the 4th. floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loesje4164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Me and my other half visited Praia da Rocha last year in May. We wanted to avoid all of the summer rush and chose a more quieter time. It was our first holiday together abroad and it made us realize what kind of things we want from a holiday. The big downside with this hotel is the lack of a swimming pool! The sea was too cold and too salty so during our holiday we havent managed to go for a swim which was dissapointing. No neighbouring hotel would allow us in either to go into their swim. Our other issue was that the area was too English. There are around 7 irish pubs in the area, everything was in English and they served English fry up everywhere. This is not why we go on holiday - we live in the UK so we can have a bloody roast over here. There is a club outside of the hotel room which is noisy and everybody mentions it. It is open every night even though nobody goes there - not in may anyway, however we didnt have any trouble sleeping. Besides, there isnt really that much to do in the area so its a bit boring. The hotel was OK - it is a cheap hotel so you get what you expect for the money. Its not amazing - its OK. There is only WIFI downstairs, food was OK - just the same stuff for breakfast is a bit boring eventually. The staff was nice and helpful. It was a good holiday in general so I cant really complain. OBRIGADO!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PattyandMike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
powys
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

went here for a week as a couple with the wife, not a bad hotel to stay in at all, really good value for money, yes its near the bars etc but no need to worry as the double glazing is very good and with the air con running its pretty much drowned out, and that was from the room on the third floor as close as its possible to get to the bar over the road and that is from somebody with no interest in clubs etc, rooms though small are ok, very clean and tidy, cleaned every day and fresh towels every second day, bed maybe a little hard for some though, breakfast is continental and pretty good, all fresh bread, meats jams etc along with a variety of cereals, dining area looks overdue for a painting but then looks like they are working through the hotel doing things like that anyway, staff were helpful and friendly, would certainly stay there again if we go back to Praia Rocha, hotel is near to some good restaraunts Serra del Mar is very good, turn left out the hotel and first left and is past the Irish bar on the right and opposite the one on the left, good value for sure, cant remember the name but down by the fort, onto the boardwalk and the first one on the beach towards town is superb and great view of sea and beach as well, and best of all Claires, turn right from the hotel and keep walking along the sea front and you will find it at the edge of the town, absolutely superb and really good value choosing from fixed price 3 course menu, Carlos the owner is a real charactor and checks each and every customer is happy after each course, can't reccomend highly enough, Praia is a quiet place for the most part with not that much to do apart from the few bars/clubs in the center but otherwise is quiet, walk along the cliff top to Vau is well worth doing as is visiting Alvor on the local bus, oh and on the downside there are way to many Irish bars, if I wanted Irish I would go to Dublin not the Algarve

Room Tip: turn on the aircon, make sure the doors and windows are properly shut and there is not really that m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andynvicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed for at this hotel 15 nights from 5th September, 2013 arriving at 13.40am on the 6th September, the first thing that struck us was the dreadful noise form the disco across the road.
We were shown to a room on the sea front on the first floor - no sleep till about 5am when quiet reigned. I did complain 7 asked to be moved - however the hotel was full, and the hotel says they never received our request for a high floor.
We were moved to room 602 the next day, The maid cleaned every day & the room was fine - there was more noise from the Irish bars at the back of the hotel but we managed fine.
Breakfast was a hap hazard affair - even to the point that they ran out of milk one morning & had to go to a local supermarket to get some - this was about 8am, the resident chef wore dirty clothes & scratched his head frequently - not a very good advert - we never had an evening meal there.
The reception staff were excellent, and very helpful.

We would go there again but ring beforehand to ensure we had room 601 or 602 or 701 or 702.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Praia da Roche

Room Tip: room 601 or 602 or 701 or 702
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perma-tan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We have been going to Praia da Rocha for 15 years and stayed pretty much in most of the hotels along the strip. If you go for the nightlife (very late nightlife) this hotel is ideal but if you like the daylife and bit of nightlife then it is not. We got a lovely room 3 up with a balcony overlooking the ocean, hotel was laid back, breakfast was very basic but with maid service everyday, clean towels everyday we could not really complain at the price we paid. We would not go back though as the main issue was the noise. The triple glazing was okay up to a point but from 10 pm onwards the music was deafening and the disco was not the main culprit - it was the pubs next to it, they seemed to be competing with each other as to who was the loudest. We will be booking for next year as we love Praia da Rocha but are more than willing to pay much more for accomodation away from the noisy spot. Reviewer before was right about being offered everything from sunglasses and watches etc., I actually think this is the spot where they contain this kind of thing.

Room Tip: Not sure re this - as didn't try one of the back ones - view brilliant from front
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRIFFITHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Praia da Rocha hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Catarina
Santa Catarina
#9 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clube Praia da Rocha
Clube Praia da Rocha
#18 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
2.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Praia

Property: Hotel Avenida Praia
Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500 , Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Avenida Praia 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Avenida Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Praia Hotel
Hotel Avenida Praia Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing