We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy, noisy, noisy...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Avenida Praia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Avenida Praia
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Noisy, noisy, noisy...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Very noisy hotel, impossible to rest, if one day tripadvisor decides to elect the most noisy hotels in the world, this hotel will probably win... If is not the music from the road, will be the noise from the other rooms (the walls are like paper, you can hear everything), noisy guests (drunk during the night), and the worst thing... The lift!... Where that lift came from? I was awake most of the night due to that lift. The hotel needs a massive refurbishment, the room is old and tired, the tv is a joke (very small and very old), toilet is tiny, the queen bed is old, smelly and is two little beds together, instead of one big. Staff is far from friendly. Breakfast is inclusive, but you only have bread, butter, cheese, coffee and milk... Nothing else! No yogurts, cakes, bacon, eggs, etc. Location is the only good thing. Very close to the beach and close to the main road in Praia da Rocha. I am Portuguese, and I know my country very well... Believe when I say, unless you are a very young person, getting drunk all night and sleep like a stone after that, you should avoid this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Barreiro-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    34
    49
    22
    28
See reviews for
23
66
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

This was pretty basic and the corridors were very dark, the rooms were small but the location was great and the staff were very friendly and helpful. there is a bar opposite and you can hear the music at night but it didnt keep us up at all it was more just background music

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebecca852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Firstly lets take the location because this is the biggest thing about this hotel. If you are a teenager or in your early 20's and are looking for somewhere you can literally fall out of a club and straight into bed then this is the hotel for you. It's not just near the action it's right smack bang in the centre of it, so if your young and not going home until 4am this is the best hotel you will ever stay at, no long staggers home, you can be club to in bed with someone in 3 minutes.

HOWEVER if you are over 23 and require more than 3 hours sleep, then this hotel is probably not for you. Its not just a bit noisy, the whole place reverberates with the bass, and it is virtually impossible to sleep. I was there out of season and even then the noise from the street below was astounding and I was at the back of the hotel on the 7th floor. Luckily the numerous Irish bars behind the strip were closed or else it would have been even worse.

The room was nice, if a little dated. It's not that it was old fashioned it was just very 'woody'. There was a slight dampness to the air but put the heater on (this was April) and that soon knocks that away. The beds look they were made in a bygone age, but in that age it must have been important to be comfortable, because I slept like a baby on those beds. With the slightly olde worlde decor and the comfortable beds I nearly expected to wake up to a butler serving me breakfast.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and attentive, the door gets locked after midnight but they night porter is up in a flash to let you in.

All of this for £10 a night, yes it was out of season, but jesus thats insane. For that price I'd have slept in the middle of a field of landmines haunted by Princess Diana. Or a tent that was on fire. It is very true, you get what you pay for, but here the beds were comfy, the room was clean, the staff were friendly and it was in the middle of the action...for £10 a night!!!!!

For those who you wondering why I've given it an average rating, it's because of the location.

Room Tip: High up, at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Blingrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Hotel is located on the strip across from a nightclub that never seems to have anyone in it but keeps going until 5am this didn't bother us as patio doors were double glazed.. We didn't have food in this hotel so can't comment.. The beaches are beautiful and have some good value restaurants on the beach and on the strip.. Please note this hotel DOES NOT have a pool but only 2mins walk to beach
The only downside is when you walk up and down the strip is being pestered to buy drugs we were asked 6 times in an hour!!
We cought a bus to portimao 1:50 euro and spent the day there as there is little to do in the day in Praia de Roche
Lots of hen parties and stag parties turn up for a long weekend if you like to party then this is the place for you
As we only paid 9 pound a nite we don't have really anything to complain about,maid came daily,reception man was polite and helpfull there was a musty smell in the room think it was the blankets in the wardrobe but just open the patio doors
Bathroom was small but modern and clean
Two single beds not the best in the world but for 5 nights what does it matter
If you have booked this hotel try not to be put off its really not that bad we won't return to Praia de Roche but that's not because of the hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m-marie-e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Even though I have give this an average overall rating the hotel is really quite nice .. i went in October and was in a back room with my daughter [ in her 20.s] and the room did smell of damp [ i,m sure due to the fact that the sun had less heat at this time of year] , we didnt complain to the staff and so didnt give them the opportunity to move us ... the room and hotel was clean , the staff are as pleasant to you as you are to them ... continental breakfast is lovely ... look I paid €60 for a weeks b/b for 2 people we got what we paid for .. its perfect for young groups as the hotel is situated directly on the main strip and directly across from the main Nite Club.. though if you dont like loud music from a Nite club you should ask for a rear room as the front ones over look it.... very happy with my stay and would stay again as it is very convenient for the night life..

Room Tip: if you dont like loud music and intend to have early night then you should ask for a room at the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TFROMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

I stayed at Hotel Avenida for 3 weeks with a friend from Holland. I read the reviews and came to my own conclusion. If you want luxury this is not the hotel, but if you want to be close to everything this is great. Fabulous beach right at your front door.
Excellent restaurants right outside the hotel. The hotel could use some sprucing up, but it general
it was very clean and the staff were very friendly.
I would stay there again because you can beat the price and we were only there to sleep and shower.

Room Tip: Our room was on the east side on the 4th. floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loesje4164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Me and my other half visited Praia da Rocha last year in May. We wanted to avoid all of the summer rush and chose a more quieter time. It was our first holiday together abroad and it made us realize what kind of things we want from a holiday. The big downside with this hotel is the lack of a swimming pool! The sea was too cold and too salty so during our holiday we havent managed to go for a swim which was dissapointing. No neighbouring hotel would allow us in either to go into their swim. Our other issue was that the area was too English. There are around 7 irish pubs in the area, everything was in English and they served English fry up everywhere. This is not why we go on holiday - we live in the UK so we can have a bloody roast over here. There is a club outside of the hotel room which is noisy and everybody mentions it. It is open every night even though nobody goes there - not in may anyway, however we didnt have any trouble sleeping. Besides, there isnt really that much to do in the area so its a bit boring. The hotel was OK - it is a cheap hotel so you get what you expect for the money. Its not amazing - its OK. There is only WIFI downstairs, food was OK - just the same stuff for breakfast is a bit boring eventually. The staff was nice and helpful. It was a good holiday in general so I cant really complain. OBRIGADO!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PattyandMike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Praia da Rocha hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clube Praia da Rocha by ITC Hotels & Resorts
Clube Praia da Rocha by ITC Hote...
#18 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
3.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Catarina
Santa Catarina
#10 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida Praia

Property: Hotel Avenida Praia
Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500 , Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Avenida Praia 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Avenida Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Praia Hotel
Hotel Avenida Praia Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing