We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Oriental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Oriental
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ideal Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Lovely hotel, beautiful location with beach access. Very relaxing and atmosphere good, staff friendly and helpful . We had a lovely stay , most suited to people looking for a good quality ,relaxing holiday with excellent acess to all amenities.

Room Tip: Sea view is good but we had a side room with sea view and it was lovely, consider the time you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryAnnIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    195
    72
    13
    17
See reviews for
71
325
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We first arrived at the hotel, we are pleasantly suprised at its architecture and also inside of the lobby. We are rudely introduced to by the reception as "being too early" arriving at 11am from an early flight and were turned away and told not to come back til 3pm. I found this time for checking in for an holiday hotel considering most flights to abroad are early. We were based 2 floors down to which i still nickname to my partner the dungeons. Rooms there do not follow the interiors of the rest of the hotel being old and outdated. Although saying this the doorman was very polite and friendly. The breakfast was lovely. Just please make sure to book out of the dungeon!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mea1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Just spent out 6th holiday at this hotel. Its position overlooking the beach and the quite area of Praia da Rocha makes ideal for a peaceful and relaxing holiday. The gardens in which you can sunbathe overlook the beach which one of the largest you will see. All rooms have a view of the sea, although most are side on only. A full frontal sea view is a premium room at a small extra charge. All but the junior suites have kitchenettes.
We had booked a full frontal room but we "upgraded" to a junior suite. While these are very good rooms we still would have preferred the frontal sea view; fortunately we always carry a travel kettle and so were able to make tea otherwise we might not have been so happy.
The breakfast is adequate but not one of the best.
All the staff are very efficient and friendly.
Less able travellers should be aware that there are either steps or a steep slope down to the beach and its excellent boardwalk which many restaurants.
.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BernardSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

The Hotel is very clean, nicely designed and has a lovely vibe about the place suiting people who don't want a massive hotel but want the facilities and a bit of life.

We stayed on the 3rd floor with a Sea View - which we would highly recommend paying alittle extra for - and the room's furniture was contemporary, new and very comfortable. The bathroom comes with the usual accessories (but no slippers!) and is always well cleaned every day. The room itself was nicely set out, and the fridge (which wasn't a mini bar) was useful for stocking up bottles of wine/beer bought from the local store. The balcony was very spacious and fantastic throughout the day. The hotel looks out onto the beach with a view that is spectacular and really can't be beaten.

The hotel iteself is set in a perfect quieter location in town - with the busier touristy area to the west just a few 100 metres of so, and a nice marina for a quieter meal out in the opposite direction. So it's ideally placed and looked a lot better than other hotels in the area.

WiFi was difficult to access from our room and a bit slow - but to be expected. But as others have said, there's plenty of places to access free WiFi in town so don't worry.

The only gripes with the hotel was:
- The never ending continental fight for sun loungers with towels used to reserve loungers often for the entire day (With no one on them). The hotel doesn't do anything about this, so if you want a lounger, get there early
- The bar staff weren't the best - trying to get a drink at the bar was bit of a mission and they could've made a fortune if they went round taking orders outside.
- Room service (maid cleaning the room) generally was a bit slow

However, this was fantastic hotel and thoroughly recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

Room Tip: 206 - or any with seaviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seanmwalsh10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in 2008 and cant help but notice it is looking a little tired.The bathroom was very tatty.We arrived at 12 30 and had to wait until 3pm for our room to be ready everyone else that arrived having to wait to a lesser or greater time their rooms too.This happend to everyone we spoke to.The evening meal menu was awful We had a salad every night .Having said this the rest was fab The staff nice ,Beach to die for .

Room Tip: side rooms have small balconey
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed here in June for 10 days, brilliant location, we had a room with a balcony overlooking the gardens and a sea view. Room was very clean, very big with flat screen tv and seperate kitchen. beds big and comfie. Staff are excellent, very friendly and helpful. We stayed bed and breakfast, breakfast was ok, nothing amazing but a good choice, cereal, cooked meats, fried eggs, bacon etc.

Not much going on if you have children, i would say this hotel is suitable for couples of all ages and families with older children.

Overall really happy and would stay again.

Room Tip: if you do travel with children ask for a ground floor room, leading onto the garden area. That way y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We looked on trip advisor before booking this hotel so can I thank the people doing the reviews, particularly the review that told us what room to ask for - that did make the difference! There are rooms with balconies on the side, some get sun in the morning,some in the evening but the room we had (no 20 incidently) had the sun between mid day and about 7pm SO THE BEST ROOMS IN MY OPINION ARE 20-21. I think there are 2 other rooms on that floor but anyway the room had a small kitchen, great size bed & a great balcony with sea views - it was great. Breakfast was varied with juices, fruit, toast, cake, everything really. The only food I could fault was the bacon & sausages which I didn't like, but it wasn't a problem. Just telling you so you know. There are loads of places to eat and drink up the strip and a casino next door. In Portugal you are still allowed to smoke in restaurants / bars. I noticed the difference and am glad we stopped it in England. We would definitely stay at the Oriental again. The rooms were cleaned daily. The hotel also has a grassed area overlooking the sea,really nice would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank feredayrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.2 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.3 mi away
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 79 in Portimao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,936 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Algarve Casino
Hotel Algarve Casino
#18 of 79 in Portimao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oriental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oriental

Property: Hotel Oriental
Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#4 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oriental 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exotic and charming hotel located in the first line of Praia da Rocha beach, offering rooms with sea view and direct beach access. Nearby is a marina, restaurants, bar, shops and sightseeing interest places.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Oriental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriental Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Hotel Oriental Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing