We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Oriental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Oriental
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Beautiful hotel, stayed here May / June 2013. This is our 3 stay here. We booked a premium sea view room and it was fantastic, sun on balcony all day long. Beds are so comfortable with a huge room. Breakfast is a buffet with plenty of choice.
Staff very polite and extremely helpful from front of house to the house keeping. Going back in September

Room Tip: For full sun all day long on you balcony, try book rooms 105 / 106 Premium rooms. Sea / beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susieq965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    194
    71
    13
    16
See reviews for
71
324
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed out of season, in February, when there were few people in the hotel, and not many in Praia da Rocha itself. Some of the restaurants in the local area were closed, and the hotel restaurant, while still offering the evening meal, did not have the buffet that it has at busier times.
Every member of staff was charming and helpful. The reception staff in particular took time to give us information and answer our questions. They helped us to arrange our trips out of the area, and they made telephone calls for us to try to locate the Wildlife Rescue (tip: there isn't one).
The room was of a high standard, with kitchen area including fridge, kettle etc, so no problems making tea and keeping bottled water cold. Breakfast was a decent buffet, fruit, cheese, eggs etc - something for everyone. Good pastries, rolls and cakes. A nice touch was each day a different flavour home-made jam.
We were told that in the high season, the seafront is so packed with visitors that you can hardly move. We were glad to get the place to ourselves. The hotel has a small pool (bit cold in February), and steps down to the huge sandy beach. There's a boardwalk with little cafes and restaurants all along, and when the tide is out you can walk round the rocks to the next beaches.
Many restaurants closed but there were still enough open for us to get a nice meal each evening. Good bus link to large town and harbour.

Room Tip: The rooms above ground all have a side sea view. I think they all have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneandMiriam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Had a great holiday here. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast excellent all you could hope for. At the end of the strip, so nice and quiet. When you come out of the hotel you can turn left and walk along the strip or right and walk to marina. You can also walk along the board walk along the beach where there are excellent bars and restarants which are a little cheaper and quieter. We found the food and drinks very reasonable (the fish is cheap and amazing!) would love to return again some day.

Room Tip: There are different size room with different size balconies but all have a see view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Lovely hotel, beautiful location with beach access. Very relaxing and atmosphere good, staff friendly and helpful . We had a lovely stay , most suited to people looking for a good quality ,relaxing holiday with excellent acess to all amenities.

Room Tip: Sea view is good but we had a side room with sea view and it was lovely, consider the time you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryAnnIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We first arrived at the hotel, we are pleasantly suprised at its architecture and also inside of the lobby. We are rudely introduced to by the reception as "being too early" arriving at 11am from an early flight and were turned away and told not to come back til 3pm. I found this time for checking in for an holiday hotel considering most flights to abroad are early. We were based 2 floors down to which i still nickname to my partner the dungeons. Rooms there do not follow the interiors of the rest of the hotel being old and outdated. Although saying this the doorman was very polite and friendly. The breakfast was lovely. Just please make sure to book out of the dungeon!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mea1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Just spent out 6th holiday at this hotel. Its position overlooking the beach and the quite area of Praia da Rocha makes ideal for a peaceful and relaxing holiday. The gardens in which you can sunbathe overlook the beach which one of the largest you will see. All rooms have a view of the sea, although most are side on only. A full frontal sea view is a premium room at a small extra charge. All but the junior suites have kitchenettes.
We had booked a full frontal room but we "upgraded" to a junior suite. While these are very good rooms we still would have preferred the frontal sea view; fortunately we always carry a travel kettle and so were able to make tea otherwise we might not have been so happy.
The breakfast is adequate but not one of the best.
All the staff are very efficient and friendly.
Less able travellers should be aware that there are either steps or a steep slope down to the beach and its excellent boardwalk which many restaurants.
.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BernardSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

The Hotel is very clean, nicely designed and has a lovely vibe about the place suiting people who don't want a massive hotel but want the facilities and a bit of life.

We stayed on the 3rd floor with a Sea View - which we would highly recommend paying alittle extra for - and the room's furniture was contemporary, new and very comfortable. The bathroom comes with the usual accessories (but no slippers!) and is always well cleaned every day. The room itself was nicely set out, and the fridge (which wasn't a mini bar) was useful for stocking up bottles of wine/beer bought from the local store. The balcony was very spacious and fantastic throughout the day. The hotel looks out onto the beach with a view that is spectacular and really can't be beaten.

The hotel iteself is set in a perfect quieter location in town - with the busier touristy area to the west just a few 100 metres of so, and a nice marina for a quieter meal out in the opposite direction. So it's ideally placed and looked a lot better than other hotels in the area.

WiFi was difficult to access from our room and a bit slow - but to be expected. But as others have said, there's plenty of places to access free WiFi in town so don't worry.

The only gripes with the hotel was:
- The never ending continental fight for sun loungers with towels used to reserve loungers often for the entire day (With no one on them). The hotel doesn't do anything about this, so if you want a lounger, get there early
- The bar staff weren't the best - trying to get a drink at the bar was bit of a mission and they could've made a fortune if they went round taking orders outside.
- Room service (maid cleaning the room) generally was a bit slow

However, this was fantastic hotel and thoroughly recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

Room Tip: 206 - or any with seaviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seanmwalsh10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.2 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
903 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
847 reviews
0.3 mi away
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 78 in Portimao
1,935 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Algarve Casino
Hotel Algarve Casino
#17 of 78 in Portimao
809 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oriental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oriental

Property: Hotel Oriental
Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#4 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oriental 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exotic and charming hotel located in the first line of Praia da Rocha beach, offering rooms with sea view and direct beach access. Nearby is a marina, restaurants, bar, shops and sightseeing interest places.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Oriental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriental Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Hotel Oriental Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing