We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing choice with excellent views”
Review of Hotel Oriental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Oriental
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing choice with excellent views”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Just returned from Praia Da Rocha and stayed 5 nights here. Like other guests we arrived too early for our room but as we knew check in time was not until 3.00pm we hadn't expected our room to be ready after all check out time is 12.noon and the rooms do have to be cleaned. We were given an upgrade to room 020 with a full sea view with a large balcony overlooking the gardens and sea. The room had a small kitchenette with kettle pans etc. The bathroom was a disappointment cracked tiles and mould on grouting and the door to one cupboard in the kitchenette was hanging off so you had to be careful opening the fridge but as it is near the end of the season I assume this will be fixed by next year. Breakfasts were wonderful and the hotel even went to the bother of getting me gluten free bread which was brought out every morning by very friendly staff. We booked the Fado night meal and they provided me with a gluten free main course. I would certainly go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irishcoeliac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDHotels, Gerente at Hotel Oriental, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing TDHotels, Hotel Oriental.

We are very pleased to know that your stay fulfilled your expectations!

We are thankful for the time you spent sharing your opinion with us and especially for your kind words regarding our service and our staff members. We will share your comments with the other staff members.

We have taken note of your comments which are already being analyzed. They are of a great value to us and will contribute to improve our overall services and guest’s enjoyment.

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Pedro Mamede
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    196
    72
    13
    17
See reviews for
72
330
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Praa Sands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Excellent stay in a great location. Steps down to the huge beach and boardwalk which takes you both ways either to the other end of the resort past bars and places to eat or to the marina where there are classy places to eat and drink. The food out was really good something for everyone. . The pool was a bit cool but very clean and quiet, guests at this hotel seem fairly reserved which we liked so enjoyed lots of relax time when sitting around the pool. Would stay again but would check if room had been refurbished as some of the lower ground rooms looked old and dingy. So do check and you will be pleased if you get a room like we had.

Room Tip: check it has been recently refurbished and pay extra for a full sea view or side sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank angela v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDHotels, Gerente at Hotel Oriental, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing TDHotels, Hotel Oriental.

We are very pleased to know that your stay fulfilled your expectations!

We are thankful for the time you spent sharing your opinion with us and especially for your kind words regarding our service.

Your comments are of a great value to us and will contribute to improve our overall services and guest’s enjoyment.

We invite you to visit us again and stay in one of our newly renovated rooms.

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Pedro Mamede
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We had a three-night stay here in mid-September.

This really is a beautiful property and the rooms were very nice as well - clean, spacious and nicely furnished. There was an easy walk down to the beautiful beach and the two-level pool, while small, was very nice as well. Many people chose to lounge the day away right there. All of the bars and restaurants were an easy walk from the hotel.

We had a great view of the sea from our balcony, although, the cheap, plastic deck furniture was quite a contrast to the lovely interior of the room.

The breakfast - included with the price of the room - was quite good. It was nice to be able to sit either inside or outside.

We didn't price compare extensively but it seemed to me that the room was fully priced. This was not a place for the budget conscious.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDHotels, Gerente at Hotel Oriental, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing TDHotels, Hotel Oriental.

We are very pleased to know that your stay fulfilled your expectations!

We are thankful for the time you spent sharing your opinion with us and especially for your kind words regarding our service.

Your comments are of a great value to us and will contribute to improve our overall services and guest’s enjoyment.

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Pedro Mamede
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in an excellent location at the quiet end of the busy strip. It is spotless and clean. Breakfast is excellent and although we didn't eat in the hotel I would recommend b&b as there are loads of restaurants to choose from at the marina and on the main strip.
Just one word of warning! - the hotel advertise Happy Hour on Friday between 5pm and 7pm. We were informed after we ordered that you had to order canapés to qualify for the happy hour drinks prices. Very deceiving and not as advertised. When I complained they honoured the advertised prices but it was an unnecessary complaint and badly thought out by the hotel. Beware!!
All in all a great hotel and we had a lovely holiday

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank HazelBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDHotels, Gerente at Hotel Oriental, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing TDHotels, Hotel Oriental.

We regret that our services have not met your expectations and we would like to thank you for the time you spent sharing your opinion with us.

We have taken note of your comments which are already being analyzed. They are of a great value to us and will contribute to improve our overall services and guest’s enjoyment.

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Pedro Mamede
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Oriental and the whole experience was excellent. The location is quiet yet within a five minute walk of the bars and restaurants, and there is direct entrance onto the beach from the hotel gardens.All the staff were friendly and helpful and I particularly liked the fact that guests couldn't reserve sunbeds they were not using. There are ample sunbeds and staff would remove early morning towels from beds that were not occupied. Breakfast was a buffet with plenty of selection and one could choose to eat inside or out.Our room was large, comfortable and very clean and even had a small kitchen attached. We will definitely return as the hotel is a great place to relax, but very close to all the amenities the resort offers

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDHotels, Gerente at Hotel Oriental, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing TDHotels, Hotel Oriental.

We are very pleased to know that your stay fulfilled your expectations!

We are thankful for the time you spent sharing your opinion with us and especially for your kind words regarding our service and our staff members. We will share your comments with the other staff members.

Your comments are of a great value to us and will contribute to improve our overall services and guest’s enjoyment.

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Pedro Mamede
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed on the first floor and had great sea view. The room was clean and modern. Staff were very good. This for us was the best location because you are on the beach and the restaurants are 2 mns to the right on the marina or 2 mns to the left on the high street. The noisy bars are about a half mile down the road. Well worth the extra paid to resorthoppa to take us 50 mns drive from faro airport. I recommend paying the extra for sea view.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Subhash R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Beautiful hotel, stayed here May / June 2013. This is our 3 stay here. We booked a premium sea view room and it was fantastic, sun on balcony all day long. Beds are so comfortable with a huge room. Breakfast is a buffet with plenty of choice.
Staff very polite and extremely helpful from front of house to the house keeping. Going back in September

Room Tip: For full sun all day long on you balcony, try book rooms 105 / 106 Premium rooms. Sea / beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susieq965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.2 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 79 in Portimao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,984 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Algarve Casino
Hotel Algarve Casino
#16 of 79 in Portimao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oriental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oriental

Property: Hotel Oriental
Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#4 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oriental 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exotic and charming hotel located in the first line of Praia da Rocha beach, offering rooms with sea view and direct beach access. Nearby is a marina, restaurants, bar, shops and sightseeing interest places.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Oriental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriental Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Hotel Oriental Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing