We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“oriental hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Oriental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Oriental
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“oriental hotel”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here for 11 nights in April. Hotel very clean, bedroom excellant. Friendly staff. Our first time in the Oriental although we have stayed in other hotels in praia da rocha. We will certainly stay here again. Lovely pool area and gardens. Highly recommend. Thanks to all the staff. The Walkers from Glasgow

Room Tip: All have sea view. 2nd floor was excellant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDHotels, Gerente at Hotel Oriental, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice words about our Hotel. We are pleased to acknowledge that your stay in Hotel Oriental was really good.

We do hope to have the great honor of welcoming you in a very near future.

Yours sincerely,
Pedro Mamede
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    194
    71
    13
    16
See reviews for
71
324
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Just got back from a trip to Praia Da Rocha - this hotel is in a great location, really close to the beach with great views. Stayed on a B&B basis & the breakfast was good. The only drawback was that my room (115) was close to the road & there was quite a bit of noise - not from traffic but people passing by in the early hours. Outside my room was a flat roof which looked over the gardens & people congregated there on their way back from clubs. I did ask to change rooms on Sunday after a really noisy group decided to sing & chant at 4.15am but was told by reception that the road was really quiet usually. There were a couple more occasions at around the same time in the morning but as it was almost time to come home I couldn't be bothered speaking to reception again. The garden overlooking the beach was great for sunbathing. There were lots of great places to eat & some great bars - especially the Alvor just up the road. I would stay here again but nor in a room near the road.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TraceyH50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDHotels, Gerente at Hotel Oriental, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing TDHotels, Hotel Oriental

I´m quite convinced that all reviews will help us to improve our services into a higher quality, for the satisfaction of our guests is to us a matter of a great importance.

Your comments are of a great value to us and will contribute to improve our overall services and guest’s enjoyment.

We hope to have the pleasure of receiving you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Pedro Mamede
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Wonderful hotel, good location, very clean and lovely decor. Best beds we have had in hotel, great nights sleep. Room had sitting area with comfy chairs and padded stool for feet as well as a kitchenette, fridge, skin, hob, kettle, crockery and cutlery. We didn't use hob but did use kettle, fridge ect. Nice garden and pool area for sun bathing. Steps to beach. We certainly recommend this hotel which was very good value for money. There was a good choice for breakfast. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: facing the sea would be good, we had a side view and it was fine but direct would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquiMcCarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDHotels, Gerente at Hotel Oriental, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your wonderful review.
We would like to thank you for your excellent feedback, we were delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We pledge to provide a refined personal service for our guests, as well as properly maintained facilities and are pleased when such effort is recognized.

We sincerely hope that you will visit us again and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Pedro Mamede
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My husband and i have just spent 10 nights at the oriental 31/03/14-10/04/14. We were fisrt shown a room that had a kitchenette in the corner, which we found most offputting. The room had a side sea view plus a small balcony, again not to our taste.302. We then upgraded to room 107 which had a full sea view with a huge balcony. The bed was a superking, as we do at home, so this suited us perfectly. There was also a sofa. The bathroom was large, no bath, but showers are cleaner anyway so again just right. Breakfast was adequate but nothing special.The staff are all very friendly and helpful and made you feel welcome. Outside the hotel were bars and cafe's 50 yards or so, and a 5/10 minute walk took you to a wider range of eateries and shops. The bed was quite firm,too firm for us really. The balcony would have been better for sun bathing if it had loungers, it was more than large enough. We would go back again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a full sea view and larger balcony unless you want the kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jktimms2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDHotels, Gerente at Hotel Oriental, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing TDHotels, Hotel Oriental,

We are thankful for the time you spent sharing your opinion with us and especially for your kind words regarding our service/ staff members.

Your comments are of a great value to us and will contribute to improve our overall services and guest’s enjoyment.

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Pedro Mamede
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel right on the beach towards the marina end of Praia de Rocha. The building itself is more original than the usual multi storey affair, and the hotel interior has character. We had a standard room which was described as having a partial sea view, but since the beach is so massive and there are no large buildings beside the hotel, the view was just amazing. The room itself was really spacious with a large balcony and had a kitchen which we did not use. The breakfast was ample and there was enough choice. We only ate in the hotel one night when they had a Fado night, and it was pretty good, however the local restaurants that we ate in were all impressive, and we thought the prices were excellent. In particular I'd recommend the F restaurant, amazing views and great service, a bit more upmarket than some of the others. For great pizza and pasta then La Dolce Vita, just a minute or two from the hotel, and of the many beach bars, Senhora de Rocha was best for evening meals. The weather was not good enough for us to use the hotel pool, however it looked inviting and the gardens around the hotel are spacious. There is small gym, two running machines and one bike plus a multi gym. We never saw anyone using it though it looked pretty new. Staff were all very nice, we really couldn't find any fault with this hotel, great value for money.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank diaedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDHotels, Gerente at Hotel Oriental, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the preference given to Hotel Oriental, and for leaving your kind words on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us.
Personalized service is very important to us and the service you received is a wonderful example of the team's commitment.

We do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Oriental in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Pedro Mamede
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luterbach, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Fantastic location, helpfull staff , clean , This was a fantastic find us as ,all we wanted was a base for the beach Ok the pool is not in a sunny part of the hotel , whilst we we staying here but the pool was clean with nice beds around...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mary v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDHotels, Gerente at Hotel Oriental, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing TDHotels, Hotel Oriental
,
We are very pleased to know that your stay fulfilled your expectation!
We are thankful for the time you spent sharing your opinion with us and especially for your kind words regarding our service/ staff members.

Your comments are of a great value to us and will contribute to improve our overall services and guest’s enjoyment.
We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.
Best Regards,
Pedro Mamede
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Loved this hotel. Booked as a second choice after a terrible experience from first choice. Rooms are very big. Very clean. Beach right in front of the hotel. Staff where very nice and helpful. My favourite was the cleaning lady.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank veneciabest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TDHotels, Gerente at Hotel Oriental, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest,

I’ve felt amazing reading your wonderful review, for which I thank you so much. Allow me to thank you sincerely on behalf of all the staff members.

Your enthusiasm for our Hotel and Staff is very much appreciated and so we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Hotel Oriental in a not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,
Pedro Mamede
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.2 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
904 reviews
0.3 mi away
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
567 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 78 in Portimao
1,935 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Algarve Casino
Hotel Algarve Casino
#17 of 78 in Portimao
809 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oriental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oriental

Property: Hotel Oriental
Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#4 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oriental 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exotic and charming hotel located in the first line of Praia da Rocha beach, offering rooms with sea view and direct beach access. Nearby is a marina, restaurants, bar, shops and sightseeing interest places.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Oriental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriental Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Hotel Oriental Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing