We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, great staff”
Review of Hotel Oriental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Oriental
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just returned from a weeks holiday in this hotel, would defiantly book again this hotel has exceptionally polite friendly and staff. Our room was very spacious with the most comfortable bed with high quality linen.
Breakfast was very good.
The hotel is cleaned to a very high standard and nothing is too much trouble, if you have an issue they will sort it out.
Great clean beach.
The resort is defiantly made up of 2 halves, the better being near this hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

The hotel is very well located close to the beach and walking distance to many shops.
The staff is friendly and helpful and it is a beautiful hotel. The shower is excellent.
I however rate the hotel on what I expected when making my reservation as opposed to what I actually received.
I booked a "Superior Double Room with Sea View" but the room is neither superior nor has it a sea-view. When checking in, the fine print that states that the balcony has a side sea-view was pointed out to us. There is a side sea view from the balcony but the room itself offers no sea view at all. Had I known this I would not have chosen this hotel.
The room is advertised as having a large balcony but it turned out to be no more that 2 square meters which was in the shade for most of the day and not what was advertised.
No coffee, sugar or milk is provided in the room and the bar fridge is empty.
WiFi is advertised as working anywhere in the hotel. The fact is that there is never a reception in your room but only at the reception desk. You are provided a code for 1 device only and every-time you lose the signal you need to log-in again. The WiFi reception is very slow, but you can buy a fast connection for €10 per day. Interesting the coffee shop across the road offers free WiFi which works quite fast.
Room is advertised as including a safe but you need to collect a lock from reception which is charged at €3 per day or in my case €21 for the 7 day stay.
Breakfast is the same everyday. The only change is that melon and pineapple and preprepared omelet and baked eggs are alternated. It is pretty mediocre and at the end of the week you really don't feel like having any of it.
The hotel has access to the beach but do not provide any beach towels nor are there bathrobes in the bedrooms, which I would have expected from a 4 star hotel.
If you want to visit the beach you will pay €8 per day for two chairs and an umbrella.
The hotel does state that they don't have any parking and this really is a problem. There are only 10 parking bays in the street, 3 of which are permanently occupied by shops from across the road. If you are traveling by car you will have a parking problem and should be prepared to park your car somewhere on a pavement.

When making my booking I relied on information provided on the website in good faith and am disappointed that a hotel in such a prime location must rely on misrepresentation to get my booking.
I will not be back to this hotel and will definitely not recommend it, even to my worst enemy.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank JacoCl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location, at the quiet end of the beach. Staff all very friendly, only thing is that the sofa bed was not in working order, they did however leave another foldable single bed so I doubled up the mattresses and it was very comfortable and let my teenage twins share the king size bed. We had the room on the 3rd floor with a kitchenette and everything we needed was there. Bathroom was great, double basins, (powerful) shower over bath. Another good thing was two tv's with good choice of english/american channels, when it was too hot to be out.
Varied choice of breakfast: cereals, yogurt, fruits and juices, teas, breads, beans, bacon, eggs, european style breakfast too.
Couple of nights had an odd smell from outside, perhaps sewage, but we closed windows and turned the air con on, that seemed to sort it and by morning had forgotten to mention to staff.
We went out for meals every night as found the hotel restaurant quite expensive for what they were serving.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PPP49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We just came back from Portugal and we had very lovely time there! The hotel is very, very close to the beach. The room was very clean, no issues at all. There are very good places down at the beach, where you can have drinks and food. The reception staff was fantastic as well as the housekeeping staff. There were two things which we really didn't like - the sunbeds on swimming pool area and the food at the restaurant. For some reason, most of the sunbeds are on the other side of the garden, which mean you have to constantly walk to the pool. The very few which were around the pool were constantly reserved, which shouldn't be the case, because the hotel clearly states that sunbeds shouldn't be left with personal items while you are not there. is good it you just want to stay under the sun, but if you want to be around the pool, you have no chance unless you get up at 7 and leave your stuff on the sunbed. in our case, didn't really matter as we were down at the beach but if you want to use pool area, be aware. The restaurant food is really disappointing. the breakfast is the same daily, which is ok if there was a choice at least to eat something different every day. But, in this case, no. Just few things, daily.. The evening meal is the same. The same type of food every single night, so you will have potatoes, rice, pasta, same type of salad every day, just cooked differently. We ended up going out to eat somewhere else as we wanted something different. Otherwise, is a lovely place and location, just be aware of the food and whether you want to go for half or full board. I haven't added photos, as the place is really nice as on other photos, no problem with room or anything else.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dori1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is the third time we have stayed at the Oriental, and cant fault it. We asked for a garden room, but as one wasn't available we were upgraded to a Superior. The hotel is spotless and all the staff are very helpful and friendly.
Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RUTH L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Beautiful quiet location, lovely gardens. We had a room with a kitchenette, only downsize was people walking on the roof, which is a public area,when we were in bed in the evening. Staff very friendly and helpful. Immaculately clean hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor overlooking grassed area whilst good have public area on top and are subject to p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jean r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a really nice hotel and I will certainly be going back there again at some point.
The hotel is 4 star in every way ...............staff.............rooms ...........food............location.
Just a couple of niggles though.
The wi fi was free, well as long as you only wanted to check your mails very slowly or otherwise it was 10 euros a day. The fact that you had to log in EVERY time you wanted to use it with full passwords etc became onerous. The bar 50yds away had wi fi that was brilliant and for free and the beers and other drinks were more than half the price of the hotel. We were in fact driven out of the hotel for that reason.
The air con in our room did not work at all. Not a problem for us as the temperature was acceptable for sleeping with the windows open. The downside being we got bit to pieces by mossies.
I am aware that rooms are being upgraded and I am sure that our room will be the next phase so hey ho.
Praia Rocha is a bit tacky but good restraunts abound and eating somewhere different every night we never had a bad meal anywhere. All priced reasonable as well.
Portugal as we know is suffering through a downturn and being a frequent visitor over the last 20 yrs and boy can we tell. Boarded up shops, infrastructure not being repaired. If this fact isn't addressed tourists will stop going and the place will spiral into a worse case scenario than it is now. Come on town council do some repairs !

Room Tip: You should make sure its one that has just been revamped. They are great the others are tired and ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bmwdriverYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.2 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,050 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,068 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#6 of 75 in Portimao
2,268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Algarve Casino
Hotel Algarve Casino
#16 of 75 in Portimao
922 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oriental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oriental

Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#4 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range: £61 - £868 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oriental 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exotic and charming hotel located in the first line of Praia da Rocha beach, offering rooms with sea view and direct beach access. Nearby is a marina, restaurants, bar, shops and sightseeing interest places.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Oriental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriental Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Hotel Oriental Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing