We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
42
57
38
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
57
38
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews entertainment team large balcony with table chairs french clientele great holiday pasta sauce local buses fish dishes buffet style cleaned every day fresh towels every day small hotel clean hotel enjoyed our stay beach towels kids club one bedroom apartment lovely hotel
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed here the end of may with my partner, room was lovely and clean our towels were replaced every day, they also gave us beach towels, the bar staff are very friendly. We went with all inclusive the food was nice the only thing was not much of a selection. Breakfast was alright only bacon one morning. Coffee was good! The location was great only 10-15 minute walk to Praia da Rocha. Honestly wouldn’t stay again only because the hotel was catered more for French.

Stayed: May 2018
1  Thank M1574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

The hotel itself is somewhat dated, and, I would suggest too small for purpose. The bar, dining room, and reception area are all very tight and small.
To the holiday itself. Prepare to be actively excluded if you are not French. The entertainment team are primed to take care of the French residents and will ignore you if you are not. I was there with 3 friends to celebrate our milestone birthday's, and we stayed under an all inclusive package.
We had few complaints about the food, perhaps some of the dishes could have been warmer at times though.
However the choice of drinks was incredibly poor. As a diabetic, there was no diet soda option, which is simply unacceptable. The cocktail choice was also very poor, with 7 VERY basic choices available. The local choices for Gin, White rum, Whiskey, and Vodka were the poorest standard I have encountered on holiday.
Personally, my choice of alcoholic beverage (cider, or dark rum), was not catered for, though dark rum was available at €4.50 charge per drink. Ciders were freely available in other bars, hotels, supermarkets, so I found it frustrating that they couldn't be included within my all inclusive package. Then again, these drinks were clearly not popular among the French, otherwise I'm certain that accommodation's would have been made.
Entertainment, every day/night was in French, and when we asked for our language to be included, we were shrugged aside with complete disregard, being told, "this is not for you". Well pardon moi, but were was the entertainment that we had paid for in our package I wondered.
If my review is somewhat scathing, then so be it. This is the reality of our experience, and at the end of our week long stay, we couldn't wait to leave.
Such a shame as there were some standout staff members employed by the hotel, namely, Bruno & Vitor in the bar. As well as among the restaurant staff.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank FatAnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

We chose this place because of its laid back feel. We were not disappointed. Every member of staff is attentive and polite, friendly and smiling. Excellent quality furnishings and extremely well equipped large appartment with large flatscreen tv’s (bring some films on a memory stick though there was always a film to watch) and cleaned every day. Wonderful sea view from the large balcony. Jet2 do not advertise this place as having a kids club, though there is a brilliant play area with climbing frames and sandpit. Nor does it advertise nightly entertainment so why would you expect it? Can’t comment on the French ‘entertainers’ as we didn’t partake but they’re employed by the French travel company who like jet2 use this hotel. They’re not paid to translate everything for us. We love Vau, stunning scenery, beautiful beaches, really unspoiled by commercialism so far. Plenty of reasonably priced local eateries and within an easy stroll of Praia de rocha where you will find plenty of bars and tourist shops. We stayed self catering with breakfast which was buffet style. It lacked nothing and even had an orange press machine and express pancake maker! The chocolate croissants were warm and yummy. Really hope to come again one day.

Room Tip: Room 510 looks out to sea and is over the pool.
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lambertfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

Please do not assume that the title means that the hotel is all poor. In fact, it had several good points, which I will cover. However, the overriding factor is that, unless you are French, the entertainment staff will actively exclude you. From everything they do.

So 4 of us travelled. We will all have a landmark birthday this year and have known each other for 40+ years. We are not louts or loudmouths. We are 4 guys hoping to have a laugh for a week in the sun. The intention was to spend 4 or 5 nights at the hotel being "entertained" and have 2 or 3 nights on the town.

First impressions were that the hotel was a bit dated, the pool area very small and a bit claustrophobic but the rooms were spacious and relatively clean.

The hotel staff in the bar seemed friendly enough and helpful enough albeit the all inclusive choices were very limited. Basically cheap gin, vodka, Bacardi or some sort of whisky (bear in mind we're 4 Scottish guys, so not easily fooled by a "Scotch").

The hotel staff in the restraunt were friendly and helpful. The food was pretty good and there was something for each of us to enjoy at almost every meal. Although, like other reviewers, we never once got hot food, seldom even warm.

A real cleanliness concern was the toilets by the pool area. Someone had vomited in them and it was left there for upwards of 2 days. Disgusting!

On the first evening we gathered after dinner to have a few drinks and enjoy the entertainment and this is where the problems begin. The entertainment staff, 2 young women and a young man, lay out all the furniture to suit the French families and we were basically stuck in front of the door that leads to the area where people smoke, and there were a lot of smokers!

The next night, there was no space for us, so we were literally left out in the cold looking on to the French being entertained. After this I asked for a little English speaking content and was told "no, French only" and then had a comment in French of course made to the rest of the room, which caused a lot of laughter. It may have been innocent, but I fear not.

The pattern was repeated every night that we stayed at the hotel, which ended up being 4. Some may say, why not go out but we had paid for all inclusive with entertainment, so why should we?

I must save a real positive for Bruno and Vitor who mainly worked in the bar, they were really decent chaps.

Summary, DO NOT GO UNLESS YOU CAN SPEAK FRENCH OR YOU LIKE BEING EXCLUDED.

Room Tip: Above the car park was noisy.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 179scottn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews