We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel da Rocha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel da Rocha
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

The hotel is in a great location, it is just across the road from the beach. The rooms were very spacious and were kept very clean throughout the stay. We had a side sea view balcony which had great views of the beach. The pool was quite small and after about 4pm the sun was blocked by the building so it got cold quite quickly. The breakfast was only ok, we had our breakfast every day in Irelands Eye which had great food and good views of the sea.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenaustin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    319
    55
    12
    8
See reviews for
222
470
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Skibbereen,Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

Myself & my sister stayed here September 2nd until September 9th 2011. Hotel is in a great location, near everything you would possibly need. Staff were very friendly in the hotel. Rooms were a great size, cleaned everyday. Plenty of great pubs & restaurants.

Had a great holiday, will be back again

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

The hotel is off a good standard and very modern. The pool is on the smallish side and never seems to get the sun.

Can be noisy at due to its central location.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NathanGunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Studley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

My boyfriend and I booked this hotel as a last minute break in the sun and we were pleasantly surprised.

Although the location of the hotel means that it gets a little noisy at night, the views of the sea are lovely and its within a very short walking distance of the beach.

Our room had its own small kitchen which came in handy, so although the mini bar was expensive we were able to buy coffee and make a warm beverage.

The beds were very hard and double beds are two large single pushed together, but the bathroom is very modern and the amount of storage space for clothes etc is great.

On a couple of occasions we had a problem with the in-rom safe and although we asked the front desk twice no one turned up to help, but overall the cleaning staff and concierge were very friendly.

Our balcony looked out over the beach and overall we were happy with out stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank titans123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.I.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

The hotel is lovely and modern, rooms spacious and plenty of storage space location over looking the sea is great and you are on the main strip to the local shops, bars and restaurants what else can you as for? Hotel staff and management are vey helpful and polite
I would not book through the booking engine again as they made two bookings from two different cards and caused major problems when we arrived after getting to talk with the booking engine manager it took nearly our whole holiday to get it sorted although in the end he was so rude and aggressive only I was away and did not have the resources to take it further I HAD to let it go also we where to have breakfast and that never happened either and we had paid for it? This holiday was for my Mother and my Aunt after she lost her partner and my daughter to help her over her loss and they worried for ten days over the mistake and whether we would get home or not? (not really a good thing at their ages)???? not really suitable for teenagers or older people as no entertainment at night

Room Tip: all rooms lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megan34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

Well i was only there for one weekend.. But it was great. Very nice staff, clean, open, so good everything!
There is one thing that I did not like.. And that was the breakfest..
Everything was so good, they have like a sushi resturante and it was so nice and lovely I liked everything about it!
The bedrooms are so nice and clean.. And so beutiful I was kindoff stund when we gott in the room hehe
The room servise was also very good.. We where so hungover one day that we sleept thruw breakfest so we order some bread, chips and coffee and it was just so good very unbeliveble hehe
The bartender was not in the house these days so we had the servent from the room servise and he did not know any coktiles.. But he did not let that bother him so he just did them with no problem at all.. Just few phonecalles and he did them with pride and we where very happy it turned out just well! So they do everything for you so you will be happy with no worrys;D
So everything is all worth the money!!
When I go back to Portugal i will come there agine and I recommend this hotel for everybody at at every age! Hope I help someone agine with this! Just enjoy!! Its worth it!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inga53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

We paid extra for a sea view room at the Hotel da Rocha. The hotel itself is superb. Very modern and well decorated. Staff are helpful and very friendly.
Praia da Rocha itself has a brilliant beach. There is a mixture of slightly tacky gift shops, decent restaurants and dodgy pub / nightclubs.

Restaurants I would recommend would be the Casalinho by the beach. go for the prawns to start (they call them shrimps)... to die for. It is also worth a trip to Portimao for dinner. When you get to the main square where the popular tourist restaurants are, carry on walking toward the rail bridge along the waters edge. after 5 mins you will come to a number of fish restaurants that were very tasty.

Main downside... the noise. Potugese youths from Portimao tend to go to Praia on a night out and take great delight in making as much noise as possible as they pass the one 5 star and two 4 star hotels (ours being one). This happens every night. We have an eight year old and whilst it did not spoil our holiday, it could have done.

In addition to this, the hotel opposite (Hotel Jupiter) had a resident "pub" singer playing every night. His set tended to start at 10.30pm and went on until midnight. It was the same set every night and if I ever hear "to all the girls I,ve loved before" one more time I might self harm :-)

In summary great beach, great food and a superb hotel but unless you can guarantee a quiet room it is not ideal if you have a young family.

best wishes

Andrew Miller

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndrewMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.0 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.1 mi away
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 78 in Portimao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oriental
Hotel Oriental
#4 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
8.7 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Rocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Rocha

Property: Hotel da Rocha
Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal (Formerly Rocha Apartment Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#2 Family Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel da Rocha 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Praia da Rocha beach, surrounded by sea, marina and golf courses, Rocha Hotel Apartamento meets all conditions for unforgettable and peaceful family holidays. 158 studios overlooking the sea with kitchenette and balcony, fitted a new architectural design, a new lifestyle, a new art of receiving. It also comprises the following facilities: Grand Caffe Bar, meeting room, swimming pool and underground parking. Rocha Hotel Apartamento, has its name within! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel da Rocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Da Rocha Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing