We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven”
Review of Hotel da Rocha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel da Rocha
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Stayed in Hotel da Rocha for 4 nights and what a stay it was! Beautiful hotel, so modern n perfect location. The beach is literally across the road, theres plenty of bars n restaurants around too. There's a supermarket at the back of the hotel. The rooms are lovely n big. Two flat screen Tv's and have plenty of multi lingual stations. Kitchen is basic n just has the necessities, you wouldn't be able to cook anything but there's a microwave/grill and a small Hob. The beds are comfy (two single beds) and there's plenty of storage space. The staff couldn't have more helpful or friendly and were all just do lovely! I can't wait to come back here again, was just a perfect stay!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shopaholic1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,073)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

602 - 608 of 1,073 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2012

I would recommend this hotel. We moved to this hotel after being disappointed with the Bela Vista. The apartments are spacious with an excellent sea view. The staff were courteous at all times. We would stay again.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We played golf at four different courses. The rooms were great, large and comfortable. We all had sea views. The breakfast wasn't the greatest, but the staff were very attentive.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff_W_Abbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Bit late with my review, but stayed at this hotel last October, 2011 for a week, as a single traveller.

The room was very clean and very modern, and was cleaned everyday. Only downside was no kettle to make a drink, although there was a metal jug that you can heat up on the electric hob, which I found confusing to work, but that may just have been me. The Reception staff were extremely helpful, when my room safe broke down, and put my valuables in their safe for me, while the safe was repaired. But until reading one of the other reviews on here did not know that they supplied towels for the beach, or that you could use the poolside at the sister hotel the Jupiter, to know this would have been a benefit to me as I am disabled and found the downhill to the beach, difficult to get back up. Did not book breakfast or eat in the restaurant, as I like to go out to eat, but the bar staff where pleasant and helpful each night when I called in for my pre-dinner drink. Nevertheless I would still consider using this hotel again, as it is within a very short distance of restaurants and bars, which was a definate benefit for me.

Tips, The Classic Restaurant does a fantastic Stonesteak, really good value for money, and the Jazz restaurant does a really good Cataplana. Irelands Eye, a good lively night out, although be broad minded as the singer can be a bit basic with his language on one or two of the songs. Croake Park pub also good and a lovely little Portuguese place around the corner from the Jazz restaurant, not sure of the name, but it is first left from the Jazz on the main strip back to hotel, the owner has a Maccaw that is as eccentric as him.

Room Tip: If you can afford it pay the extra for a sea front room as pool is completely sheltered from the sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eileen95uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

This hotel overlooks the beach and is literally a two minute walk to the beach. The hotel is fab, very modern and staff are very friendly. We stayed in a room with frontal sea views and it was fab overlooking the beach.
The breakfast is good but obviously you would get tired of it after two days but isnt that the same with every hotel.
The hotel is so well situated we were in the middle of everything. We ate out most evenings and if you are visiting Praia da Rocha definately go to Titantic restaurant it was delicious.
If I was visiting Praia da Rocha again I would return to this hotel!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mariekerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Spent in this hotel 10 days and my opinion about this hotel is:
Advantages:
1. Perfect location (minutes away to the beach and the main street with all bars, pubs);
2. Conditioning system;
3. Hotel provides towels to the beach ( however we were not informed about this on check in so bought our own beach towels; on our fourth day brochure was placed in our room with all information about the hotel - shouldnt it be in the room on arrival??)
4. Sushi bar (love sushi, tried there and it was really good)
5. Free internet

Disadvantages:
1. You need to pay for car park ( there are plenty free car park spaces around the hotel so if you want to save money dont park in the hotel's car park);
2. On check in the receptionist did not provide us with all relevant information about hotel amenities etc, receptionist wasnt very pleasant so we avoid this place and if we need any information we get it from the hotel where our friends stayed
3. On check in porter helped us to bring our luggages up to the room, we tipped him well and then asked if we can use internet in the room - he answered we can but we need to get a cable. When I asked if we can bring one - we were told 'you need to go and get it yoursel'!!! was shocked by this answer
4. Cleaning services wasn't very good;
5. No iron in the room, if you need one you can get it for minutes from reception but they don't really want to give it to you as there is loundry services provided in the hotel, so bring your own travel iron to avoid confusion;
6. Breakfast was the same every morning so it gets boring. So if you stay there book Room Only rate as the prices around the area is around 5 euro per person but you can have breakfast every morning in different places plus you dont need to wake up early only for breakfast.

After all it is good modern hotel in a great loaction. But on our next visit we will stay in Bella Vista hotel which is next to Hotel Praia Da Rocha and people working there are so pleasant and always ready to assist you even if you are not their guest!! The pool and in Bella Vista is great, fabulous restraunt (check out their website plus it is number 1 in tripadvisor and it is really worth to pay more to stay there). The price was only 20 euro more a night than in Hotel Paia Da Rocha..

Room Tip: Worth to pay extra for sea view room - we payed 100 euro extra for 10 days for both of us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Angellica_Sta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Spent a week at this hotel recently.Staff were excellent. Location was perfect. Would not hesitste to recommend this hotel. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyclistOnTheRoads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,097 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#5 of 76 in Portimao
2,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Algarve Casino
Hotel Algarve Casino
#15 of 76 in Portimao
933 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
661 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oriental
Hotel Oriental
#4 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Rocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Rocha

Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal (Formerly Rocha Apartment Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range: £43 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel da Rocha 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Praia da Rocha beach, surrounded by sea, marina and golf courses, Hotel Da Rocha Suites meets all conditions for unforgettable and peaceful family holidays.158 Suites with balcony, most of them overlooking the sea,fitted a new architectural design, a new lifestyle, a new art of receiving. It also comprises the following facilities: Grand Caffe Bar, swimming pool and underground parking Hotel Da Rocha Suites has its name within! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Prestigia, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel da Rocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Da Rocha Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing