We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel”
Review of Hotel da Rocha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel da Rocha
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel”
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Can't fault this hotel at all. Very modern hotel - huge rooms - very clean - friendly staff
Breakfast not great but didn't matter - go for the sea view top floor well worth it !
1st time to Portugal - weather bit iffy and places quiet but nice place.
Did get offered drugs in the streets on a number of occasions we politely said no and they didn't follow us etc - pity police didn't see them especially as a number of times it was right in front of the police station
Prices good all round and food pretty good in all places - 2 euros a pint - we liked moonlight bar over looking the sea at the back of the strip. Hollywood and o'baroa which is turn right off Main Street opposite on the rocks bar were both great for food.
Taxis cheap had trip to Alvor and Portimao

Room Tip: Sea view top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jasonandpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    347
    59
    13
    8
See reviews for
254
516
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Rooms were HUGE, great sea views, central location and really helpful staff! The only downside was the brekkie, huge choice of food but just not to my liking. Also, the pool is surrounded by walls on each side so no sun gets to it after about 4pm and before that it's quite limited. But the beach is across the road so no need for a pool!
I would definitely recommend this hotel, great value for money and couldn't get over how spacious and clean the rooms were!!!

Room Tip: Get a sea view room...well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aoifeey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Excellent hotel with spacious rooms. Go bed and breakfast only as there are many bars and restaurants on the strip. Beach cafes also do excellent food especially seafood
Walk uphill from the beach is a little tough as very steep but short distance
Evenuing meal at the Jupiter next door was a little samish each day but the soup and deserts were superb. Beakfast at the Da Roche was the same each day and was a little boring but of good quality
The beach itself is fantastic and the cleanest I have ever seen
I would recommend this place to everyone

Room Tip: Pay for the seafront rooms on the 5th floor and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

reading other reviews yes it is a peronal preference but for my wife and me it was heaven who
drinks guinness when you go away unless you want to spend your holiday in the toilet as for the room yes there is no kettle we bought a kettle and toaster for 20 euro jusy take out the contents
of the fridge and put in your own stuff we did and had no problem there are loads of restaurants
you are spoiled for choice the food in irelands eye is very good and cheap boogies bar for a good night with ricky and alex walk out the door of hotel across the road and your on the one of the best beaches you will stay on can be windy at times but well worth the stay.it is our forth time
to stay at hotel da rocha cant wait for the fifth.

Room Tip: sea viewa must
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seanie189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Arrived from airport at 11.30 am . Check in was 2pm. They did everything possible for us. We were showed where we could change so we could go for food. Excellent service.
Came back and checked in. Must say room was excellent. We were on the 8th floor and the view was brilliant. Room was cleaned/ serviced everyday so all good. Hotel did
Everything possible for us. We rented the hotel towels for a €20 deposit each. Well worth it as got a new towel everyday going to the beach. Breakfast was good with lots of choice. Location was very good 2 mins to the centre of Praia Da Rocha and far enough out not to hear the pubs/ clubs. Beach is across the road down the steps.
Over all it was an excellent stay and we would go back for sure!!

Room Tip: Go for an upgrade and get the front sea view. Well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Killarney-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Had a wonderful experience at this hotel. We visited mid October and expericenced some lovely warm weather. we informed the hotel prior to arrival that it was our anniversary and were greeted with a bottle of sparkling wine and a fruit basket. we had a sea veiw room which was well worth the extra money. the hotel is clean and tidy, staff are helpfull and all speak english well. the hotel is located along the busy strip of pria da rocha and was probably the best situated hotel of them all, literally steps from the beach and many cafes/restaurants and bars. Overall we really enjoyed our experience here and would not hesitate to return again soon.
To add, breakfast was not the greatest, but it did its job adequately!

Room Tip: Choose a sea veiw room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rani4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Mixed thoughts on this hotel. Nice clean hotel with very friendly staff who were all helpful.
Modern (refurbished) with some nice touches including: -
Free Wifi
Free safe
Two flat screen TV's
Free computer use
Good size room and balcony
There is a small kitchenette which you will see in the marketing material with a two ring halogen cooker and extraction hood, micro wave, sink and cutlery and plate, cups etc. There is a small fridge which is supplied as a mini bar with pre-stocked drinks.
Not so nice touches: -
There were no kettle or pans.
(On enquiry at reception regarding a kettle and pans we were informed that the kitchen was not for cooking? they did provide a saucepan so we could boil water to make tea).
Although the food was mostly OK it was exactly the same every day.
The pool was very small and due to building design hardly got any sun. (No issues getting a sun-bed though, no sun = no sunbathers).
I found the bed hard and did not sleep well (personal preference)

Locally:
Restaurants and bars very close and there is a host of Irish bars, being Irish you would think I was happy but the entertainment and venues became a little mundane half way through the week and there was not a good pint of Guinness anywhere.
We were not impressed with the quality of food we had at the restaurants we used and therefore cannot recommend any (again personal preference)
There is a lovely beach and some lovely walks locally.
We stayed near Alvor last year and had a marvellous time.On reflection it may be me? If you have never been to this resort before you may well have a great time, we have been before. It may be that I have exceeded my quota of this type of holiday.

Room Tip: Excellent 7th floor view for us, be mindful some rooms face concrete walls due to design.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jamgem-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.0 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
933 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
603 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 76 in Portimao
2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 50 in Lagos
3,020 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oriental
Hotel Oriental
#4 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
537 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Rocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Rocha

Property: Hotel da Rocha
Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal (Formerly Rocha Apartment Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#2 Family Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel da Rocha 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Praia da Rocha beach, surrounded by sea, marina and golf courses, Hotel Da Rocha Suites meets all conditions for unforgettable and peaceful family holidays.158 Suites with balcony, most of them overlooking the sea,fitted a new architectural design, a new lifestyle, a new art of receiving. It also comprises the following facilities: Grand Caffe Bar, swimming pool and underground parking Hotel Da Rocha Suites has its name within! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel da Rocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Da Rocha Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing