We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Hotel da Rocha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel da Rocha
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Tullow, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

The location is perfect , few steps to the beach , shops and many restaurants , hotel really modern , very clean , staff really nice and helpful, definitely gonna go back. breakfast was nice many choices , showers are absolutely lovely!:)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Monika_s14a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    351
    61
    13
    8
See reviews for
261
527
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

It is a very bright and modern hotel, right across the beach, which alone makes it very convenient when traveling with kids.

We had asked for one extra bed, having told them that the number of people in our party is 5 (2 adults and our three kids), but we had one large bed that could fit 3 people and a sofa bed...it ended up working out, but there was confusion at the reception and they said we had not informed them of the number of people we had when I'm sure we did. However, it was still a minor wrinkle.

The stay was pleasant. Breakfast was good, but sometimes crowded, but I suppose it is usually the case in the Summer holidays. If you like to sleep in so that you almost miss breakfast, don't go downstairs just 30 minutes before it is over, as the elevator gets really slow as most people have the same idea...however, if you are not traveling in the Summer, you probably won't have a problem with that.

Don't plan to spend your time in the pool, as due to the side it is situated in the property, it is almost always in the shade squeezed between the buildings with no nice view. In our stay there, we only went to the pool once.

Location is great, near everything you may need to be near to (restaurants, supermarkets, stores, souvenir stands) and right across from the beach, which is the best. When at the beach, we usually stayed past the sets of big rocks on the right (the first or second set) where it was way less windy.

Bathroom is huge! Each area of the room has its own TV, which is nice when you have your kids along. There is a little kitchen area, but we ended up not using it much, since there was breakfast provided and we were outside the whole day, not to mention the food in Portugal can be very cheap. Ask the hotel clerks about places where locals eat, as the touristy places on the beach can be more expensive.

Get a room across with ocean view, it is so worth it. The balcony is a perfect place to wind down with a glass of wine (or beer) after a busy day.

We were happy with our choice. If back in Praia da Rocha, we would gladly go stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Claudia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Киев
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Central location - in the beginning of the restaurants and shops street, facing the ocean.
Staff is excellent. New furniture, huge bathroom. Actually, all rooms are very large (40+sq.m)
Take see-front view, otherwise its is noisy during the night.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank spizker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

In the height of season you would pay a lot of money to stay here. At this time of year, it's an absolute bargain. The staff here are so warm and friendly that they are a pleasure to meet. This goes for Portuguese people in general it seems to me. The rooms here are massive: cleanest bathrooms I've seen in a hotel, cooking facilities if you need them, 2 flatscreens, safe, huge beds. The views from the balcony are stunning. Best rooms end in 03 and 04. Stay no lower than the 4th floor.
Bed and breakfast is the way to go as the food is not great but there's plenty of it. Numerous good and inexpensive restaurants can be found on or near the 'Strip'. Have a day out in beautiful Lagos: less than 2 Euros on the train for a 20 minute journey.
Seems to me that September would be an amazing month to visit.

Room Tip: You must get a sea view to help you maximise your enjoyment of this hotel's beautiful location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank bear100no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Just to say that we stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks and want to recommend it highly. The staff especially take a bow. Room great front sea view. Beds gigantic and comfortable. Free safe for your valuables. Flat screen T.Vs. two in each room with USB port so you can put your movies or music onto memory stick and play them from the TV. Food only had breakfast cannot fault (maybe a bit cool at times) but good variety. Bit of street noise but if you close door no problems.
Wifi free bit slow but ok for web searching. £20 deposit gets you free fresh beach towel for your stay each day. £20 refunded at the end of stay. Cheap Bus for Portimao right outside hotel just over a Euro. Room cleaned every day to high standard, sheets changed on regular basis. Except for pool which to be honest we don't use anyway, couldn't fault this hotel. Thank you all at the Da Rocha.

As for Praia Da Rocha try the Dolce Vita restaurant, Ju' restaurant, and Vinho and Comidas. For shopping for food near hotel a small shop down street to right of hotel and first on right again has good supply of needs at fair prices. As for the town bit of a sameness to most of the shops mostly tat to be honest.

Room Tip: Front or side sea view. But if on budget back not too bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TimmyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

After paying a little extra for a sea view (which was totally worth it), we were very pleasantly surprised to find ourselves in a big apartment.

The check-in was simple and efficient, and the staff (at breakfast, at the desk, the cleaners, etc.) were all fantastic.

The view was great, the room was very spacious, the bathroom was well stocked and very clean.

The pool is a little secluded but the beach across the road makes up for it.

Food and drink, whether at the hotel or one of the many local bars and restaurants, is very cost-effective.

Mid-October is the end of the season, so everything is easily accessible, there are no crowds, and the weather is still hot and sunny (but not unbearable),

My only issue is that breakfast is early (7am-10am) so you have to get up early, especially to avoid the 9:30am rush!

This place is great and I would definitely stay here again, without question.

Room Tip: Pay extra for sea view, and Faro airport is 1.5 hours away, so pre-book a transfer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StagPheasantPub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Great location, very clean, spacious and comfortable rooms with 2 televisions comfy sofa and and balconies with good views, nicely stocked mini bars that weren't too pricey, spotless bathroom and cleaned to a high standard on a daily basis ,free wifi and helpful staff, really coudln't fault the place, you wont find better in the area.
The chinese restaurant next door was excellent, best crispy duck I've had!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.0 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
967 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
607 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 76 in Portimao
2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#13 of 51 in Lagos
3,083 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
278 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Rocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Rocha

Property: Hotel da Rocha
Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal (Formerly Rocha Apartment Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#2 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel da Rocha 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Praia da Rocha beach, surrounded by sea, marina and golf courses, Hotel Da Rocha Suites meets all conditions for unforgettable and peaceful family holidays.158 Suites with balcony, most of them overlooking the sea,fitted a new architectural design, a new lifestyle, a new art of receiving. It also comprises the following facilities: Grand Caffe Bar, swimming pool and underground parking Hotel Da Rocha Suites has its name within! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel da Rocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Da Rocha Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing