We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel, 5 Star In My Eyes”
Review of Hotel da Rocha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel da Rocha
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel, 5 Star In My Eyes”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We arrived at this hotel and found ourselves in awe at its beauty. We got to our room and it was modern, shiny, spotless. The beds were so comfortable. We stayed in a Junior Suite with Frontal Ocean View (Room 101). Bathrooms are big and the hotel provide clean towels every day. Rooms are cleaned everyday. Staff are unbelievably friendly, & helpful Special Mention for Ricardo & Carlos on reception both very genuine and nice people. If you find yourself stuck for toothbrushes, toothpaste etc call to reception and they are willing to provide you with these. Breakfast is an experience, a great selection of food's and a chance to meet other residents of the hotel. If you find any of the food is gone or there is no forks, plates etc on tables just mention to the staff and they get what you need. Pool area is nice and not over busy. Bar is great, lovely cocktails and friendly service. Location of Hotel Is Great and close by to everything. Overall this Hotel gave an experience that you would pay hundreds more for in other locations. Cannot fault anything about it and would recommend to any visitors to the resort, Thank you to all staff Hotel Da Rocha. Will Definitely Be Back.

Room Tip: Rooms With a frontal ocean view offer exceptional & breath taking views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of Rocha Hotel Apartment. I am absolutely delighted that you loved your stay and it is a true pleasure to read your comments of the entire team which is always working hard on exceeding all our guests expectations. It is good to hear that we managed to do so during your stay.
Rest assured that I will pass on the feedback to all the team members and in particular to Ricardo and Carlos. Thank you again for your comments and the entire team very much looks forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    358
    63
    13
    8
See reviews for
266
535
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Upon arriving at this hotel for a 5 night stay we were given an upgrade. The room was the biggest hotel room we have ever had. The bed was massive! There was a lounge area which had a sink, fridge, coffee maker, microwave and a tv. The bed area also had a tv which had plenty of English channels, the most I have ever seen in a hotel abroad. The room had a lovely balcony facing the beach. The only thing I didnt like about the room were no bathrobes.
There was plenty of choice at breakfast. There are only a few tables outside so get there early to sit outside.
The reception staff were very helpful in answering our questions of places to go.
If we go back I wouldnt dream of booking anywhere else but this hotel.

Room Tip: Worth the extra to get a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing the Rocha Hotel Apartment and I do very much appreciate your comments on TripAdvisor.
I’m glad to read that you were impressed with the facilities as well as the professionalism of our team members. we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Rocha Hotel Apartment again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Lovely modern hotel with a great location overlooking the beach. Staff were very friendly and the hotel and bedrooms spotless. There was always a great selection of hot and cold foods for breakfast which satisfied my needs and the waiters were very friendly.
Tip take a travel kettle if you like to make your own tea and coffee, bedrooms have cooking facilities but no pots or pans to cook with.
Overall a very clean hotel with polite charming staff, I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigSlimJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you for choosing the Rocha Hotel Apartament for your stay and taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you were impressed with our team members and all the facilities
Again, we thank you for your feedback and very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Rocha Hotel Apartament soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We have just got from a week long stay in the fabulous Algarve. Check in was so quick and the reception staff very pleasant. The location of the hotel is perfect. The room was very comfortable and exceptionally clean. The staff are exceptionally pleasant and couldn't do enough for us. The beach is only a few minutes walk away. Special mention for the beach restaurant Nauticos at the right end of the beach in front of the hotel. Fabulous service and the only spot I think that provides a beach service so you never have to get off the lounger! . The only downsides of the hotel were the pool which, as other reviewers have stated, is poorly situated and a bit on the small side so we only used it once, and the lack of atmosphere in the cafe/bar in the evenings. All in all a great hotel and we would most certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views and less noise from passers by on the street below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happywandering926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
We are thrilled to hear how impressed you were with your recent stay at the Rocha Hotel Apartament. Thank you for sharing this positive feedback with the TripAdvisor community. We are delighted that you appreciated the level of service you receveid during your stay.
Moreover we are so pleased to hear that you are planning to come back. we will be waiting for your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a little weekend get away. Not only is the hotel in a great location but the hotel itself is brilliant. Its far enough off the main strip so you are not kept up by the night life yet close enough that a quick drink is only minutes away and on top of that its overlooking the beach which is only moments away. We went away for an anniversary and when we were given 2 singles needless to say after a quick phone call to reception 5 minutes later house keeping had been called to the hotel, the rooms were turned into doubles and we had a bottle of sparkling delivered. The reception recommended 2 great local restaurants which were fantastic. Other than the pool being on the north side of the hotel and slightly let's the hotel down, it is great value and great service. Thoroughly recommended for a quick get away to the area.

Room Tip: Request a sea view executive
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
First of all let me congratulate you again on your anniversary. We are very pleased that you chose the Rocha Hotel Apartament for this special day. I am absolutely delighted that you loved your stay and it is a pleasure to pass on your comments to the entire team. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel from 17th for 8nights. It is our last night tonight :(

This was booked through lowcost holidays and was just under £350 each B & B.

Decided to have just breakfast for a change and sample the restaurants.
I think half board meant eating your evening meal at the sister hotel across the road.

Breakfast was lovely not to much that there was waste or that it sat in trays for hours. Good choice of juices, cereals, breads, cakes, fresh fruit and full english. The sausages and bacon were lovely :) if you wanted you could eat outside which was nice.

The rooms are very spacious and modern. Nice bathroom with bath/shower towels changed daily. No need to bring a hairdryer as one in bathroom.

The safe in room was free!

Massive bed, 2 tvs one by bed one by sofa area. Kitchenette inc crockery and cutlery, microwave and hob but no kettle but metal jug to boil water. The fridge had a mini bar. We paid a little extra for side seaview which was worth it. One of best rooms stopped in.

Pool wasn't massive but very nice and clean. Around 20 loungers but always got a bed. Bit shady in afternoon round some of pool but mostly sunny if you sit in right place.

Beach is only a stones throw and has lovely sand and cafes/restaurants along the boardwalk leading to marina.

The cheapest best value for money supermarket is Spar about 500yards away on the strip.

The strip is right out of hotel with bars/shops etc.

We ate somewhere different each night inc Adris, Hollywood steakhouse, Cletonina, Shanghai Gourmet above the shops all were lovely and would eat there again.

Went to Slide and Splash waterpark oneday. Not far away something different go when its warm but good fun :)

Free wifi in the hotel which is bonus.

All in all lovely holiday beautiful modern hotel with friendly helpful staff.

Would recommend to family and friends :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tashtash86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you for your preference in selecting the Rocha Hotel Apartament for your holiday and writing about your recent experience with us. I am absolutely pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to welcoming you back again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Stayed five nights and can't speak highly enough of this hotel.Right on the beach the hotel
Is almost new with huge rooms and comfortable beds .The staff are pleasant
And can't do enough for you .the room was cleaned daily and the breakfast
Is very good with great choice of everything you could want.Free Wi Fi all over the
Hotel too. Will be back soon

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FinnGrehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you so much for sharing this review regarding your stay at the Rocha Hotel Apartment. It is good to hear you had a wonderful experience with us. Moreover we appreciate hearing that you have enjoyed our staff. We look forward to having you with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.0 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
995 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 75 in Portimao
2,132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Algarve Casino
Hotel Algarve Casino
#16 of 75 in Portimao
878 reviews
0.5 mi away
Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Turisticos
Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Tur...
#11 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
289 reviews
0.7 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#6 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Rocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Rocha

Property: Hotel da Rocha
Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal (Formerly Rocha Apartment Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#2 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel da Rocha 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Praia da Rocha beach, surrounded by sea, marina and golf courses, Hotel Da Rocha Suites meets all conditions for unforgettable and peaceful family holidays.158 Suites with balcony, most of them overlooking the sea,fitted a new architectural design, a new lifestyle, a new art of receiving. It also comprises the following facilities: Grand Caffe Bar, swimming pool and underground parking Hotel Da Rocha Suites has its name within! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, Prestigia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel da Rocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Da Rocha Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing