We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply out of this world!!”
Review of Hotel da Rocha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel da Rocha
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel!! It is simply out of this world from the extremely helpful staff, great breakfast, superb rooms and amenities throughout the hotel (particularly loved the book swap area and the service of fresh beach towels everyday for a deposit of 20euro at check in)!! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definately be returning! Having read other reviews before travelling, we were a little worried about the pool..however it didn't disappoint! While the pool is shaded from around 4 o clock in the afternoon, it is extremely enjoyable and relaxing to catch some morning sun right up until 2 or 3 o clock and then to head to the beach nearby! Therefore, I don't see the pool location to be as big an issue as some other reviews make it out to be!! Overall location of the hotel is ideal...a few minutes walk to all bars and restaurants and the beach! highly impressed by this hotel! Can't wait to return :))

Room Tip: Room 806 had a beautiful side sea view!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OrlaithMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a magnificant review. We are really thrilled to hear how impressed you were with your recent stay at the Rocha Hotel Apartament. It is always very gratifying for us when we receive feedback from satisfied guests, we are absolutely delighted that you loved your stay and it is a true pleasure to pass on your comments to the entire team. we can't wait to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,026)
There are newer reviews for Hotel da Rocha
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

512 - 518 of 1,026 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2013

We are just back from a weeks break at this fab hotel. We stayed there 2 years ago & loved it and couldn't wait to go back. We were hopeful that it would be as good second time around & it definitely was! We had a large seafront room which had a spectacular view! The staff in the hotel are always helpful, the rooms spotless & cleaned everyday. I could not say enough about it! The location is perfect for the beach & restaurants, bars within a stones throw. Needless to say we will be back!

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms have fantastic view!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that this is your second time in our hotel and that we manage to exceed your expectations and overall it is great to hear that you will return. It is always very gratifying for us when we receive feedback from satisfied guests. Thank you again for your comments and the entire team very much looks forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights last weekend. I've traveled a lot for work in the past and have very high standards for rooms, and this hotel exceeded all expectations. Wonderful value for the price! We had a very large ocean view room (would definitely recommend getting, the view is worth the extra cost) which was spotlessly clean. The hotel is located on the end of a strip area with plenty of cheap restaurants and bars within walking distance. We found a happy hour with 1 euro beers that we quite enjoyed right down the road. All the staff (in fact, everyone in the area) spoke very good English. Enjoyed the breakfast buffet, nice selection of hot and cold foods. The beautiful pristine sandy beach was straight ahead. Prettiest beach I have ever been too! We used YellowFishTransfers.com to get us from the Faro airport to the hotel. Our driver was there waiting for us at the airport and was waiting for us at the hotel for our return. I would highly recommend using them. We will definitely be coming back to Hotel da Rocha and will be telling all of our friends that this is where to go for a fabulous beach getaway!

Room Tip: splurge for the ocean view!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Thank you for your evaluation and for choosing Rocha Hotel Apartment. Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

I booked a room on the website trivago which brought me to a site called clever hotels.com. I wanted the best of the best as it was a special occasion and it told me the premium room was the best one to choose. It was more expensive than duluxe which obviously meant it was the best room!... The the thing was annoyed me the most was when I rang to confirm our room on the 8th floor(as i read previous reviews only to book 8th floor!) the man on the phone assured us everything was fine and he GUARANTEED us a room on the top floor. However, when we arrived at the hotel a lady with red glasses was so rude and would not put us in the room we requested and paid for! She said the hotel was fully booked and the only room they had was 2nd floor but it was really only partial sea view. Our room was a twin room with 2 beds pushed together which I just hate. It's so uncomfortable and for such a nice hotel it's a shame to put a couple in a twin room! We think she did it on purpose. When we complained she got aggressive and arrogant. We travel Alot and it's always important to have friendly staff In reception. We got dumped in a bad room even though I paid top price. It was so noisy especially at night and there was no iron in the room. I feel like I should have gotten a refund for the actual price I should have paid. It is a stunning hotel but they just seem to rip off the people who pay top price. Will never return and would recommend to pay for standard room and then upgrade in reception instead of the other way around!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shadow045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry to hear that we could not meet your expectations. Please rest assured that we take all comments very serious and use them to improve our services on a daily basis. In order to investigate further I would appreciate if you could contact me on - cheferecepcao@hoteldarocha.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We arrived at this hotel and found ourselves in awe at its beauty. We got to our room and it was modern, shiny, spotless. The beds were so comfortable. We stayed in a Junior Suite with Frontal Ocean View (Room 101). Bathrooms are big and the hotel provide clean towels every day. Rooms are cleaned everyday. Staff are unbelievably friendly, & helpful Special Mention for Ricardo & Carlos on reception both very genuine and nice people. If you find yourself stuck for toothbrushes, toothpaste etc call to reception and they are willing to provide you with these. Breakfast is an experience, a great selection of food's and a chance to meet other residents of the hotel. If you find any of the food is gone or there is no forks, plates etc on tables just mention to the staff and they get what you need. Pool area is nice and not over busy. Bar is great, lovely cocktails and friendly service. Location of Hotel Is Great and close by to everything. Overall this Hotel gave an experience that you would pay hundreds more for in other locations. Cannot fault anything about it and would recommend to any visitors to the resort, Thank you to all staff Hotel Da Rocha. Will Definitely Be Back.

Room Tip: Rooms With a frontal ocean view offer exceptional & breath taking views.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of Rocha Hotel Apartment. I am absolutely delighted that you loved your stay and it is a true pleasure to read your comments of the entire team which is always working hard on exceeding all our guests expectations. It is good to hear that we managed to do so during your stay.
Rest assured that I will pass on the feedback to all the team members and in particular to Ricardo and Carlos. Thank you again for your comments and the entire team very much looks forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Upon arriving at this hotel for a 5 night stay we were given an upgrade. The room was the biggest hotel room we have ever had. The bed was massive! There was a lounge area which had a sink, fridge, coffee maker, microwave and a tv. The bed area also had a tv which had plenty of English channels, the most I have ever seen in a hotel abroad. The room had a lovely balcony facing the beach. The only thing I didnt like about the room were no bathrobes.
There was plenty of choice at breakfast. There are only a few tables outside so get there early to sit outside.
The reception staff were very helpful in answering our questions of places to go.
If we go back I wouldnt dream of booking anywhere else but this hotel.

Room Tip: Worth the extra to get a sea facing room.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing the Rocha Hotel Apartment and I do very much appreciate your comments on TripAdvisor.
I’m glad to read that you were impressed with the facilities as well as the professionalism of our team members. we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Rocha Hotel Apartment again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Lovely modern hotel with a great location overlooking the beach. Staff were very friendly and the hotel and bedrooms spotless. There was always a great selection of hot and cold foods for breakfast which satisfied my needs and the waiters were very friendly.
Tip take a travel kettle if you like to make your own tea and coffee, bedrooms have cooking facilities but no pots or pans to cook with.
Overall a very clean hotel with polite charming staff, I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BigSlimJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Thank you for choosing the Rocha Hotel Apartament for your stay and taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you were impressed with our team members and all the facilities
Again, we thank you for your feedback and very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Rocha Hotel Apartament soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.0 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,029 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 75 in Portimao
2,218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Algarve Casino
Hotel Algarve Casino
#16 of 75 in Portimao
902 reviews
0.5 mi away
Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Turisticos
Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Tur...
#10 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
304 reviews
0.7 mi away
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Rocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Rocha

Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal (Formerly Rocha Apartment Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#2 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range: £53 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel da Rocha 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Praia da Rocha beach, surrounded by sea, marina and golf courses, Hotel Da Rocha Suites meets all conditions for unforgettable and peaceful family holidays.158 Suites with balcony, most of them overlooking the sea,fitted a new architectural design, a new lifestyle, a new art of receiving. It also comprises the following facilities: Grand Caffe Bar, swimming pool and underground parking Hotel Da Rocha Suites has its name within! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel da Rocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Da Rocha Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing