We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel da Rocha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel da Rocha
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Just returned from 5 nights at this hotel. The room was huge, with a big living room area and generously sized balcony. The room was always kept clean and in good condition. The location is also excellent, just moments from the beach and the main strip of bars & restaurants; and only 10 minutes walk from the marina area of the resort too!
Only two minor grumbles prevent this getting 5/5 -- first, although it is marketed as a "apartment hotel", the rooms do have a hob but no kettle or cooking utensils, and second, while the breakfast is included in the cost, it is only served until 10am (which would be fine for a business hotel, but seems a bit much to expect people on holiday to be up at that time!).
These are minor grumbles though, it is a fantastic hotel and if you're going to Praia de Rocha, this hotel is a great choice!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gallivantors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Thank you very much for choosing the Rocha Hotel Apartment for your stay .
Regarding your comments about breakfast we have the pleasure to announce that we have extended the hours of this service from 7h till 10.30h.
We hope to have the pleasure of your company soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    319
    55
    12
    8
See reviews for
222
470
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kerry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel!! It is simply out of this world from the extremely helpful staff, great breakfast, superb rooms and amenities throughout the hotel (particularly loved the book swap area and the service of fresh beach towels everyday for a deposit of 20euro at check in)!! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definately be returning! Having read other reviews before travelling, we were a little worried about the pool..however it didn't disappoint! While the pool is shaded from around 4 o clock in the afternoon, it is extremely enjoyable and relaxing to catch some morning sun right up until 2 or 3 o clock and then to head to the beach nearby! Therefore, I don't see the pool location to be as big an issue as some other reviews make it out to be!! Overall location of the hotel is ideal...a few minutes walk to all bars and restaurants and the beach! highly impressed by this hotel! Can't wait to return :))

Room Tip: Room 806 had a beautiful side sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OrlaithMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a magnificant review. We are really thrilled to hear how impressed you were with your recent stay at the Rocha Hotel Apartament. It is always very gratifying for us when we receive feedback from satisfied guests, we are absolutely delighted that you loved your stay and it is a true pleasure to pass on your comments to the entire team. we can't wait to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We are just back from a weeks break at this fab hotel. We stayed there 2 years ago & loved it and couldn't wait to go back. We were hopeful that it would be as good second time around & it definitely was! We had a large seafront room which had a spectacular view! The staff in the hotel are always helpful, the rooms spotless & cleaned everyday. I could not say enough about it! The location is perfect for the beach & restaurants, bars within a stones throw. Needless to say we will be back!

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms have fantastic view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that this is your second time in our hotel and that we manage to exceed your expectations and overall it is great to hear that you will return. It is always very gratifying for us when we receive feedback from satisfied guests. Thank you again for your comments and the entire team very much looks forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights last weekend. I've traveled a lot for work in the past and have very high standards for rooms, and this hotel exceeded all expectations. Wonderful value for the price! We had a very large ocean view room (would definitely recommend getting, the view is worth the extra cost) which was spotlessly clean. The hotel is located on the end of a strip area with plenty of cheap restaurants and bars within walking distance. We found a happy hour with 1 euro beers that we quite enjoyed right down the road. All the staff (in fact, everyone in the area) spoke very good English. Enjoyed the breakfast buffet, nice selection of hot and cold foods. The beautiful pristine sandy beach was straight ahead. Prettiest beach I have ever been too! We used YellowFishTransfers.com to get us from the Faro airport to the hotel. Our driver was there waiting for us at the airport and was waiting for us at the hotel for our return. I would highly recommend using them. We will definitely be coming back to Hotel da Rocha and will be telling all of our friends that this is where to go for a fabulous beach getaway!

Room Tip: splurge for the ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Thank you for your evaluation and for choosing Rocha Hotel Apartment. Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

I booked a room on the website trivago which brought me to a site called clever hotels.com. I wanted the best of the best as it was a special occasion and it told me the premium room was the best one to choose. It was more expensive than duluxe which obviously meant it was the best room!... The the thing was annoyed me the most was when I rang to confirm our room on the 8th floor(as i read previous reviews only to book 8th floor!) the man on the phone assured us everything was fine and he GUARANTEED us a room on the top floor. However, when we arrived at the hotel a lady with red glasses was so rude and would not put us in the room we requested and paid for! She said the hotel was fully booked and the only room they had was 2nd floor but it was really only partial sea view. Our room was a twin room with 2 beds pushed together which I just hate. It's so uncomfortable and for such a nice hotel it's a shame to put a couple in a twin room! We think she did it on purpose. When we complained she got aggressive and arrogant. We travel Alot and it's always important to have friendly staff In reception. We got dumped in a bad room even though I paid top price. It was so noisy especially at night and there was no iron in the room. I feel like I should have gotten a refund for the actual price I should have paid. It is a stunning hotel but they just seem to rip off the people who pay top price. Will never return and would recommend to pay for standard room and then upgrade in reception instead of the other way around!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shadow045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry to hear that we could not meet your expectations. Please rest assured that we take all comments very serious and use them to improve our services on a daily basis. In order to investigate further I would appreciate if you could contact me on - cheferecepcao@hoteldarocha.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

We arrived at this hotel and found ourselves in awe at its beauty. We got to our room and it was modern, shiny, spotless. The beds were so comfortable. We stayed in a Junior Suite with Frontal Ocean View (Room 101). Bathrooms are big and the hotel provide clean towels every day. Rooms are cleaned everyday. Staff are unbelievably friendly, & helpful Special Mention for Ricardo & Carlos on reception both very genuine and nice people. If you find yourself stuck for toothbrushes, toothpaste etc call to reception and they are willing to provide you with these. Breakfast is an experience, a great selection of food's and a chance to meet other residents of the hotel. If you find any of the food is gone or there is no forks, plates etc on tables just mention to the staff and they get what you need. Pool area is nice and not over busy. Bar is great, lovely cocktails and friendly service. Location of Hotel Is Great and close by to everything. Overall this Hotel gave an experience that you would pay hundreds more for in other locations. Cannot fault anything about it and would recommend to any visitors to the resort, Thank you to all staff Hotel Da Rocha. Will Definitely Be Back.

Room Tip: Rooms With a frontal ocean view offer exceptional & breath taking views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of Rocha Hotel Apartment. I am absolutely delighted that you loved your stay and it is a true pleasure to read your comments of the entire team which is always working hard on exceeding all our guests expectations. It is good to hear that we managed to do so during your stay.
Rest assured that I will pass on the feedback to all the team members and in particular to Ricardo and Carlos. Thank you again for your comments and the entire team very much looks forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Upon arriving at this hotel for a 5 night stay we were given an upgrade. The room was the biggest hotel room we have ever had. The bed was massive! There was a lounge area which had a sink, fridge, coffee maker, microwave and a tv. The bed area also had a tv which had plenty of English channels, the most I have ever seen in a hotel abroad. The room had a lovely balcony facing the beach. The only thing I didnt like about the room were no bathrobes.
There was plenty of choice at breakfast. There are only a few tables outside so get there early to sit outside.
The reception staff were very helpful in answering our questions of places to go.
If we go back I wouldnt dream of booking anywhere else but this hotel.

Room Tip: Worth the extra to get a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing the Rocha Hotel Apartment and I do very much appreciate your comments on TripAdvisor.
I’m glad to read that you were impressed with the facilities as well as the professionalism of our team members. we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Rocha Hotel Apartment again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.0 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
0.1 mi away
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 78 in Portimao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oriental
Hotel Oriental
#4 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
8.7 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Rocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Rocha

Property: Hotel da Rocha
Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal (Formerly Rocha Apartment Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#2 Family Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel da Rocha 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Praia da Rocha beach, surrounded by sea, marina and golf courses, Rocha Hotel Apartamento meets all conditions for unforgettable and peaceful family holidays. 158 studios overlooking the sea with kitchenette and balcony, fitted a new architectural design, a new lifestyle, a new art of receiving. It also comprises the following facilities: Grand Caffe Bar, meeting room, swimming pool and underground parking. Rocha Hotel Apartamento, has its name within! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Prestigia, Agoda, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, LoveHolidays and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel da Rocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Da Rocha Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing