We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful as usual”
Review of Hotel da Rocha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel da Rocha
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“wonderful as usual”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed here for a week.This is our fourth time to stay here.We had a great sea-view worth paying a bit extra for it.The room was clean and spacious and we got fresh clean towels everyday.The breakfast has improved since our last stay they have proper sausages not the mini frankfurter style and lovely bacon.There is also fresh fruit;cereals;juices;fresh bread and rolls;pastries; and a hot drinks machine.The staff are very friendly and helpful.The only thing that lets this hotel down is its pool.It is in a sheltered area and doesn't get much sun.The pool itself is freezing.Looking forward to going back again next year.

Room Tip: pay a bit extra for the sea-view its well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judywoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you are continuing to enjoy our hospitality as we try to maintain and improve our service and returning customers are the markers for our success in this. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    338
    58
    12
    9
See reviews for
247
498
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Great looking hotel ultra modern , spot on location , but couldn't stay here in the peak summer months on account of the pool ,tucked away at the back even though we only had 4 hours of sun in 5 days ,sun only shone on a third of the pool , google similar hotels 30 min, away in Madeira ( the Vine and the Lince ) same style of hotel but there pools are on the roof !,where this should be ,never less a good hotel , good staff ,shame we probably wont return here( the algarve ) in september due to poor weather ,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Good4meLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you so much for your review. It is greatly appreciated to know that we give a good service here . Maybe you will consider coming back tp Algarve and then we hope to be of service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Hotel was great. All staff were friendly and helpful. Very clean. Breakfast good. The only downfall for this hotel is the pool, its very small and doesnt really get the sun. so if you are a sun whorshipper I would reconsider. I know the beach is across the road but the hassle. Great Location



  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 405Patrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you so much for your review . It is good to know that our service is appreciated and we hope to maintain and improve for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carron, Fakirk United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Having had your first night in th hotel da rocha the room is fab the view is fab but the breakfast was cold, but an other nine nights to go so hope it improves, the rest of the hotel is brill a view out of this world even though it is raining at thr moment bit not the hotels fault. Will update later in the holiday.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear guest,
We are here to meet your expectations. Will work hard every day to exceed them.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This was my 6th time in Praia Da Rocha and my 2nd stay at the fantastic hotel Da Rocha. In my eyes this hotel deserves a 5 start rating for mostly everything it does but the shaded area and the size of the pool for the size of the accommodation lets it down. (issue 1) Hopefully this is something that is being looked at?

The hotel itself is modern, clean and centrally located for everything that is available in Rocha. The 2nd issue I had was we had 2 rooms 713 and 714 and there was a really bad and pungent smell at certain times of the day. I think there may have been a blocked sewage or drain pipe. It wasn't a major issue but it did making sleeping one particular night quite uncomfortable.

Everything else though was fantastic, the rooms were cleaned daily and fresh towels provided. The mini-bar also re-stocked and the breakfast selections far better than my previous stay and there was something for everyone to eat.

Other places to mention in Rocha that are worth visiting and make the stay all the better in no particular order.

Daly's Irish Bar - best craic and company in town and the staff are fantastic.
Cafe Del Mar - the steaks in this place are simply amazing.
Ireland's Eye - Nice place for drinks and snacks.
Durtie Nellies - fantastic measures, well air conditioned and nice bit out the back for kids.

Above all though is the superb beach club that can be found down at the Marina its a 10 minute walk from Hotel Da Rocha or €4 in a taxi. The entry is €5 per adult kids go free. But for that you get a pool that looks out onto the sea, a fantastic bed/chair, superb choice of cocktails and food. And generally just the most chilled back place to hang about. Sadly on previous visits I had never found this place but so wish I had. When down there I would also reccomend eating and drinking at Dockside and Waterfront. Both places were excellent with brilliant service.

I am already looking forward to 2014 and heading back to Rocha. I am not sure that I will stay in Hotel Da Rocha next year but this is no slate on the hotel I'd just like to try something nearer the Marina.

Room Tip: Have breakfast every day in the hotel and explore the other places mentioned above for food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaffergc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for your very generous comments. I have taken on board your comments about the pool and the smell (probably it came from the outside when the tide changed).
We are glad that we did not disappoint and will endeavour to maintain and improve our service for the future. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Just returned from an 11 day stay at this hotel, and I can honestly say it was a pleasure to stay at this hotel. We walked in straight off the street with no accommodation due to certain circumstances, and from straight away the woman at reception could not have been more helpful in sorting us out with a room. The rooms are fantastic with king size beds , a fridge , a cooking hob and microwave. The breakfast every morning was superb with a great selection of hot and cold meats , breads and cakes. The staff in the hotel are excellent and very friendly especially the two bar men. The hotel has a great location at the quitter end of the strip and right opposite the entrance to a beautiful beach. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and hopefully I will be returning next year.

Room Tip: If possible book a room with a sea view , as the views are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing the Rocha Hotel Apartment for your holiday and I do very much appreciate your comments on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and to know that our team members made you feel very welcome. I will make sure that I will pass on the message to our whole team. Once again thank you so much for sharing your experience with us and we hope to welcome you back soon to the Rocha Hotel Apartment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dakar
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I've spend my holidays with family overthere and I just can say that this hotel deserve the best rating in terms of location (seafront), product (great and huge rooms), service and Breakfast. Very good quality for what we've paid and extremely nice and efficient staff. Thumbs up for the whole team especially Rute from the Reservations who has done her best to provide us a memorable stay. We'll definitely come back!

Room Tip: Ask for Seaview rooms. The view is speachless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for your preference in selecting our hotel for your holiday and writing about your recent experience with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Regarding your comments about the team members I will be sure to share them with the entire team, especially Rute and thank them for their continued commitment to providing quality service and ensuring that our guests are well taken care of.
We can´t wait to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.0 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 79 in Portimao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oriental
Hotel Oriental
#4 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
7.8 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 52 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Rocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Rocha

Property: Hotel da Rocha
Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal (Formerly Rocha Apartment Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#2 Family Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel da Rocha 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Praia da Rocha beach, surrounded by sea, marina and golf courses, Rocha Hotel Apartamento meets all conditions for unforgettable and peaceful family holidays. 158 studios overlooking the sea with kitchenette and balcony, fitted a new architectural design, a new lifestyle, a new art of receiving. It also comprises the following facilities: Grand Caffe Bar, meeting room, swimming pool and underground parking. Rocha Hotel Apartamento, has its name within! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel da Rocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Da Rocha Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing