We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outsanding hotel and service”
Review of Hotel da Rocha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel da Rocha
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Outsanding hotel and service”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed here from 2/10-7/10 myself and hubby for our aniversary on b&b basis. We arrived by car at 2.30pm, check in was quick, car parking was 30euros for the 5 nights which was reasonable especially with limited parking on the streets.

I had requested a high room but we where given a room on the 1st floor which was a little disapointing but the room was beautifull the best we had stayed in, we had a side sea view room which was lovely but i can only imagine how amazing a front seaview room would of been (although they where sold out when we booked ). Although the hotel was aware it was our aniversary, (plus having our aniversary cards on display as we gave them to eachother on the day we arrived being our aniversary) there wasnt any little surprises left in our room like other guests had mentioned they had recieved, but this is only a tiny niggle.
Maid service was ok, beds made every day, you coud have clean towels everyday if you wished, cleaning of the room was done to a bare minimum with a quick brush of the floor etc, no work surfaces where wipped throughout our stay even in the mini kitchen area which i was a little surprised at. Shower was fantastic, plenty of closet space, setees and armchairs where lovely, 2 x plasma tv's with great selection of channels. Beds where two twins put together but this equalled to the size of a superking bed back home. Air con and central heating was great. From outside we felt that this hotel was on par with Bella Vista across the road, at night it had different colour mood lighting on each balcony and it looked lovely very impressive!.
In the mini kitchen area you are provided with some plates, bowls, cups and saucers although no tea/coffee making equipment provided. Microwave, cutlery, bottle opener and a tea towel. we made some sandwhiches twice and the utensils provided where sufficient, we didnt go away to cook ourselves wanted a nice break from cooking and washing up, and tbh the food is so reasonable at the resort you dont need to (see my food reiews for restraunts we visited), but bare in mind the kichen has no pots/pans etc to make a full blown meal which suited us.

We rented 2 beach towels which cost us 20 euros deposit each that we used during the day, and gave in for new clean ones on our way back from the beach in the afternoon, lovely thick quality to the towels and at the end of our stay you get your 20euros back.

On our first morning I woke up to having pregnancy complications and needed to get to a hospitol. My husband asked at the desk info on the nearest hospitol, we were told to use the private hospitol as we had travel insurance it was in Alvor 2 miles down the road, with directions given. Outcome was great and positive with the hospitol. We arrived back at the hotel only 4 hours later for the member of staff to ask how i was which I felt was very nice. Pharmacy is at the back of the hotel accros the road which is very handy when given a perscription for medication by the hospitol we where unsure where to go, but knew the hotel staff would be able to help us.

Hotels supermarket is at the back of the hotel next door to the car parking. Very reasonable prices, and lovely fresh bread throughout the day none of it going stale which is a 1st that we've seen at abroad supermarkets. Jumbo and Lidl are cpuple of miles away we went to Jumbo, its huge but tbh the hotel supermarket was just as good for essentials and cold drinks to take down to the beach.

The beach is amazing, one of the best we've been on. We hired sunbeds and a parasol which was a must even for us being sun worshipers that came to 10 euros per day which was well worth it. The restraunts on the beach are lovely and very reasonable for lunch, one day we had a pizza & chips between us with 1 pint of coke and 1 pint of larger shandy which came to 15 euros which we felt was very reasonable. They also do plastic take away cups ideal for a cold shandy down at the beach.

My husband was dying to go on the jetski's being the big kid he is he got the price down to 35 euros for 30 mins, which was better than the normal price of 40 euros for 20 mins, but he payed for it the next day pulling his muscles in his legs.

Breakfast was lovely cooked breakfast, fruit, cereal, pastries, cheese, ham bread, rolls etc. fruit juice and tes/coffee plenty of choice. We used the room service on our first night as we where so tired, pizza 7 chipps which came to 10 euros + 3.50 room service which we thought was a bargain as you'd never get those prices in any 4* hotels in our country, we've previously paid £12pp to have breakfast brought to our room in some uk hotels, and that didnt include the food cost!. Food was lovely too, on our last night after a disasterous meal for me in alvor, I came home to have a meal from room service. Lasagne and chips came to 10 euro, lasagne was gorgeous and you just cant go wrong for the price.

On a whole I would recomend this hotel to anyone, we are looking at comming back next year with the whole family we where that impressed.

The hotel staff are a credit!, there attention to detail is fantastic, as we walked through the main door one day a receptionist was comming to great us with clean fresh beach towels for the next day!, they really do go that extra mile. On our last morning we had to leave at 3am, waiting for us at reception was a breakfast box containing, sandwhich x 2, apple x 2 and carton of juice x 2, check out was simply hand our card in and go.

Niggles: I do feel the maid service could of been a bit more thorough e.g sweeping of the floors better, and wiping down worksurfaces. We didnt use the pool but could see why so many mention the fact its not in the best location unlike the hotel jupiters next door, but this didnt bother us as we planned a total beach holiday, but bringing our kids back next year would cause some issues, as the pool is very small and the fact that there is not much sun on the area throughout the day would be an issue to consider. We iron as we go with clothes on holls, we where thinking on bringing our own iron but in the end had no luggae space left, we borrowed the hotels iron & board, but these are so limited, maybe an idea to have irons & boards in the bedrooms or have some ready to hire which we asked could we do but they didnt have anough as they had come from house keeping.

Gutted to be waking up this morning to rainy wales and not to the gloreous weather in Praia da rocha, but more excited to be thinking of our next holiday at this hotel next year :)

Room Tip: Book as early as possile and buy a sea view room if there are any left!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bekkycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted you were impressed by the hotel and team members. I will be sure to share them with the entire team and thank them for their continued commitment to providing quality service and ensuring that our guests are well taken care of.
Thank you again for your comments and the entire team very much looks forward to your next stay with us.






We hope that we will not disappoint on any future visits and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    351
    61
    13
    8
See reviews for
261
527
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed here for two weeks 8th -22nd September. We had booked a sea view and were really pleased as overlooking the beach whilst having a drink on the balcony is well worth it. The room was very spacious, cleaned daily and the fridge, safe and air conditioning are at no extra charge.
We were on bed and breakfast basis, the breakfast was plentiful and well cooked, lots of choice of fruit cereals, croissants etc and as someone else has mentioned proper sausages. Eating out in the evening is no problem as many restaurants near by. There is a supermarket at the back of the hotel (opposite the pharmacy) which has all you need including fresh bread, cakes and fruit and drinks - superbock 1 euro a can.
Staff very friendly and helpful, beach towels can be hired at reception, they take a deposit of 20 euros per towel which you get back at the end of your stay.
Didn't use the pool as we went to the beach - 2 sunbeds and an umbrella cost 10 euros a day.
Would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hancocksuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for your very generous comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and will endeavour to maintain and improve our service for the future. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We booked into La Rocha for 4 nights starting 30/9/13 only to find out that the company we booked with( Happy Hotels) had gone into liquidation and cancelled our booking in August whilst keeping our money.The staff were genuinely concerned and did not have our details so were unable to contact us regarding this problem.The hotel was practically full however the manager got us 2 rooms with lovely views and drastically reduced the rates plus provided free parking.They have also provided us with letters and other correspondence to hopefully allow us to claim money back off Barclaycard.Under the circumstances we had a brilliant time and would say the rooms with their seperate lounge area with tv was an excellent lpractical layout very modern and immaculate.Breakfast was very good and location was very central and perfect for all .Being practically on the beach we did not find it necessary to use the pool which does lose the sun quite early.For the money this hotel is excellent value and worthy of its 4star rating.
A big thank you to all the staff.
Thanks for everything.
Alan Cude and friends.
South Wales

Room Tip: If having sea view ensure it is at least on 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
We are thrilled to hear how impressed you were with your recent stay at the Rocha Hotel Apartment. Thank you so much for your kind comments on the way our team members dealt with this very unfortunate incident that hit us all. I will pass on the feedback to all of them.
We are so glad to hear your stay with us exceeded your expectations. We sincerely hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

First time staying in the Da Rocha Hotel. Great hotel. Would highly recommend. Perfect location. Rooms spacious and cleaned daily. Staff in all departments so polite and friendly. Nothing a problem. Breakfast, hot and cold plentiful. Stayed half board, evening meal served in The Jupiter Hotel directly across. Would like to thank Antonio Gloria for the star treatment we received. I can assure this was felt by all diners. Antonio is a wonderful asset to the hotel. A big thanks also to the lovely Tiago.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Fi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for sharing this review regarding your recent stay with us! We are delighted to hear you had a great holiday at the Rocha Hotel Apartament and how much you appreciated the level of service your received during your stay with us. Regarding your comments about the team members I will be sure to share them with the entire team and to Antonio Gloria and Tiago. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rocha Hotel Apartament again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed here for a week.This is our fourth time to stay here.We had a great sea-view worth paying a bit extra for it.The room was clean and spacious and we got fresh clean towels everyday.The breakfast has improved since our last stay they have proper sausages not the mini frankfurter style and lovely bacon.There is also fresh fruit;cereals;juices;fresh bread and rolls;pastries; and a hot drinks machine.The staff are very friendly and helpful.The only thing that lets this hotel down is its pool.It is in a sheltered area and doesn't get much sun.The pool itself is freezing.Looking forward to going back again next year.

Room Tip: pay a bit extra for the sea-view its well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judywoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you are continuing to enjoy our hospitality as we try to maintain and improve our service and returning customers are the markers for our success in this. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Great looking hotel ultra modern , spot on location , but couldn't stay here in the peak summer months on account of the pool ,tucked away at the back even though we only had 4 hours of sun in 5 days ,sun only shone on a third of the pool , google similar hotels 30 min, away in Madeira ( the Vine and the Lince ) same style of hotel but there pools are on the roof !,where this should be ,never less a good hotel , good staff ,shame we probably wont return here( the algarve ) in september due to poor weather ,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Good4meLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you so much for your review. It is greatly appreciated to know that we give a good service here . Maybe you will consider coming back tp Algarve and then we hope to be of service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Hotel was great. All staff were friendly and helpful. Very clean. Breakfast good. The only downfall for this hotel is the pool, its very small and doesnt really get the sun. so if you are a sun whorshipper I would reconsider. I know the beach is across the road but the hassle. Great Location



  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 405Patrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you so much for your review . It is good to know that our service is appreciated and we hope to maintain and improve for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.0 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
968 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
608 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 76 in Portimao
2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#13 of 51 in Lagos
3,085 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
278 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Rocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Rocha

Property: Hotel da Rocha
Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal (Formerly Rocha Apartment Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#2 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel da Rocha 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Praia da Rocha beach, surrounded by sea, marina and golf courses, Hotel Da Rocha Suites meets all conditions for unforgettable and peaceful family holidays.158 Suites with balcony, most of them overlooking the sea,fitted a new architectural design, a new lifestyle, a new art of receiving. It also comprises the following facilities: Grand Caffe Bar, swimming pool and underground parking Hotel Da Rocha Suites has its name within! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel da Rocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Da Rocha Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing