We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous value.”
Review of Hotel da Rocha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel da Rocha
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
swansea
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous value.”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from 14 nights at this quality 4star hotel.
From the moment we arrived to a very warm welcome at reception we felt we were getting every penny in terms of value.
Our room was spacious, modern and exceptionally clean, with a super king size bed, two flat screen televisions, and although the kitchen was basic there was easily enough for our needs as we ate out every evening but if we wanted snacks then we were well catered for.
There was a nice leather sofa to relax on and a small but functional balcony.
The bathroom featured a multifunction power shower and there was never any fluctuation in the availability of capacious amounts of hot water whenever required.
The fittings were modern and felt quite new.
Wardrobe and drawer space was better than most places we have stayed and a free to use digital safe was a nice bonus as we would usually account for €30 to rent one.
The room was cleaned every day by a very efficient and pleasant team who supported the standards which ran through the whole complement of staff.
Breakfast was very adequate although an extra toaster or two would speed things up a little! However there was plenty of food to suit most tastes.
Very much a couples hotel, if that is what you are looking for then this hotel I would highly recommend.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank richandsueSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for sharing this review regarding your recent stay with us! We are delighted to hear you had a great holiday at the Rocha Hotel Apartment and how much you appreciated the facilities and the level of service your received during your stay with us. Regarding your comments about the team members I will be sure to share them with the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    337
    58
    12
    9
See reviews for
244
498
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

So we decided to stay here for a very much needed break and it was hard to fault. The hotel and staff were faultless! We chose a seaview room and it simply devine. Room is spacious, very clean and bed was massive! two tv screens inside the room, but it was more an apartment.

Only downside was the small shaded swimming pool, but being so close to the sea and having access to a larger sun drenched one next-door at their sister hotel (Jupiter), this was not really a problem - just seemed a bit of a waste!

Food for breakfast was good, dinner good too. Only downside was prices for drinks at the Jupiter, which seemed quite steep to be honest - in comparison to Hotel Rocha and surrounding places. But you had no choice as you were at the pool or having your evening meal.

Overall 9/10

Room Tip: sea view all day long!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aman11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for your preference in selecting the Rocha Hotel Apartment for your holiday and writing about your recent experience with us. I am absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I very much looking forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow,Scotland
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed here for a week in October.

1:All the staff were fantastic.
2:Rooms best i have had, large beds,two tvs,bath robes and slippers,bowl of fruit and fantastic sea veiw (room 701).
3:Breakfast choice as expected,eat as much as you want.
4:I have stayed in the Algarve Casino hotel 5* but prefered HR Rocha.
5:Where it does lose a point is that the pool is just a waste of space,almost always in the shade,also same depth all over 1.5mtrs not good for children who can't swim.

Room Tip: Worth extra for sea veiw room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for choosing Rocha Hotel Apartment and for your very generous review. We are glad that we live up to your expectations and it is good to know that our service is appreciated and we hope to maintain and improve for your next visit. We look forward to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

After visiting Praia Da Rocha last year and seeing this hotel we decided to book this year. We stayed 6-14 October and had a fantastic time. We had a side room on the 7th floor looking over the portamio harbour. While there the breakfast was good with a wide variety of hot and cold buffet options. The room was large spacious and very modern, there is a safe in the room and the room was serviced daily to a high standard. There is a mini bar in the room and the prices are very reasonable. We had 2 small issues which the reception sent someone up to immediately and rectified the problem which was a fantastic service.
The beach at PDR is spectacular and sunneds as 10euro for 2 all day but I didn't like the strip at the top as much, for nice restaurants we went to alvor in the evening. It's beautiful and lots of authentic restaurants serving fresh fish and meats cooks on the outside BBQ.
I can not fault this hotel in any way, modern, clean and very friendly staff. Thank you

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeddyTheExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing the Rocha Hotel Apartment for your stay and I do very much appreciate your comments on TripAdvisor.
I’m delighted to read that you were impressed with the facilities as well as the professionalism and attitude of our team members.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Rocha Hotel Apartment soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We have just spent 10 days in the hotel and the room had a wow factor we booked a sea view and must say the view was stunning, the staff were very friendly the food was very good we had half board and could not fault it our only downside was the pool .

Room Tip: we had room 505 brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeavesNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for your preference in selecting the Rocha Hotel Apartment for your holiday and writing about your recent experience with us. I am absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I very much looking forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Great hotel in an excellent location right next to beach. Suites are large, clean and well maintained. Breakfast is buffet style and has great selection. Counter staff are very helpful... Recommend getting fridge emptied so can be used, just ask at reception. Half board evening meals are at Jupiter next door... Its OK, nothing special.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KyronStorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you so much for your review. It is greatly appreciated to know that we give a good service here and we will strive to keep up our good work and we are already looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

just came back from a 10 day holiday , this hotel was brilliant, the location was excellent just minutes from the beach which was beautiful, the staff were really nice, the cleanliness was spot on, rooms very spacious. The breakfast was fine any thing from cold meats, fruit,yoghurts, pastries and your sausage,egg,bacon,mushrooms and beans, the evening meals were fine to always something for everyone you would have to really fussy to not have anything. The resort was nice to plenty of bars and restaurants if you were to go self catering. If you want a change go to the next resort Alvor wich was really nice and only 8 euros in a taxi.The only downside to the hotel is the swimming pool as it only gets the sun till just after lunch but was'nt a problem for us as we went to the beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your kind comments on tripadvisor comunity. We are pleased that you felt welcome as it is our aim that you do and we hope that we can extend our hospitality again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.0 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.1 mi away
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
BELA VISTA Hotel & SPA
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 79 in Portimao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oriental
Hotel Oriental
#4 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
7.8 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 52 in Lagos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Rocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Rocha

Property: Hotel da Rocha
Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal (Formerly Rocha Apartment Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#2 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel da Rocha 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Praia da Rocha beach, surrounded by sea, marina and golf courses, Rocha Hotel Apartamento meets all conditions for unforgettable and peaceful family holidays. 158 studios overlooking the sea with kitchenette and balcony, fitted a new architectural design, a new lifestyle, a new art of receiving. It also comprises the following facilities: Grand Caffe Bar, meeting room, swimming pool and underground parking. Rocha Hotel Apartamento, has its name within! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, Lastminute, TravelUp, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel da Rocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Da Rocha Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing