We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value for money”
Review of Hotel da Rocha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel da Rocha
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“excellent value for money”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights 8 til 11 april Just across road from beach and central to all bars and restaurants We stayed on b&b basis and the breakfasts were excellent/great selection and thick pork sausages instead of the usual continental brands. Best breakfast we have ever had in hotel abroad We had side sea view rooms with great size balcony Staff in this hotel really friendly and helpful from reception to dining/bar nothing too much trouble Pool a bit small but with such a beautiful beach on your doorstep this didn't bother us The hotel bar in evening was not busy which was a pity because staff were so nice and pizza, tapas etc were available in bar or to take up to room This was 4* hotel but was much better than the 5* Algarve Casino Hotel which we stayed in last Oct Would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay again

Room Tip: Get front or side sea view room to appreciate location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank eleanor602603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    535
    347
    59
    13
    8
See reviews for
254
516
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This hotel is practically on the beach!
very modern hotel and rooms where lovely, we had a street view tho as we had a suite which was the only downside to the room they are also very high up!
The other downside it the pool is tiny and looses the sun around 1pm, if your a beach lover then this isn't a problem.
The hotel is right along the strip with some lovely places to eat.
Breakfast is just the usual although you need to get down early if you want food.

A tip as the pool isn't great is to go to no solo agua, its a lovely place right on the beach and you can sit on massive loungers / cabanas for free or pay into the pool part which has a lovely salt water pool and waiter service all day (http://www.nosoloagua.com/)

Great wifi throughout all of the hotel, very good signal

The bus journey from the airport took us 4 and a half hours when booked through resort hoppa and its only an hours journey and from talking to other people this seems like the norm!, would consider private transfers

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for your comments and for choosing Rocha Hotel Apartment.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed for 1 week and are eager to go back it was a fab place to stay
Beautiful rooms! Excellent standard upgraded to sea view & hotel upgraded us to a higher room with beautiful beach & sea views!
Staff were polite and welcoming even on late check in they welcomed us by name and swiftly checked us in as it was very late and we we're travel weary!
Free Wifi, breakfast was more than adequate even used hotel beach towels for a 20 euro refunded on departure!
Pool isn't in a sunny spot but who cares it sure cools you down when it's 27 degrees!
No complaints from the Robinson family we never usually return to the same place however will definitely return to Hotel Da Rocha! Already checking prices for 2014!
Resort was quiet but we like it that way no shortage of places to eat especially liked Fish n Chips at Ireland's eye :)

Room Tip: Upgrade to sea view well worth the money to wake up to that view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Paularobinson2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Wow! Thank you for your comments and for choosing Rocha Hotel Apartment.
We are so glad that you loved our hospitality as we try to maintain and improve our service and returning customers are the markers for our success in this
We are thrilled to know you're planning to came back.
Can't wait to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

stayed here for a week 8th-15th october and the weather was great. we arrived at faro airport at 9.00am in the morning but did not arrive at the hotel until 12.45pm so not a good start, we used the shuttle resorthopper and had to wait such a long time to fill up minibus, we then had to go to various hotels to drop off, that said when we arrived at the hotel check in was swift and easy and we were given our keys to our room, when we booked we did ask for 3rd or 4th floor and paid for a sea view, we were given the 1st floor with a sea view so got it half right. our room was spotless and the very large with a lovely balcony. the hotel is situated in a prime position with various good restaurants nearby. the beach is fantastic but such a climb to get to so not suitable for people with walking problems. the breakfast in hotel was the usual coffee, tea, juice, toast, pastries and bacon, eggs, beans, mushrooms , sauceages the cooked breakfast being luke warm, but certainly enough of everything. although this report seems a bit negative we had a lovely week and would return to portugal but to a different resort.

Room Tip: it worth the extra for sea room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you for choosing Rocha Hotel Apartment. I am glad that you have enjoyed your holidays here with us and the facilities of the hotel.
I'm sorry to hear about the transfer company , we do not know nor work with them. Regarding your observations about the climb to the beach maybe City Hall can provide, in a near future one other option. It would be great for everyone.
Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again sometime in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Me and my partner have just returned from a 3 night stay here and had a wonderful time. I would like to start by saying the pictures do not do it justice! The rooms are ample, with more than we needed for a short break and enough for a longer holiday. The only thing would recommend is new pillows - ours were lumpy! All of the staff, from reception to cleaners were courteous and a warm welcome was received. After dinner we spent a couple of hours propping up the hotel bar and playing pool. Rogerio is the best barman we've had the pleasure of speaking to and he really enhanced our stay, thank you! We've had better cooked breakfasts, however, there is enough choice to compensate for this. The pool was in the shade all day for our stay, but my partner assures me it was good for a quick post beach swim! The beach is fabulous and literally across the road! Hire of x2 sunbeds and a parasol is 10 euros for the whole day, discounted after 2pm. I can imagine the resort does get very busy and perhaps a little rowdy in the height of summer. However, there are plenty of places to relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings. Our experience has made us say something rare to us, which is 'we'll be back to Portugal again'!

Room Tip: We had room 608, side view overlooking the strip and a good beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beclis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. We are really thrilled to hear how impressed you were with your recent stay at the Rocha Hotel Apartment and moreover that you are planning to come back. Regarding your comments about the team members I will be sure to share them with the entire team ,specially with Rogerio. Looking forward for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from 14 nights at this quality 4star hotel.
From the moment we arrived to a very warm welcome at reception we felt we were getting every penny in terms of value.
Our room was spacious, modern and exceptionally clean, with a super king size bed, two flat screen televisions, and although the kitchen was basic there was easily enough for our needs as we ate out every evening but if we wanted snacks then we were well catered for.
There was a nice leather sofa to relax on and a small but functional balcony.
The bathroom featured a multifunction power shower and there was never any fluctuation in the availability of capacious amounts of hot water whenever required.
The fittings were modern and felt quite new.
Wardrobe and drawer space was better than most places we have stayed and a free to use digital safe was a nice bonus as we would usually account for €30 to rent one.
The room was cleaned every day by a very efficient and pleasant team who supported the standards which ran through the whole complement of staff.
Breakfast was very adequate although an extra toaster or two would speed things up a little! However there was plenty of food to suit most tastes.
Very much a couples hotel, if that is what you are looking for then this hotel I would highly recommend.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank richandsueSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for sharing this review regarding your recent stay with us! We are delighted to hear you had a great holiday at the Rocha Hotel Apartment and how much you appreciated the facilities and the level of service your received during your stay with us. Regarding your comments about the team members I will be sure to share them with the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

So we decided to stay here for a very much needed break and it was hard to fault. The hotel and staff were faultless! We chose a seaview room and it simply devine. Room is spacious, very clean and bed was massive! two tv screens inside the room, but it was more an apartment.

Only downside was the small shaded swimming pool, but being so close to the sea and having access to a larger sun drenched one next-door at their sister hotel (Jupiter), this was not really a problem - just seemed a bit of a waste!

Food for breakfast was good, dinner good too. Only downside was prices for drinks at the Jupiter, which seemed quite steep to be honest - in comparison to Hotel Rocha and surrounding places. But you had no choice as you were at the pool or having your evening meal.

Overall 9/10

Room Tip: sea view all day long!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aman11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelda R, Gerente at Hotel da Rocha, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for your preference in selecting the Rocha Hotel Apartment for your holiday and writing about your recent experience with us. I am absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I very much looking forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.0 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
933 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
603 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 76 in Portimao
2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#14 of 50 in Lagos
3,020 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oriental
Hotel Oriental
#4 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
537 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Rocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Rocha

Property: Hotel da Rocha
Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal (Formerly Rocha Apartment Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#2 Family Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel da Rocha 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Praia da Rocha beach, surrounded by sea, marina and golf courses, Hotel Da Rocha Suites meets all conditions for unforgettable and peaceful family holidays.158 Suites with balcony, most of them overlooking the sea,fitted a new architectural design, a new lifestyle, a new art of receiving. It also comprises the following facilities: Grand Caffe Bar, swimming pool and underground parking Hotel Da Rocha Suites has its name within! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel da Rocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Da Rocha Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing