We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, friendly staff, fantastic views”
Review of Hotel da Rocha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel da Rocha
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel, friendly staff, fantastic views”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I stayed at Hotel Da Rocha with my young family over the Easter break. Overall I would recommend the hotel, the staff were super friendly and helpful and the apartment was immaculate. The hotel is fortunately situated just off the main strip of Praia da Rocha (pretty dire) and beautifully modern and clean. We stayed in a beachfront apartment, with stunning views of the beautiful beach, defiantly worth the extra cost! We arrived before the check in time but our room was ready for us which was very useful when travelling with a toddler and a baby!

On the negative side I had requested a kettle (baby so lots of sterilising and bottle making) but there was no where on the kitchenette unit to plug it in, so I had to boil it plugged in near the floor - not ideal with a curious toddler on the loose! We had lots of washing up to do but there was no drainer on the sink and we had to pop to the local supermarket to stock up on tea towels, dish clothes, and washing up liquid - it seemed the kitchenette was not really designed to be actually used, but I appreciate for most folks this would not be an issue.

The next major negative and huge disappointment of the holiday was the pool, it was small and very, very cold. My toddler was so excited about going swimming and insisted on going for a swim but it all ended in tears due the coldness of the pool, we had really looked forward to spending time together in the pool but sadly it did not happen.

The breakfast was excellent, loads to choose from and all good, our booking included half board evening meals too. The evening meal was available in the hotel opposite the Hotel Jupiter from 7 onwards which was a bit late for families with small children. The food was good and plentiful, and the service very friendly but was a little dated in style both in terms of the menu and the venue, minor gripe though.

The apartment was superbly clean, comfortable beds, fab shower and the kids loved the huge bath. The room was kept spotless which was great peace of mind with a crawling baby. It was possibly not the most child friendly place but we managed and had a lovely holiday.

Overall it's a good hotel and in any other location I would defiantly revisit but I was not a fan of Praia da Rocha it was like Blackpool abroad, we struggled to find anything remotely authentically Portuguese about it and the it seemed seedy and run down with its happy hour pubs and strip clubs and the helpful gents offering to sell my husband and myself 'smokes' ironically just outside the police station, kids are hard work on holiday but we did not resort to that ; - ) On the plus side though the beach is awesome, so beautiful and the kids loved it, there was a fab kids park which my son spent hours in and some wonderful places to eat on the boardwalk.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view! Worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tomato123tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    352
    61
    13
    8
See reviews for
261
528
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Having read the review by U2fan below, there isn't too much I can add. I booked this hotel for an Easter break and my other half's 50th birthday. It was a struggle to get him off the balcony or our beautiful apartment (room 701) because the views were so great. My OH's requirements for a perfect holiday are nice people, good beach and a place where we can fall asleep listening to the sound of the waves. Hotel da Rocha is all that and more.
The moment we arrived and were greeted by Raul, the lovely man who attends to the car parking. There were more warm greetings from Vanda on reception, who is stunningly pretty and very professional. We had great advice from Jaoa on reception during our stay, and every other member of staff we met was lovely.
We ate far too much at breakfast on the first morning, because everything was so delicious. The hotel serve everything for a full English, Continental or Portuguese breakfast, plus a bottle of Asti Spumante on ice if you fancy a buck fizz. we really didn't want to leave this stunning hotel.

Room Tip: 701 is one of the deluxe frontal sea view rooms and well worth the extra you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, UK
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Despite arriving hours before out check in time, the Receptionist changed our room so that we could check in straight away. Our room was on the 7th floor (703) and had amazing views over the beach (we'd paid extra for a beach front, high room). As we were celebrating our wedding anniversary the hotel delivered sparking wine, fruit and some extra toiletries to our room - a lovely touch. The room was enormous and very well equipped, with a little kitchenette, coffee machine and sachets, as well as two TVs which showed a range of programmes including BBC World News. The hotel has free wi-fi throughout.

Breakfasts at the hotel were delicious. Everything you could possibly want and as good as some 5 star hotels I've been to. Sausages, scrambled egg, fried egg, bacon, mushrooms, beans, a range of meats and cheeses (the Brie was so good!), toast and rolls, cereals, the best croissants I've ever tasted, pastries, freshly squeezed orange and even sparkling wine. You can sit inside or outside on the patio.

The only downside to the hotel - and why I've given it 4 out of 5 - is the pool. It's small and doesn't have the sun after 1pmish. (If you want to go to a wonderful pool, head down to NoSoloAgua at the marina... 10 mins walk or 3.5 euro in a taxi. At the moment it's free to get in - all you have to spend is 5 euro each... And you get to sit on a comfy sun lounger by a lovely pool all day!).

The hotel is perfectly located within Praia da Rocha... It's central to everything and has the bus stop to Portimao and a taxi rank outside. It cost 1.50 euro each to go to Portimao or 4 euro by taxi.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank U2fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This hotel is an excellent location in Praia de Rocha, the rooms are huge and the wi-fi is reliable. There are some great reasons to stay at this hotel. Unfortunately there was one let down which is quite significant in my books, and that is that the room was not clean. It had dust and dirt on the floors and sticky substance in the kitchenette. This was obvious as soon as we walked in the room and was a let down. We had barely a full day in Portimao so we didn't make any effort to get the room cleaned or changed because we didn't want to waste precious time. The lack of cleanliness of the room was enough to take away from the good traits of this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simone_and_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one week and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. The hotel is newly renovated and everything is kept in great condition. The rooms are large and have everything you need (except an iron!) this would be our only recommendation to have irons in each room and not one for the whole hotel to share :)
The location couldn't get any better, being right in the middle
of it all but being quiet enough to not keep you up at night! I'd recommend paying the extra for a sea view room as it gets the sun too although the inland facing rooms having an equally pleasant view of portimao.
The staff were very helpful and always very friendly!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burrowek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Looe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Fantastic location - the hotel is situated right next to the beach. The rooms and modern and beautifully decorated. Staff are very friendly and can not do enough for you. Breakfast was the best I have ever had at a hotel - a wide variety of choice which changed each day.

Only negative was size and temperature of pool

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hannah t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This hotel has a great location just across the road from a fantastic beach. Have stayed in 5 star in the town but this is better. Staff are very welcoming and friendly. Breakfast is good and plenty to choose from. The rooms are large as we stayed in a suite and are cleaned daily. The only fault at this hotel is the size of the pool which is very small.

Room Tip: Better than the 5 star hotels. Need to book high level if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joanne703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.0 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
980 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
611 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 75 in Portimao
2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#13 of 51 in Lagos
3,093 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oriental
Hotel Oriental
#4 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Rocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Rocha

Property: Hotel da Rocha
Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal (Formerly Rocha Apartment Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#2 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#3 Luxury Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel da Rocha 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Praia da Rocha beach, surrounded by sea, marina and golf courses, Hotel Da Rocha Suites meets all conditions for unforgettable and peaceful family holidays.158 Suites with balcony, most of them overlooking the sea,fitted a new architectural design, a new lifestyle, a new art of receiving. It also comprises the following facilities: Grand Caffe Bar, swimming pool and underground parking Hotel Da Rocha Suites has its name within! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel da Rocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Da Rocha Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing