We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great beach.”
Review of Hotel da Rocha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel da Rocha
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great beach.”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The hotel is very modern and clean. The location is ideal for the beach, and for the main strip of restaurants (to the right of the hotel). There is a lovely little harbour and more restaurants/bars to the left of the hotel (slightly further to walk but definatly worth it).

We did not book a sea view and were at the back of the hotel but this was fine for us as we went out each evening. However, if you were going to sit on the balcony in the evening I would recommend paying extra for the sea view room.

The pool is small but then you have a beach on the doorstep, which we preferred. If you walk along the beach you can hire a 2 sun loungers and umbrella for around 10 euros or if you prefer you can find your own area and lay out in the sun. There are lots of coves which give a bit of shade if you prefer to do this.

People have commented on the choice at breakfast, and it was very similar through the stay, but there was plenty on offer each day. Another bonus of the hotel is the free WiFi and safe in the room, also you can hire the beach towels for 20 euros per towel (which you get back when you hand your towel in). We found this ideal as it meant fresh clean beach towels each day.

Overall we really enjoyed this beach holiday, and would recommend it for a chill out holiday.

Room Tip: Sea view if you are going to sit on the balcony, also a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HLJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    360
    66
    14
    8
See reviews for
267
540
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Superb hotel, would recommend to anyone.Had a deluxe studio with sea view,fabulous.Very modern,very clean,ample fascilities.Breakfast was buffet style but super choice and good quality and plenty of it.All staff were helpful and very pleasant,even got free champagne for my birthday,lovely touch.Coudnt understand why the Tapas bar was never open.Only one negative,the shaded pool area,not helped by the selfish people who think they have a right to reserve the few sun beds in the sun,but hey ho the beach is only 100 yds away.Fantastic location for beach,bars,restaurants,buses and taxis.

Room Tip: Front sea view and balcony certainly worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bwarneresq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a great hotel in great location. Only downside is the swimming pool - its in the shade after 2pm. We stayed for a week and while the choice at breakfast was quite good it got a bit monotonous by day 5 and 6.
The rooms are a great size with really comfy beds. They are cleaned daily by some lovely ladies.
Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
461 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Very clean, spacious for a studio apartment, 2 TV's, microwave and fridge and wifi that worked 24/7 and a verandah. The breakfasts are excellent catering for every taste and the staff are friendly, helpful and welcoming. Just across the road is the beach, the road has many restaurants, bars, cafes etc. The pool is satisfactory, it catches the sun up to 3pm (mid May), I'm sure not many people would want to remain in hot sun all day. But the beach is 50mtrs away!

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking towards the beach, but it gets very hot in summer as it will be south facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jin6x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

What a lovely studio apartment. Plenty of space and right on the beach. Staff very friendly and warm. Armando the barman very chatty and welcoming. The breakfast was lovely.
We didn't use the pool because the beach was there for us to use. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, a truly lovely place and hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 314, no view really but we spent all our time walking and chilling on the beach or at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TONI1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed here for a week in April with my girlfriend. Had a great stay - stay very friendly and helpful, rooms very clean and spacious. Pool was good - on the smaller side but gets plenty of sun until mid afternoon and then we just went to the beach which is 30 seconds walk away! It was €7 to hire a parasol+sun lounger at the beach per person per day, so we opted to buy a cheap parasol which lasted us for the week - we left it at the hotel for other people to use so if you're in the same situation just ask reception and hopefully they'll have one to give you - we found out when we left that they actually had a few parasols we could have borrowed instead of buying. Breakfast was great with plenty of choice.

Plenty of restaurants around the place, but try Portimaio or Ferraguado for a change as they both have some very nice places with great food. All in all a very good stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the front with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul_g2357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Hotel clean and well kept, location is good just a stones throw from the beach, staff were helpful and friendly, and thats it.

The pool is small and only has sunshine in the morning, there is no kids pool and just feels like a hole in the ground. The hotel has no grounds all very grey, very little character.
You have to go to the hotel across the road for dinner if you are on half board.
The hotel has no entertainment or amenities whatsoever.
Breakfast was good but limited in choice
A four star more like three star

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.0 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,004 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 75 in Portimao
2,149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Algarve Casino
Hotel Algarve Casino
#16 of 75 in Portimao
884 reviews
0.5 mi away
Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Turisticos
Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Tur...
#11 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Rocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Rocha

Property: Hotel da Rocha
Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal (Formerly Rocha Apartment Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#2 Family Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel da Rocha 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Praia da Rocha beach, surrounded by sea, marina and golf courses, Hotel Da Rocha Suites meets all conditions for unforgettable and peaceful family holidays.158 Suites with balcony, most of them overlooking the sea,fitted a new architectural design, a new lifestyle, a new art of receiving. It also comprises the following facilities: Grand Caffe Bar, swimming pool and underground parking Hotel Da Rocha Suites has its name within! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Prestigia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Hotel da Rocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Da Rocha Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing