We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay, would recommend”
Review of Hotel da Rocha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel da Rocha
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely stay, would recommend”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Had a lovely stay here in July, mother and daughter, had a beautiful sea view room as we paid for, and could not fault it apart from the lack of sunshine at the pool area due to high buildings. We would like to thank all of the staff but in particular Fabio on reception as he was extremely helpful and cheerful, nothing was too much to ask. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynseyain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    351
    61
    13
    8
See reviews for
261
527
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Two of us girls in our twenties came here for a short 5 day holiday! By far the best looking hotel on the strip, and from the beach it stands out as modern and the best looking. Always clean, the majority of the safe were friendly and always happy to help.

Pool was calm and relaxing for first few days then about 15 kids turned up and were squirting water guns at us purposely even though it was evident we had iPhones and iPads out that can't get wet - it became a bit of a play group!

We put in two requests upon booking; early check in and late check out as our flights were both at odd timings - both these requests got denied which sort of ruined two days of our holiday but we managed to make it better!

Pool/beach towels are available but for 20 euros deposit which seemed a bit daft.

The beach is gorgeous and clean and the strip of restaurants and bars is so so close and also very good! We enjoyed this holiday a lot and found the hotel pleasant just think that the staff need to understand individuals needs more and not be so blunt about things.

Other than that, i'd say best hotel on the strip!

Room Tip: Side sea view is cheaper and has just as good view of sea! And a view of hotel jupiter pool and musi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Yes, the hotel is brand new and the rooms are spacious and bright. The staff is very friendly, competent and the hotel is just across a street to the huge beach of Praia da Rocha.

However, the area is incredible touristy with not a single bit of Portuguese culture, food or mentality being left over.

The city of Portimao is dead because all the tourist are lodging, eating and shopping at the beach were you can find everything from cheap clothes to fatty French fries.

Although the hotel is fine, we would never ever stay there again since it's a drama to see how a beautiful landscape and fantastic culture can be destroyed by hordes of tourists.

The breakfast by the way is a disaster: A huge, loud area with techno music and the reflected voices, yelling and demands of 80 persons being herded here to eat and go. One of the worst breakfast experiences we ever had in Portugal, although we studied in this country for a while...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltheworld34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We've just come back from ten nights in Praia Da Rocha and had a very enjoyable stay in the Praia Da Rocha Hotel. The hotel is situated in front of Priai Da Rocha beach, a three minute walk away. Local buses and taxis stop right outside the hotel, and local travel is inexpensive and convenient.
The staff in the hotel are pleasant and very willing to answer any queries or help in any way they can. The hotel is relatively new, decorated in modern black and white with chrome finishes, giving a cool, refreshing ambience. The air conditioning in the bedrooms is effective and very quiet. I also welcomed the small kitchenette as we could make a cup of tea any time we chose! Our room was towards the back of the hotel, but we could still catch sight of the sea, and the advantage was that it was quiet at night.
Breakfast was varied and catered for a range of tastes - hot food including bacon, sausages, a range of eggs, beans, mushrooms; cereals, lots of fresh fruit, cold meats and cheese, and sweet cakes.
We had booked half board, and our dinner was available in the sister hotel - Hotel Jupiter- which was next door and equally convenient.
Hotel Praia Da Rocha has a lovely pool, but if there is one negative point, it would be the location of the pool. Unfortunately, this is surrounded on all sides by high rise buildings, blocking out the sunshine for substantial parts of the day. We didn't mind this at all, as we found it great for swimming, but I don't think this pool would appeal to a sun worshipper. However, to be fair to the management, we were told that we might access the pool next door in Hotel Jupiter, where they had all day sunshine.
So, an affordable hotel overlooking the beach, with modern, clean décor, friendly staff, great location, good food and a nice pool, with good local transport links. Overall, a hotel that I am very pleased to recommend.

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor and the A/C was very quiet. The front of the hotel has excellent sea views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philomena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just back from this hotel on 30 Jun 14 on our arrival we were met at reception by a very happy receptionist and this was at 2350.
My wife and myself were very tired and just wanted to relax, we were shown to our room 403 on the front of the hotel, the room consisted of a living room come diner/ bed room very well laid out.
But the real jewel in the crown was the view from room 403 the next morning looking on to the beach and the sea.
The breakfast is second to none it caters for everyone's taste.
The staff are very friendly and polite and very attentive the pool is small with not enough umbrellas to go around and tthat's the only complaint we really enjoyed our stay at the hotel da Rocha.
Would we return a big yes.

Room Tip: Look for a sea view room from the 4th floor upwards on the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmel330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here for 10 nights and really enjoyed it.This is our seventh time to stay here.Rooms are very comfy.Its worth paying extra for a sea view room.Breakfasts are good.Hot food includes sausages;bacon;eggs both fried and scrambled;beans;mushrooms there are also cereals;fruit;breads and juices;toaster is very slow they could do with getting a second one.Pool area is clean but gets very little sun after noon.Hotel is very central to restaurants;bars and the beach is right across the road.Cant wait to go back again.

Room Tip: seaview rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judywoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meolo, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We'v just got back from Praia da Rocha hotel,
Staff very friendly nice smile!!! ask for anything you get it!!
Breakfast was very tasty
Lots of different coffees
Cakes fresh daily.
Lovely big rooms,beach bars across a small road.
Local bus stop outside the door.
Little bit of traffic noise at night in sea view room but didn't spoil are holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms seem good.talking to others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.0 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
970 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
Bela Vista Hotel & Spa
#1 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
608 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Marina Portimao
Tivoli Marina Portimao
#7 of 76 in Portimao
2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
Tivoli Lagos Hotel
#13 of 51 in Lagos
3,083 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
278 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel da Rocha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Rocha

Property: Hotel da Rocha
Address: Avenida Tomas Cabreira, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-802, Portugal (Formerly Rocha Apartment Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#2 Family Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel da Rocha 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Praia da Rocha beach, surrounded by sea, marina and golf courses, Hotel Da Rocha Suites meets all conditions for unforgettable and peaceful family holidays.158 Suites with balcony, most of them overlooking the sea,fitted a new architectural design, a new lifestyle, a new art of receiving. It also comprises the following facilities: Grand Caffe Bar, swimming pool and underground parking Hotel Da Rocha Suites has its name within! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel da Rocha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Da Rocha Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing