We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Genuinely cannot fault this place! Myself and 4 friends booked through travel republic and were amazed at the deal we got. I personally found the location brilliant - There was a shop at the top of the road, and the Continente shopping centre was a 10 minute walk away! The strip was roughly 10 minutes in the opposite direction, if you walked through a dirt track, and sometimes we also walked back at night, but if you get a taxi, it is roughly €4-5! If you say the strip/beach is too far away then you're just lazy. The hospital is also pretty close by too (5 - 10 minute drive). On the ground floor we had a good sized kitchen, a small toilet, lounge/dining room, and a pretty large balcony which easily sat all 5 of us. We had the view of the sea which I had personally wanted, but had not requested! There was also air conditioning in the lounge and satellite TV. Upstairs we had a massive bathroom that was bigger than the bedrooms, and included a shower cubicle, which was kind of broken, but I just held the shower head instead. There was a double sink, a bath which also had a shower in it, a bidet and of course a toilet! The master bedroom had a double bed and we took the fold out bed from the lounge up to the bedroom and there was still plenty of space and the twin bedroom was a brilliant size as well! The grounds of the hotel were also lovely and had a good sized pool, with not very many sunbeds, but we were always able to find 5, so can't complain there, and also a baby pool. There was a games room too, which we never used. The WiFi was only a euro per hour, which ran on for like an hour and a half. The hotel restaurant was reasonably priced, but we only ate there once for lunch. The staff were lovely and very helpful. Overall a brilliant stay and I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Room 213 had a view of the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TinaG_121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

268 - 274 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

Very clean, large apartments. Good clean pool with small kids pool. Very quite. Takes 10 mins to get to the beach, although very hilly. Everywhere in Praia da Roche is up a hill. Staff not the most helpful in the world but are polite enough. Not many ATM,s in the vicinity, but the hotel takes debit cards.

All in all, a good holiday.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

As stated before the apartments are a good size. Very basic. Too far from beach and strip. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Recession seems to have hit Portugal as there was very little entertainment in the pubs on the strip. The Plaza itself had no entertainment at all. Very peaceful sleep at night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tricia v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed here 26/06 - 10/07 and really can't fault the place. We requested ground floor with pool view and that's exactly what we got.. It was a 1bed apartment but was huge. A big bonus for us was the proper size fridge freezer and although we only made breakfast and ate out for lunch and dinner it allowed us to buy lovely fresh fruit and keep it fresh and also our drinks cold. The maids came in everyday and changed towels/bedding regularly. The location is about 10 minute walk from the main strip of bars and restaurants. Depending on what you like to eat, meals are generally much th same as home. one thing we did find dissappointing was the happy hours finished really early around 8/9pm. not much good if you were only going out to et at this time.There are 3 huge supermarkets 15 minutes walk in the opposite direction but you will need to get a taxi back up "heartbreak hill". Taxis are generally €5 anywhere around the resort. A huge shopping outlet called Aqua Centre can be reached in a 5 min taxi ride with lots of lovely boutiques and even a Primark. Staff at Plaza Real were very well mannered and spoke excellent English. It was advertised as having occasional entertainment but there was none in our 2 weeks, I feel that may be due to he bar being expensive. Wifi is €2/2hours and only woks around reception. Hope this review helps. I would def recommend Plaza Real for family's or any ge group really. Lastly the apartments all have shutters which not only kept the place safe and secure but darkened the apartment out if you fancied a lie in. Not enough sun loungers, although we were told more were arriving soon.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have a huge balcony with sun loungers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SHEILA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Stayed for 10 nights in June. I was there with my Wife and my 3 year old.

the staff is very friendly and helpful.

the rooms/apartments are huge. and I mean huge! they are cleaned every day, and the AC worked fine.

Swimming pool is ok, its nice that they provide some balls and air mattresses to chill out
there is a gaming area for kids which is a bit outdated

10 minutes walking to get to the beach TIP: a short cut to get to the beach is to turn left when you get out of the hotel you will find a dirt road that will make your trip a lot quicker.
the night life is by the beach so no need to take a car if you want to have something to drink.
if by the end of the night you are not feeling like walking, a taxi will be less than €5.

in the reception of the Hotel you have a restaurant which i only used to get ice creams, but it looked ok and was reasonably priced.

If you have a car there is Continente (think of a very big Tesco) 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank masterCank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

me and my husband stayed here for 10 nights and it was brilliant,staff very nice and very helpful.
although they say the beach,bars and places to eat are about 10 min walk away,they are if you don't have any problems walking. if you do then you might want to hire a car as there are no local buses near here.we had a fantastic holiday and would definitely go again,some of the other holiday makers that we spoke to said the same. the only thing I would say is they could do with a few more sun beds and cushions,but as everyone is not around the pool at the same time it wasn't to much of a problem.

Room Tip: ground floor apartments have a patio area with sunbeds instead of a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chapmananne9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

for the money we paid it was perfect. nice pool. big apartments. clean enough. fridge and cooking equipment. about 10 mins walk to beach or 15mins to the busy part of town. lowcostholidays was the cheapest when we were looking.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tombocollbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,073 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Mirachoro II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
1,097 reviews
0.5 mi away
Flamingo Residence
Flamingo Residence
#15 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
53 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jardim do Vau
Jardim do Vau
#5 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Real Atlantichotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Real Atlantichotels

Address: Rotunda do Vau | Sitio dos 3 Castelos, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-310, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#5 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range: £10 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Real Atlantichotels 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Real is a complex of 63 apartments, self-catering and equipped. The apartments are divided into three types: Studio, T1 and T2 in Duplex, some apartments have a generous balcony. (See the description of the apartments) The Plaza Real has an excellent pool for adults, a pool for children, a playground and a mini tennis court. This accommodation is about 10 minutes walk from the beach. The center of Portimao, Marina de Portimao and Praia da Rocha are 3 minutes. Portimao Railway Station is 3 km from the Plaza Real. This accommodation is recommended by the good price / quality ratio in Portimao. Great place to spend your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Hotels.com so you can book your Plaza Real Atlantichotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Plaza Real Praia Da Rocha
Plaza Real Atlantichotels Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing