We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holidays in plaza real portimao”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“holidays in plaza real portimao”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

the apartment was quite good the staff was amazing and the weather was perfect. 10 minutes away from the beach but I have a lovely holidays. definitely come back again. Thanks to the staff of plaza real. paulo Baptista

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
2 Thank Paulo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    162
    49
    20
    19
See reviews for
161
176
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My husband and I and our 2 year old son stayed at the Plaza Real for 8 nights from the 1st July. We booked through low cost holidays, this was a holiday on a tight budget so we weren't expecting anything fancy. I requested a ground floor apartment but when we arrived we were given the top floor. I asked the receptionist if they hadn't received my request to which he replied, yes it was there in front of him on the booking form. He wasn't sure why this hadn't been observed, he kindly moved us to a ground floor apartment without any hassle. The one thing that I wasn't happy about was the cleanliness, our apartment floor and the outside terrace was filthy, we asked them to clean it for us but outside wasn't ever done so we didn't use the terrace at all. I bought a mop and bucket and cleaned the apartment floor myself. The pool area was also dirty and we never saw anyone cleaning there. However, the pool did have some sanitizing tablets in the filters.
The area did feel a bit like a ghost town with so many empty apartments around. The beach was a 15 min walk and was lovely. 20 mins walk in another direction took us to a large supermarket with a lidl and aldi in the same area too, so a good choice of food.
I wouldn't go back to the Plaza Real again for the reasons I've listed above. But it was ok for a cheap holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
3 Thank Loncy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This review is unbelievable but unfortunately it's very real. My sister arrived on Saturday to stay for 10 days and was happy enough with place. She spent 2 days enjoying the start of her holiday An then arrived home about 11.30am from a morning stroll with her partner an 3 kids. The rooms had been ransacked an the safe had been ripped from the wall and crowbarred open. All their passports an a substantial amount of cash had been stolen. They phoned the police and reported it in the normal manner. Obviously the children were upset but they felt that the insurance would kick in an all could be made good. How wrong they were. After sorting out new passports etc they were advised to ask the hotel to report it in their "accident book". Once this occurred the staff completely changed their attitude. The next day the supposed manager arrived and told them they had to leave. They had breached the confidentiality of the complex an had to leave. The police then arrived an they were put into the street with no further consideration. They had to get sorted with other accommodation and costs for transfers etc. apparently the accident book means the matter is reported to the local authorities An this caused concern. The staff also refused to allow them to see CCTV footage. Thrown out of your own apartment for being burgled!!!! UNBELIEVEABLE....

Room Tip: Make sure your safe cant be removed by a crow bar,,,,,,,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
30 Thank lynseycrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2013

These apartments are great, as a couple staying for a week there was more than enough room in the one bedroom apartment with separate kitchen, bathroom and lounge / dinning room. Air con throughout apartment worked without fault. Maid service every day. Pool is decent size and clean - more sun loungers arrived during our stay, which was needed as the pool got a bit busier in the afternoon. Early rise recommended to get a sunbed. Bar and restaurant is also decent although we had lunch just once as mostly ate in apartments during day and went our for dinner every night. Lidil is 20min walk away, but we went to mini supermarket direct opposite hotel for fresh bread / rolls every morning :) Hotel is 10min walk from beach and strip via a very short dirt track road or 20mins walk should you not want to use the shortcut. Being just a little bit a away from beach meant the hotel was nice a quiet late at night. Would recommend to couples and family's who enjoy the strip night life as hotel does not offer entertainment.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHam_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Genuinely cannot fault this place! Myself and 4 friends booked through travel republic and were amazed at the deal we got. I personally found the location brilliant - There was a shop at the top of the road, and the Continente shopping centre was a 10 minute walk away! The strip was roughly 10 minutes in the opposite direction, if you walked through a dirt track, and sometimes we also walked back at night, but if you get a taxi, it is roughly €4-5! If you say the strip/beach is too far away then you're just lazy. The hospital is also pretty close by too (5 - 10 minute drive). On the ground floor we had a good sized kitchen, a small toilet, lounge/dining room, and a pretty large balcony which easily sat all 5 of us. We had the view of the sea which I had personally wanted, but had not requested! There was also air conditioning in the lounge and satellite TV. Upstairs we had a massive bathroom that was bigger than the bedrooms, and included a shower cubicle, which was kind of broken, but I just held the shower head instead. There was a double sink, a bath which also had a shower in it, a bidet and of course a toilet! The master bedroom had a double bed and we took the fold out bed from the lounge up to the bedroom and there was still plenty of space and the twin bedroom was a brilliant size as well! The grounds of the hotel were also lovely and had a good sized pool, with not very many sunbeds, but we were always able to find 5, so can't complain there, and also a baby pool. There was a games room too, which we never used. The WiFi was only a euro per hour, which ran on for like an hour and a half. The hotel restaurant was reasonably priced, but we only ate there once for lunch. The staff were lovely and very helpful. Overall a brilliant stay and I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Room 213 had a view of the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TinaG_121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Very clean, large apartments. Good clean pool with small kids pool. Very quite. Takes 10 mins to get to the beach, although very hilly. Everywhere in Praia da Roche is up a hill. Staff not the most helpful in the world but are polite enough. Not many ATM,s in the vicinity, but the hotel takes debit cards.

All in all, a good holiday.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

As stated before the apartments are a good size. Very basic. Too far from beach and strip. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Recession seems to have hit Portugal as there was very little entertainment in the pubs on the strip. The Plaza itself had no entertainment at all. Very peaceful sleep at night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.7 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
904 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
258 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Mirachoro II
0.5 mi away
Clube Praia da Rocha
Clube Praia da Rocha
#18 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Real Atlantichotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Real Atlantichotels

Property: Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Address: Rotunda do Vau | Sitio dos 3 Castelos, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-310, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#5 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Real Atlantichotels 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Real is a complex of 63 apartments, self-catering and equipped. The apartments are divided into three types: Studio, T1 and T2 in Duplex, some apartments have a generous balcony. (See the description of the apartments) The Plaza Real has an excellent pool for adults, a pool for children, a playground and a mini tennis court. This accommodation is about 10 minutes walk from the beach. The center of Portimao, Marina de Portimao and Praia da Rocha are 3 minutes. Portimao Railway Station is 3 km from the Plaza Real. This accommodation is recommended by the good price / quality ratio in Portimao. Great place to spend your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Real Atlantichotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Plaza Real Praia Da Rocha
Plaza Real Atlantichotels Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing