We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a good place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Still a good place”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I revisited the Plaza Real this month
It was much as it had been last time ,although I thought the reception staff were superb especially a young man whose name I missed. When we arrived it was quite early so we were offered the use of a room until ours was ready, this really was a good start as we had left for the airport the previous night.
As we had been to Praia da Rocha before we knew our way around so the apartments were an ideal base for Portimao and Praia da Rocha.
We had a lovely holiday due in no small part to the Plaza Real.
The apartment was nicely laid out and we had a huge balcony which overlooked an old disused football pitch. There was a football pitch beside the hotel which was in use most nights, I thought this was brilliant rather than kids hanging around street corners and fast food shops.
All in all we would go back again
Only thing on a negative side clean towels were a bit hit and miss.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonPatty2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    170
    49
    20
    19
See reviews for
161
184
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Just got back from this aparthotel yesterday and I'm quite satisfied. The rooms are big and cozy, there was a full kitchen with all you need and a bathroom with tub and bidet. Also a big balcony with sun most of the day. Mine even had a sea view. Quiet nights.

Friendly staff, most of them speak English well.

The negative parts are for example I didn't get clean towels the whole weak I was there even though they were on the floor. There is a big football field right next to the building. Every day of the weak we were there it was used and there was quite a lot of noise.

But all in all a good place, especially if you are a couple with or without children. I went with my friend and hoped to meet some girls around but all the girls were with there boyfriends!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This place was fantastic

Myself and 2 friends went here for a week in October for some winter sun.

I cannot speak highly enough of the staff who were very accommodating with all our requests.

Good points:
Large apartments with separate kitchen, large bathroom, bedroom with patio door, large sitting room which can be used as another bedroom as there are pullout bed/ couches in the apartment.

Staff- owners included were very personal- we were 3 boys on tour and obviously out for a good time one night too many- staff were so understanding and friendly despite one of us acting up due to mass consummation of alcohol- no it was not me!
For their approach to customer service based on this alone they deserve a medal...they are also truly friendly people to deal with bar one person who seemed somewhat disinterested but you can not have it all

These apartments are well built unlike others I have been in in Portugal where you hear every noise from every apartment once they are all awake and mobile.

Lidl/ Aldi and Continente shopping centres are 800 metres away so go for self catering as the option if you want cheap and cheerful

Rooms well cleaned and serviced everyday

1600 metre walk to main strip and beach for restaurants during the night or else about 800 metres walk through a short cut best used during the day for obvious reasons

price- for what you are paying, I really feel any negatives are unjustified here- if you pay top dollar then expect top class but please be real- don't expect all the bells and whistles when your not willing to pay for it- in saying so we had everything we needed

Downside-
Not a lot but perhaps there is nothing in the immediate vicinity - however as above it's not a long walk to everything!

Apartment wise- ensure you get a pool view block in a b or c- these will ensure you have good sun and good views of them pool- one has sun all day- not our one unfortunately

Go ground floor for a massive terrace overlooking the pool if you can!

Enjoy your trip !

Room Tip: Ground floor pool view has massive large terrace to sunbathe on daily
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bennyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I have just returned from a 12-night stay at the Plaza Real. I chose this particular accommodation based on the overall reviews on the Tripadvisor site and I am glad of my decision.

THE HOTEL: My husband and I arrived at the hotel around 10:30pm. I found the hotel’s traditional Portuguese structural design very pleasing. There was a restaurant and bar onsite, although we did not visit them during our stay. The medium-sized adult swimming pool and small children’s pool was in daily use, although most adults chose to sunbath than to swim! Please note that the sound from the pool area can be clearly heard in lower level pool-side apartments when windows are opened, this will be of particular importance during the summer period when more young people are likely to be at the hotel.

THE APARTMENT: The receptionist gave only one key to our one bedroom, self-catering apartment, situated on the first floor (lifts are available). The apartment was very clean, spacious and comfortable. The KITCHEN was equipped with all the essentials: plates, cutlery, pots, etc. Thanks to the advice from reviewers, I remembered to bring tea towels as these are not provided. As well as a table with two chairs, there was a full size fridge freezer, microwave oven, electric cooker/oven and a kettle. The large LIVING ROOM had a sofa-bed, one armchair and a medium size dining table with four chairs. The 20-inch satellite TV (ITV, Sky News, CNN etc) sat upon a large cupboard. The pool-view BALCONY with its small round plastic table and two chairs could be accessed via the living room and the bedroom. There was a standard AIR-CONDITIONING unit in both the living room and the bedroom which we utilised everyday due to the hot weather. Our BEDROOM was equipped with two single beds, two bedside tables with lamps and a dressing table. The built-in wardrobe with its selves and draws were so large we could not fill it! There was a safe on one of the selves in the wardrobe which could be used once a fee was paid at the reception desk. The BATHROOM came with a bath with shower facility, toilet and bidet, and a large wash basin with a storage unit. One thing that stood out was the h-u-g-e amount of storage space in the apartment!

THE SERVICE: Overall, we found the staff at the Plaza Real to be friendly and helpful. The morning after our arrival, we notified reception about our broken toilet seat and a small problem with our shower unit. The matter was efficiently dealt with on the same day. The maid/cleaning service was available each day except Sundays. Bath and hand towels and bath mats were changed every other day. Although the hotel stated that bed linen would be changed twice weekly (including the day of arrival), our beds were changed only ONCE during our stay and this was only due to our enquiry at the reception desk!!!

THE BEACH AREA: As you leave the hotel by the main entrance gate, turn to your left and walk down the road. You will soon come across dirt tracks, follow the middle path and keep walking straight down. This dirk track is only a few yards long and leads onto roads. The beach will be easy to find. If you are a brisk walker, this journey will take about 10 mins. As I generally walk slowly, it took me 20 mins to arrive at ‘the Strip’. (The alternative would be to ask PR’s receptionist to phone for a taxi which will cost around 5-7 euros). The Strip is where the restaurants (Indian, Chinese, etc), bars, shops are located. It is situated just above the beach area. There are several access points to the beach, all of which will require you to walk down a fair number of steps. Although the steps are sturdy with handrail, this may be an issue for those with mobility problems. The atmosphere on the beach is so calming you will want to stay there for hours!

THE SUPERMARKETS: As you leave the hotel by the main entrance gate, turn to your right and keep walking straight down the road – literally. On your travel, you will pass the OCEANO ATLANTICO hotel and two patrol stations. There are signs directing you to the supermarkets. Again, if you are a brisk walker, it will take you about 10 mins to arrive at the Continente Shopping Centre. In my opinion, the CONTINENTE Supermarket is equivalent to Asda/Tesco. You will probably find all that you need there at a reasonable price. Please note that you will need a 1 euro coin to access a large trolley. There is a taxi service available in the parking area. On your journey toward the supermarket, you will see a lilac/purple bridge. Across the bridge is a LIDL supermarket. However, on the left-hand side of the store, you will find an Aldi supermarket (almost hidden away)! As it is not advisable to drink water directly from the taps in Portugal, at Aldi, you can stock up on water, spending about 50% less than you would at Continente. NOTE: For those on a budget, I would strongly suggest that you first visit Aldi for your groceries – you will be very glad you did! When you have completed your shopping, an Aldi staff will phone for a taxi, if you request this service.

Overall, I would recommend the Plaza Real to friends and family as it is at the higher end of a three-star rating and is good value for money.

Room Tip: Pool view apartments but on the higher floors to minimise noise coming from the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank E G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Seems to be that the main complaints are from guests who go B&B which there is no need for. There is a half decent mini market near the apartments & if you want a big shop there are large supermarkets nearby with everything you need.
We booked a 1 bed apartment & actually got a 2 bed on 2 floors which was bigger than our 3 bed house. The bathroom alone was 20X20 feet, 2 double bedrooms, dining kitchen & livingroom/diningroom with fireplace & sea views. The guests who stayed in the 1 bedroom apartments also said they were very spacious. We had a problem with the bathroom lights which was fixed within hours & the only other complaint was that we had to ask for clean towels after 4 days which were provided immediately.
The pool area was great but as we were out almost every day I only used it for a few hours on 3 days & didn't use the bar which seemed to very popular & good value.
Our holiday was great value & the apartments exceeded all expectations. The staff were efficient & friendly & sorted out any problems we had quickly without fuss & sorted out taxis for us most days. The only reason I am giving this 4 instead of 5 stars is because of the towel issue & a lack of utensils & electric kettle in the kitchen but we coped with the stove top one provided. Also there was a lot of storage in the bedrooms but very few hangers. The charge for a safe was also 15 euros per week which we thought was overpriced & did not bother with.
The apartments were 15 minutes walk from the sea front & we both have mobility problems but had no difficulties on the walk down but ordered taxis a couple of times on the way back when we had been out all day sightseeing & felt a bit tired. We found the area very quiet & relaxing.
There is a very friendly atmosphere among the guests who mixed very well.
I would definately recommend these apartments for a stay & return at the drop of a hat.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AME34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Just returned after a weeks holiday at the plaza real and was very impressed with the apartment. Very clean and friendly and i will definatly be making a return visit. Excellent value for money. If i have any critisism at all it would be that the bed was somewhat uncomfortable. The location was great ,just a short walk to the beautiful beaches and cafes and bars. The pool was great and spotless. All in all a great holiday for a great price.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elliemay-carter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

just back from a 6 day holiday staying at the plaza real aparthotel, on arrival the immpression was good,we asked for a top floor room and where given room 307,this was an excelent choice as it got the sun all day in the front balcony,the apartment itself was clean,spacious and large, everything needed for our stay,only disapointment was there was two single beds pushed together and not the double we asked for,maids in attendence almost every day,take your own pillows as the ones supplied where very small,asked for a few more and this was duly done,
would not recommend breakfast as this was very poor,not expecting a five star breakfast but the continental one was very poor with a very limited choice.
a few good supermarkets nearby, the beaches are to die for and only about a 15 minute walk, overall thouroughly enjoyed portugal and will return again perhaps to a different area for the experience,

Room Tip: ask for the middle block b ,higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caroline0141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.7 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
962 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#8 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flor da Rocha
Flor da Rocha
#11 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Mirachoro II
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
272 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Real Atlantichotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Real Atlantichotels

Property: Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Address: Rotunda do Vau | Sitio dos 3 Castelos, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-310, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Praia da Rocha
#5 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Real Atlantichotels 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Real is a complex of 63 apartments, self-catering and equipped. The apartments are divided into three types: Studio, T1 and T2 in Duplex, some apartments have a generous balcony. (See the description of the apartments) The Plaza Real has an excellent pool for adults, a pool for children, a playground and a mini tennis court. This accommodation is about 10 minutes walk from the beach. The center of Portimao, Marina de Portimao and Praia da Rocha are 3 minutes. Portimao Railway Station is 3 km from the Plaza Real. This accommodation is recommended by the good price / quality ratio in Portimao. Great place to spend your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Real Atlantichotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Plaza Real Praia Da Rocha
Plaza Real Atlantichotels Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing