We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow what a little gem!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Praia da Rocha
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wow what a little gem!!!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Have just returned today from a wonderful weeks stay in this fabulous aparthotel in praia da rocha and couldn't be happier. This place is just fabulous, extremely clean and spacious apartments, very well equipped. The people who work here could not be nicer from cleaners right up. Extremely friendly and helpful, nothing is a problem. I have to give a very special mention to Gaspro in the restaurant and of course the Chef who provided us with wonderful meals each night. There is a limited choice but the quality us first class. Breakfast is more of a continental affair but really all I needed was fruit, toast or pastries and tea and coffee, they also supplied ham, cheese and cereals. I would definitely return to these apartments in a heart beat.
It's approximately 20 mins walk from the beach but this is easily strolled, my mum whose 78 did it every day! One again a big
thank you to every one at the Plaza Real for making my holiday so memorable. Ps and no one put their towels on the loungers early in the morning, that's a first ever!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beverley a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    174
    51
    21
    20
See reviews for
165
188
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Spent 1 week here and I have to say I can't fault it..really wanted a chill out holiday on a budget and we got that! ! We just went for self catering as we wanted an option on where to go..The beach is a short walk and lots of different ways to get there. .yes there is a short cut but wear trainers as there isn't really a path as such its the quickest way to the beach. We didn't use it at night got a taxi for €4. The apartment itself was huge so much space and I have to mention how lovely and helpful all the staff are here really went out of their way to help in any way they could and always made conversation! We ate here one day just lunch it was lovely..coffee is good too!! So if you are looking for a budget friendly clean spacious place. .book here!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Rukemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Went away for a 3 night break to just relax and unwind. The airport transfer was unorganised, waiting over an hour in the airport before we were shown to a taxi which my daughter and I had to share with another couple. The hotel was actually self catering apartments with a small restaurant to cater for half or full board guests. Therefore the apartment was spacious, clean and comfortable but the restaurant was a little basic with about 15 tables in total and a very limited menu choice. I stayed half board and the breakfast was continental serving a few cereals, fruit and toast/croissants. The evening meal consisted of soup of the day which was vegetable everyday, lettuce salad - just lettuce, tomato salad - just tomatoes or mixed salad - lettuce & tomato. Main meal was 1 meat choice and 1 fish dish. All served with chips and veg no choice. Dessert was cake or milk pudding. Despite the lack of choice the food served tasted wonderful and I never felt hungry. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the waiter Casper could not do enough for you. The hotel was a 5 min walk from the seafront but you had to cut through an alley. The hotel staff all said it was safe but my daughter and I felt very nervous at night as it was quiet and no lights. The seafront had a lovely promenade with lots of bars and restaurants full of entertainment and the beach was clean and beautiful. There was a large perfect hypermarket 15min walk from the hotel that had everything you need. Great getaway for the price I paid and would definitely be happy to go back again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Annette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Me and my friend recently stayed here for a week self catering, the apartment was very spacious and clean with all the facilities you need for self catering, the apartment was cleaned every day and towels where changed every second day, we ate in the restaurant a couple of times and the food was really nice and reasonably priced, 3 courses for 10 euros, all the staff in the restaurant and on reception were very friendly and helpful, we booked a couple of trips at reception to go on the follow me tours which I recommend, we did the Lisbon trip and historical algarve trip which were great. beach is about 10-15 mins walk away if you go down the dirt track which is left as you come out the hotel. the only thing this hotel needs is nightly entertainment then it would be 5 stars (and maybe some pillows that arn't a bit too hard lol), but for the price its faultless.

Room Tip: I would ask for a pool view as some rooms right at the front of the hotel don't overlook anythin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank o0-Sunflower-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

These are large 1 bedroom apartments with full size kitchen (oven, 4 ring hob, fridge/freezer, microwave, kettle, toaster) with Ikea crockery/utensils, large bathroom, double bedroom, huge lounge/diner with double bed/settee. Cleaned daily, towels changed daily (they were obviously new and the bath towels are large) bed linen weekly. Air con in bedroom and lounge. The balconies on the ground floors are massive, but only big enough for 2 on other floors. It's a little bit out of the way but we didn't mind the steady walk to the bars and restaurants in the resort centre. If you need to do a "big shop" there are two large supermarkets 20 minutes walk away - Lidl and Continente - turn right out of the entrance, turn right at the roundabout and just keep walking downhill. We went to Continente, it's very big, got a taxi back (€4). To get to the resort centre we turned left at the same roundabout, walked down to the cliff top and turned left on the promenade. Not going to mention restaurants butw we went for a walk into the resort every morning and found a coffee bar called "Sunrise" (50m after Taffys Grill, on the left) where we used to have an espresso and a cappuccino for €2.20 - bargain.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lufbrabluejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2014

we stayed here 12-19th May, our apartment was hugggeee and with 2 toddlers aged 2 and 3 it was very welcomed. the staff were lovely and always happy to help. the pool area is perfect for children and we spent most of our holiday around there. we were half board and would probably recommend self catering, there is no buffet for choice, limited breakfast choice and 2 choices for evening meal which seemed to be pork and hake most nights. not great for kids.
short walk down a track to the beach and seafront, which was an experience with buggys! lol
overall though i would totally recommend this resort to anyone, loved our stay and would def return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becky s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

A fantastic spacious apartment with a huge patio to relax on. cannot fault it in any way, although not as good location wise(for us) as studio seventeen's other aparthotel in the area...everything else about it was spot on and more than made up for it. was a massive bonus having an oven for late night Pizza etc..the tv was larger than anywhere else i have stayed in the Algarve and alsio had a few more english channels.
the free wifi was great and the pool area was fine.
Would stay here again and would have stayed here much longer than 4 days if we had known it was this good, ridiculously cheap too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank northendsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praia da Rocha
0.7 mi away
Hotel da Rocha
Hotel da Rocha
#3 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
995 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Turisticos
Flor da Rocha - Apartamentos Tur...
#11 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Mirachoro II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
Jupiter Algarve Hotel
#2 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
995 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
Apartamentos Jardins da Rocha
#7 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
282 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Luar
Hotel Luar
#9 of 20 in Praia da Rocha
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Real Atlantichotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Real Atlantichotels

Property: Plaza Real Atlantichotels
Address: Rotunda do Vau | Sitio dos 3 Castelos, Praia da Rocha, Portimao 8500-310, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Portimao > Praia da Rocha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Praia da Rocha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Real Atlantichotels 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Real is a complex of 63 apartments, self-catering and equipped. The apartments are divided into three types: Studio, T1 and T2 in Duplex, some apartments have a generous balcony. (See the description of the apartments) The Plaza Real has an excellent pool for adults, a pool for children, a playground and a mini tennis court. This accommodation is about 10 minutes walk from the beach. The center of Portimao, Marina de Portimao and Praia da Rocha are 3 minutes. Portimao Railway Station is 3 km from the Plaza Real. This accommodation is recommended by the good price / quality ratio in Portimao. Great place to spend your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plaza Real Atlantichotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Real Hotel Praia Da Rocha
Plaza Real Praia Da Rocha
Plaza Real Atlantichotels Praia Da Rocha, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing